Custodial Banking

托管银行业不应该满足于亦步亦趋的技术改进

全球的托管银行都在扩张业务,并发展迅速。然而传统的托管银行业技术架构是否能够满足当今客户的复杂需求?

托管机构所面临的巨大挑战和机遇

虽然托管银行业务传统上属于有稳定收入来源的具备交易属性的银行业务。但是,不断提升的客户期望、日渐复杂的资产结构和越来越严格的监管要求正对托管业务成本造成的巨大压力,并迫使托管银行重新评估其业务模式。

不断有新的银行,如中国的银行,开始把资产托管作为其重要的手续费收入来源。据波士顿咨询集团和中国光大银行股份有限公司发布的报告显示,截止2020年,按托管资产计算,这个市场预计将达到人民币174万亿元的规模。这些托管银行业的新玩家不会被陈旧的系统和过时的流程所拖累,在其开展业务时能更好地响应客户的需求。


不断提升的客户期望

资产所有者要为其资产寻找一处安全场所,而托管银行厌恶风险的天性正是其传统上吸引客户的法宝。然而,如今的客户更具成本意识,也愿意和那些能提供更佳托管流程解决方案的非银行机构做生意。

支付领域的发展也对托管银行的客户服务方式产生影响。快捷支付和更多地采用ISO 20022标准提供实时交易处理,正将资金结算时间从几天减少到几秒。

如今,现金管理部门正面临着诸如现金结算流程效率低下等困难。但是,可以通过减少交易平台与现金系统之间所需的交互次数,或者当交互无法避免时采用更高水平的直通处理流程来提高业务处理效率。同时,这也使得客户能够更透明地查看其资金流向,以及更有效地管理资金流动性。

如今,企业客户可通过改善流动性控制和对账处理来提高效率。同时,由于现在的托管银行并没有什么能避免客户流失的独门秘籍,所以企业客户在改换门庭与其他银行做生意方面有着更大的灵活性。这也意味着,托管机构需要将其卖点从帮助客户进行现金管理拓展到提高客户流动性和现金储备的收益率上

另外,由于需要处理处于世界不同地区且有着多种资金和货币组合的不同资产类型,客户对于托管业务的期望也在不断提高。

与此同时,客户现在也需要一种可实时更新数据的数字化体验——就如同他们在其他业务中习惯使用的系统那样。客户期望的是更高水平的透明度以及对市场及其资产的实时视图。他们也期望银行通过提供创新的流动性解决方案,为他们提供最大限度的资金利用能力。

遗憾的是,托管银行的传统技术架构并非被设计来满足现今客户的复杂要求。因此,参与资产转让的各个当事方——从投资者、经纪人、全球托管人到分托管人——会因此承受数十亿美元的高昂成本和低效的流程。

客户和监管机构越来越不放心

监管机构也开始关注托管银行的财务状况、技术投资和运作流程,以确保其所管理的资产不会因系统缺陷或银行破产而蒙受损失。在这个市场持续波动的时代,托管银行不仅仅要扮演现金和资产托管人的角色——他们现在还必须承担为资产所有者规避风险的责任。

另外,近年来针对托管银行的诉讼数量亦有所增加。这些由养老金和资产管理公司发起的诉讼,对托管人的过度收费和效率低下问题提出质疑。

例如,外汇交易请求往往是多笔捆绑在一起处理,而客户一般是事后才得知价格。而托管人被指控,并被成功起诉的理由就在于,客户拿到的是一天中最差的汇率,而托管人却按对其最有利的汇率执行并偷偷吃掉了其中的差价。

外部压力强制转型

市场波动加剧致使资产所有者倾向于拥有更安全的资产类型并减少交易量,从而导致托管人费用收入降低。同时,接近于零的利率也压缩了托管人的利差和净利息收益率。

虽然过去十年来,大量资产均集中在小部分全球托管人处,但成本收入比率的不断升高使得收益率不断下降。

市场波动加剧、以及对银行体系信心的下降也迫使托管人再度重视资产托管业务中信任和透明度问题。

这些托管人也面临越来越多的,旨在加强客户保护并减少下一次全球金融危机影响的监管合规压力。

诸如《巴塞尔协议III》、《另类投资基金管理人指令(AIFMD)》和《金融工具市场指令(MIFID)II》等举措正向托管人施加压力,迫使其改进流程并采用高效率技术。

当前基础架构岌岌可危

最近一连串整合显示,托管银行正在努力解决各种与中间件捆绑在一起的杂乱不堪的系统。其中一些是银行自建系统,而其他一些系统则早已过时并因为大多数IT专业人员已转向更新的系统和编程语言而缺乏技术支持。

同时,托管银行必须通过从不同系统获取数据并将其拼凑在一起,来应对不断增加的报表要求。遗憾的是,他们仍然无法提取所需的数据以获得竞争优势。

托管银行的规模是实力的象征,但落后的系统却已成为妨碍他们加速前进的障碍。一个典型的情况就是,构建托管银行基础运行环境所使用的还是30多年前的技术。

同时,客户不想花时间去等待银行来整合多个系统的数据,他们想要的是关于其资产的实时信息和状态更新。

此外,银行的其他部门,从处理报表要求的合规部门到与处理客户公司银行服务的客户经理,都希望能够实时查看客户数据。

不应该满足于亦步亦趋的技术改进

托管银行业需要重构自身,超越资产托管和结算领域,才能提高盈利能力、应对日益严格的监管和市场审查,

那些正在适应新环境,创造新产品新服务,满足需求变化的托管银行将是明天的赢家。

托管银行只有具备与时俱进的工作流程和架构、高效可靠的数据处理、互连互通的通信系统才能在全球范围内为其客户的不同资产类型提供更好的服务。

这个领域的技术发展正在使托管银行超越其传统角色,从侧重运营和处理转向兼有客户洞察能力。数据分析技术为托管银行提供了提升价值链的机会,通过集成的解决方案来寻找、执行交易并在银行间交叉销售投资银行和私人银行业务。

同时,托管银行业中的先行者也开始利用其在风险管理和资产托管方面的专长,针对资金转移管理(transition management)、全球网络管理(globalnetwork management)和大宗经纪服务(prime brokerage services),创造新的收入来源。

另外,新兴技术(如区块链或分布式账本)的涌现也为缩短结算时间、提高资产负债表效率以及为应对监管报表和了解客户(KYC)需求而共享数据,提供了可能性。

未来的托管机构必须寻求接受新技术、新服务、新收入来源和新客户群体,只有这样才能在不断变化的银行业领域脱颖而出。



赶快行动

我们随时准备为您提供帮助

联系销售专家

主题订阅

Custodial Banking

Playing Catchup in Custodial Banking is Not Enough

Custody banks now enjoy a global glow, thanks to the sector's boom. But is traditional custodial banking technology architecture designed for the sophisticated demands of today's customers?

Big Challenges and Big Opportunities for Custodians

While the custodial banking business has traditionally been transactional in nature, with established revenue streams, custody banks are now forced to reassess their operations as increasingly sophisticated customers, more complex assets, and stringent regulations place pressures on the cost of business.

New financial institutions, such as China's banks, are also warming up to asset custody as a major contributor of fee income. According to a report released by The Boston Consulting Group and China Everbright Bank Co Ltd, the market is expected to reach 174 trillion yuan in assets by 2020. These new players often enter the market without legacy systems and processes, enabling them to react better to current customer demands.


Increasingly Sophisticated Customers

Custody banks have traditionally attracted business based on their aversion to risk, as asset owners look for a safe place to park their assets. However, today's customers are more cost- conscious and are open to dealing with nonbank competition offering solutions with better processes.

Developments in the payments industry is also affecting the way custody banks need to service their clients. Faster payments and increased adoption of ISO 20022 standards offer real-time transaction processing and reduced settlement times from days to seconds.

Cash managers are currently facing operational difficulties such as inefficiencies linked to the process of cash settlements. This can be made more efficient by reducing the number of interactions required between the trading platform and the cash system, as well as through higher straight through processing when such interfaces are required. This would provide the customers a more transparent view of their funds and help manage liquidity more efficiently.

Corporates can now enjoy efficiency gains from improved liquidity controls and reconciliations. At the same time, there is greater flexibility in changing banking relationships as corporates are no longer locked in with proprietary formats. The custodian now needs to evolve the conversation beyond cash management to improving yields in liquidity and cash reserves.

Customers are also becoming more sophisticated with multiple funds and multiple currency portfolios across different asset classes in different parts of the world.

At the same time, customers now demand a digital experience with real-time updates that's similar to what they are accustomed to in other parts of the business. Customers expect a higher level of transparency and a real-time view of the markets and their assets. They also expect the banks to provide them with the capability to make the best out of their funds by offering innovative liquidity solutions.

Unfortunately, traditional custodial banking technology architecture is not designed for the sophisticated demands of customers today. The many stakeholders involved in the transfer of assets - from investor, brokers, and global to sub custodians - can contribute to billions of dollars in costs and inefficient processes.

Increased Vigilance by Customers and Regulators

Regulators have also started to look into custody banks' financial health, technology investment, and operational processes, to ensure that assets managed are not swallowed by systems breach or bank insolvency. In an era of sustained market volatility, custody banks are more than just custodians of cash and assets - they now need to mitigate the risks for asset owners.

There has been an increased number of lawsuits against custody banks in the recent years. These lawsuits, initiated by pension funds and asset management firms, question over-charging and inefficient processes by the custodians.

For example, foreign exchange orders are often bundled together and clients are then informed of the price after the fact. Custodians have been accused - and successfully sued - for charging clients at the worst rates of the day while executing at the best and pocketing the difference.

External Pressures Forcing Transformation

Increased market volatility has caused asset owners to flee to safer asset classes and reduce trading volume, leading to reduced fees. Near zero interest rates have also compressed spreads and net interest income margin of custodians.

While the last decade has seen a larger amount and concentration of assets among fewer global custodians, margins have dropped while cost-income ratios has increased.

Increased market volatility and eroding confidence in the banking system has also forced custodians to reemphasise trust and transparency in the safekeeping of assets.

These custodians are also faced with the increased burden of regulatory compliance that aim to enhance customer protection and reduce the fallout from another global financial crisis.

Initiatives such as Basel III, the Alternative Investment Fund Managers Directive (AIFMD), and the Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MIFID) II are putting pressure on custodians to improve processes and invest in efficiency-enabling technology.

Current Infrastructure is Creaking

The spate of consolidation recently has seen custody banks struggle with a hodgepodge of systems tied together with middleware. Some systems are home-grown while others are so antiquated that there is a lack of technical support as most IT professionals have moved on to newer systems and programming languages.

At the same time, custody banks are forced to grapple with increased reporting requirements by taking data from different systems and cobbling them together. Unfortunately, they are still unable to extract this same data to gain a competitive advantage.

The scale of a custodian bank is its strength but when it comes to moving forward, legacy systems can hold it back. The technology underlying a typical custody banking environment is at least 30 years old.

At the same time, customers no longer want to wait for banks to consolidate data across multiple systems and demand real-time information and updates on their assets.

Other parts of the bank also want the ability to view customer data in real-time: from the compliance department dealing with reporting requirements to the relationship manager interacting with the customer for a corporate banking service.

Playing Catch-up is Not Enough

To improve profitability and deal with increased regulation and market scrutiny, custody banks will need to reinvent themselves beyond asset safe-keeping and settlement.

The winners of tomorrow are already adapting to this new environment and creating new products and services while addressing changing demands.

Custodians with up-to-date workflows and structures, efficient and reliable data processing, and interlinked communications system are better able to service their customers globally across different asset classes.

Technology in this space is moving beyond its traditional role, evolving from operations and processing into providing customer insights. Data analytics offers an opportunity for custody banks to move up the value chain with integrated solutions by sourcing and executing deals and cross-selling across the bank with investment banking and private banking.

The leaders are also starting to leverage their expertise in risk management and assets safekeeping to create new revenue streams in transition management, global network management, and prime brokerage services.

Nascent technology such as blockchain, or distributed ledger, also offer the possibility of shorter settlement times, improved balance sheet efficiency, and the ability to share data for regulatory reporting and know-your-customer (KYC) requirements.

The custodians of tomorrow will need to embrace new technology, new services, new revenue streams, and new customer segments to thrive in the evolving banking landscape.



Get Started