加州大学戴维斯分校利用 Oracle HPC 云提高药物安全性

加州大学戴维斯分校研究人员使用 Oracle 高性能计算平台将运行分子动力学模型和机器学习模型的速度提升两倍。

Share:

We use Oracle’s high-performance computing (HPC) platform to help us run atomic-resolution investigations of ion channel functions and ion channel drug interactions, we’re also able to more accurately predict the safety and efficacy of preclinical drugs.

Igor Vorobyov加州大学戴维斯分校医学院生理与膜生物学系和药理学系助理教授

Business challenges

几十年来,加州大学戴维斯分校医学院的研究人员一直在与制药商和监管机构合作,帮助他们将新药快速推向市场,同时防范潜在的健康风险。

药物引起的心脏健康风险,即心脏毒性,是最严重的一项风险。加州大学戴维斯分校的研究人员 Igor Vorobyov 和 Colleen Clancy 决定放弃使用奉为医疗行业标准的二维药物测试模型,开始尝试其他对心脏更为安全的模型。

通过在 Oracle 云基础设施 (OCI) 上运行分子动力学和机器学习模型,加州大学戴维斯分校的研究团队现在可以分析人体的整体生理机能,包括蛋白质分子、细胞、组织、器官、性别和任何预先存在的心脏病,从而更快速地评估药物的风险因素。

OCI’s HPC platform helps us run 50 different simulations at once, which allows us to test all sorts of conditions and ensure that our research is not limited by the speed of our simulations.

Colleen E.Clancy加州大学戴维斯分校医学院生理与膜生物学系和药理学系教授

加州大学戴维斯分校为何选择 Oracle

加州大学戴维斯分校的本地部署服务器集群和其他计算资源无法满足该校研究人员 Igor Vorobyov 和 Colleen Clancy 的计算需求。

于是,他们参与了 Oracle for Research 计划。该计划为 Vorobyov、Clancy 及其团队提供了为期一年的 Oracle for Research 资助,包括免费的 Oracle 云和技术协作支持。现在,加州大学戴维斯分校的研究团队可以使用基于 Oracle 云基础设施的高性能计算 (HPC) 服务对超过 10 万个不同的原子执行多尺度分子动力学模拟,包括 5 亿次能量和力计算。

Results

与利用本地部署资源运行模拟相比,Oracle 高性能计算平台可支持加州大学戴维斯分校的研究人员更大规模地分析更多变量。

借助 OCI 供应的数百个计算核心以及 Nvidia Tesla P100 和 V100 GPU,加州大学戴维斯分校的研究人员可以按照所需资源和配置更快速地启动药物测试环境,而无需花钱采购和维护不同的硬件组合。

此外,得益于 Oracle 云基础设施的分布式架构,该校研究人员现在可以更轻松地同时处理多项任务。

借助基于 OCI 的 HPC,研究人员现在可以对原子分辨率结构执行微秒级分子动力学模拟来测试药物的心脏毒性,然后将这些“原子”模型与毫秒级和秒级的“功能”模型(包括通道、细胞和组织)模拟相关联。

为了在关联分子级模型和功能级模型的同时提高性能水平,加州大学戴维斯分校的研究人员还使用了搭载 12 核 Intel Xeon CPU 的 OCI 裸金属计算实例来运行模拟。

借助 OCI 数据科学平台上预安装的虚拟环境(包含 Jupyter Notebook 集成开发环境以及 PyTorch、NumPy、Pandas 和 scikit -learn 等所有 Python 编程语言和机器学习库),研究人员还可以在约 700 秒内完成机器学习模拟,速度是在本地执行模拟的两倍。

尽管研究人员的研究重点是确定药物引起的心脏毒性,但他们认为通过在 OCI HPC 和 OCI 数据科学平台上运行模型,他们现在拥有的计算能力和可扩展性可帮助制药商和临床医生应对从癌症、代谢紊乱到炎症的各种疾病。

加州大学戴维斯分校在 OCI HPC 和 OCI 数据科学平台上运行分子动力学模型和机器学习模型,大大提高了这些模型的可复制性。现在这些模型可以更广泛地适用于不同的年龄、性别和动物物种。

已发布:2021年5月14日

BackSearchSearch by voice
 

University of California at Davis

Oracle Customer Success

UC Davis helps make drugs safer using Oracle Cloud HPC

Summary

UC Davis researchers run molecular dynamics and machine learning models twice as fast as before using Oracle High-Performance Computing.

Business challenges

For decades, researchers at the University of California Davis School of Medicine have been working with drug makers and regulators to help them bring new pharmaceuticals to market quickly, while preventing potential health risks.

One of the most significant risks is drug-induced cardiac health risks, known as cardiotoxicity. Through their work, UC Davis researchers Igor Vorobyov and Colleen Clancy began challenging the medical industry’s standard, two-dimensional model of testing drugs to find more heart-safe options.

By running molecular dynamics and machine learning models on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI), the UC Davis research team can more quickly assess risk factors for drugs by analyzing a person’s entire physiology, including protein molecules, cells, tissues, organs, gender, and any pre-existing heart conditions.

We use Oracle’s high-performance computing (HPC) platform to help us run atomic-resolution investigations of ion channel functions and ion channel drug interactions, we’re also able to more accurately predict the safety and efficacy of preclinical drugs.

Igor Vorobyov

Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology and Membrane Biology and the Department of Pharmacology, UC Davis School of Medicine

Why University of California at Davis Chose Oracle

UC Davis researchers Igor Vorobyov and Colleen Clancy, needed far more computing power than they could access from the university’s on-premises server clusters and other compute resources.

They turned to Oracle for Research, which supported Vorobyov, Clancy and their team with a one-year Oracle for Research grant, providing access to free Oracle Cloud and technical collaboration. The UC Davis research team can now run multiscale molecular dynamics simulations, including 500 million energy and force computations on more than 100,000 different atoms using high-performance computing (HPC) on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.

Results

Oracle High-Performance Computing is helping UC Davis researchers analyze more variables at a much larger scale than they could when they ran their simulations using the university’s on-premises resources.

By provisioning hundreds of compute cores and Nvidia Tesla P100 and V100 GPUs on OCI, UC Davis researchers can more quickly spin up their drug testing environments, in the size and shape they require, without the overhead of procuring and maintaining a changing mix of hardware.

And, with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure’s distributed architecture, it’s now much easier to process multiple tasks simultaneously.

Using HPC on OCI, the researchers can now run microsecond-long molecular dynamics simulations of atomic-resolution structures to test drugs for cardiotoxicity, and then link these “atomistic” models to millisecond- and second-long simulations of “functional” models, including channels, cells, and tissues.

To improve the level of performance while linking these molecular and functional scale models, UC Davis researchers run their simulations on an OCI bare metal compute instance, using 12-core Intel Xeon CPUs.

With a preinstalled virtual environment on OCI Data Science, which has a Jupyter Notebook integrated development environment and all the Python programming language and machine learning libraries, including PyTorch, NumPy, Pandas, and scikit-learn, the researchers are also able to complete machine learning simulations in about 700 seconds, which is twice as fast as when they were running it locally.

While the researchers have focused their work on determining drug-induced cardiotoxicity, they believe that by running their models on OCI HPC and OCI Data Science, they now have the compute power and scale to help drug makers and clinicians tackle all sorts of diseases, from cancer to metabolic disorders to inflammation.

Since the university began running its molecular dynamics and machine learning models on OCI HPC and OCI Data Science, their models are more easily repeatable, and they can be applied more broadly and translated to different ages, male and female sexes, and animal species.

OCI’s HPC platform helps us run 50 different simulations at once, which allows us to test all sorts of conditions and ensure that our research is not limited by the speed of our simulations.

Colleen E. Clancy

Professor, Department of Physiology and Membrane Biology and the Department of Pharmacology, UC Davis School of Medicine