西门子交通使用 Oracle 自治事务处理服务来应对项目复杂性

西门子交通 (Siemens Mobility) 使用 Oracle 自治数据库来整合各个来源的数据,为项目经理提供准确的实时信息,从而将成本降低高达 90%,并缩短项目上市时间。

With one click, Oracle Autonomous Database automatically consolidates a great deal of information from multiple sources that was previously an extremely complex and paper-intensive process.

Birthe Gebhardt 博士Siemens Mobility 数据专家

业务挑战

为了提高铁路运营效率和利用率,欧洲各铁路运营商正在使用新的列车信号控制系统对数千公里的铁路线路进行现代化改造,其中西门子交通团队正率先对这些线路进行数字化改造。该公司决定采用更高效的方式来管理这些跨越比利时、挪威和德国的复杂项目,并最终选择了 Oracle 自治数据库

西门子交通为什么会选择 Oracle

鉴于转型项目涉及众多利益相关者和文档来指导执行,西门子交通最终选择部署 Oracle 自治事务处理服务作为其项目管理平台。与其他本地部署或云平台相比,它有助于更快地将项目推向市场,而且性能更强、管理更简单、成本更低。此外,自治数据库还内置 Oracle Application Express,支持快速构建和部署应用。

解决方案

采用基于 Oracle 云基础设施运行的 Oracle 自治事务处理服务后,西门子交通的所有项目经理均可一键接收来自 SAP、Microsoft SharePoint 和 Oracle Primavera 等各个数据源的相关、准确的项目信息。而在过去,要收集这些数据,需要花数天时间手动将信息录入电子表格中。

在一般情况下,将一个新系统上线需要几个月的时间,而西门子交通仅用了两周便将新的云端自治数据库上线。与本地部署解决方案相比,云端自治数据库可提供更高的性能来支持不断增长的数据量,还可实现高达 90% 的成本和时间节省。

此外,项目经理无需深入分析文档和电子表格即可快速了解数字化信号计划和项目状态,而这要得益于 Oracle Application Express (APEX) 应用。这个快速低代码应用开发平台集成在自治数据库云中。

现在,西门子交通建立了一个更加高效、便捷的文档管理流程,而且几乎不需要管理和培训。不仅项目经理从中受益,乘客也获益良多。

已发布:2022年2月9日

Siemens Mobility

Oracle Customer Success

Siemens Mobility tames project complexity with Autonomous Transaction Processing

Summary

Siemens Mobility reduced costs by 90% while improving time to market by using Autonomous Transaction Processing to integrate data from variety of sources, providing project managers accurate real-time information.

Business challenges

European rail operators are modernizing thousands of kilometers of rail traffic with a new train signal control system to improve efficiency and utilization, and the Siemens Mobility team is digitizing the first of these routes. When the company decided it needed a better way to manage these complex projects, which span across Belgium, Norway, and Germany, it turned to Oracle Autonomous Database.

With one click, Oracle Autonomous Database automatically consolidates a great deal of information from multiple sources that was previously an extremely complex and paper-intensive process.

Dr. Birthe Gebhardt

Data Expert, Siemens Mobility

Why Siemens Mobility Tetration Chose Oracle

With a transformation project that involves many stakeholders and documents to direct operations, Siemens Mobility chose Oracle Autonomous Transaction Processing for its project management platform. It offered faster time to market, greater performance, less administration, and lower costs than other on-premise or cloud platforms. Also, having Oracle Application Express built into the autonomous database lets it quickly build and deploy applications.

Results

By switching to Oracle Autonomous Transaction Processing, running Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, each Siemens Mobility project manager receives relevant and accurate project information with a click of a button from a variety of data sources including SAP, Microsoft SharePoint, and Oracle Primavera. It used to take several days of manually entering information into spreadsheets to collect that data.

Siemens Mobility brought its new cloud-based autonomous database online within two weeks, instead of what would typically have taken months. And it delivered greater performance for increasing data volumes, plus up to 90% cost and time savings compared with on-premise options.

Additionally, project managers can see digital signal plans and project status at a glance without digging through documents and spreadsheets, thanks to Oracle Application Express (APEX) applications. The rapid, low-code application development platform is integrated in the autonomous database cloud.

Siemens Mobility now has a more efficient and convenient document management process that requires minimal administration and training. That benefits project managers and, ultimately, rail travelers.