Syndicated Lending

释放银团贷款的活力

当前的银团贷款处理模式可能正在对银行应对快节奏行业增长和不断变化的客户需求的努力形成阻碍。

银团贷款中面临的逆风

银团贷款市场的现状是“大企业垄断”——全球银团贷款的50%由10大银行进行管理,如摩根大通、美银美林、花旗、德意志银行和巴克莱银行等。

受益于经济上行以及国内市场上企业融资需求的不断增加,本土银行的相应业务也在不断增长。在亚洲,从未来的东盟经济共同体2020年的金融和银行业一体化可看出,大型的本土银行均已采取措施,在各地区建立海外分行,以支持其客户的业务增长。

与此同时,养老基金、资产管理人、保险公司等非银行金融机构也纷纷加快步伐,在银行因化解资产负债表风险并对后危机时代的《巴塞尔协议III》做出回应而退出银团贷款时填补空白。


银团贷款仍然采用手工处理模式

然而,银团贷款的业务增长仍然受手工流程的束缚。银行自建系统无法针对内部利益相关者(如审计、合规和销售)及外部利益相关者(客户和监管机构)的需求提供充分支持。

这些挑战的大部分是由这项业务的性质所决定的。银团贷款的结构通常极其复杂,有时有多达数百个借款人和贷款人参与同一个项目。

贷款人购买和出售贷款的二级市场变得越发复杂.,但贷款人仍然需要借助人力——通过传真方式——与多个代理行联系来处理多笔不同的贷款。

银团贷款操作效率低下,也使得借款人、贷款人与贷款代理行之间头寸核对变得困难起来。当代理行登记的贷款承诺余额记录与贷款人记录不符时,也可能发生头寸差错(Position Breaks)。同时,如果银行仅依靠手工流程,也可能难以应对不同市场的不同监管要求。

因此,由于执行这些更复杂的交易需要花费大量人力和时间,银行可能错失更大和更高收益的银团交易。

贷款人还需应对政局变化

虽然美国市场出于对特朗普当局更宽松金融监管政策的预期而有所反弹,但事关反洗钱和网络安全的监管压力不太可能得到缓解。随着本届政府的变化及其影响日渐突出,行业观察家们预计会出现更多地使用制裁作为外交政策工具,而这则为贷款人在评估新交易和投资时增加一层复杂性。

税收改革建议也将对高杠杆企业的债务负担审查及资金结构的重估造成影响,因为新立法可能会减少可抵扣税款的利息费用。

与此同时,贷款人也要开始适应英国脱欧对银团贷款市场运营的影响。大型欧洲蓝筹企业的跨多管辖区域贷款安排将受到平行或重叠监管制度的特殊影响。

基于区块链的解决方案已经呼之欲出

区块链或分散存储账本的技术有利于加快从贷款审批到还款完毕的银团贷款流程。通过促进实时结算和提供综合数据库(Integrated database),区块链可使一级和二级市场的借款人、代理行和资产管理人员获益。

一项近期的发展也使区块链成为有力竞争者,即能让各方有能力将交易细节纳入分散存储的账本,但同时又限制了这些细节的透明度。这就使得在分散存储的账本上广播交易信息成为可能。换句话说,这既允许所有人都能访问同样的数据集,又确保只有交易的买卖双方才读取集中的交易细节。

受限于有限的用例,区块链在此方面的应用仍然需要进一步观察。然而,其内在的开放式账本、分散式平台和综合中央数据库概念为银行解决银团贷款安排中昂贵的手工流程提供了现实可能性。

释放银团贷款的压力

目前这种需要19(或更多)个工作日的结算周期限制了银团贷款市场的发展。这一方面占用了卖方的宝贵资金,另一方面又使得买方承担了代价高昂的授信成本。

因此,需要以应用系统为导向而不是从产品或流程出发来采取措施,以确保银团贷款能和其他资产类别一样具有较短的结算周期和更为高效的处理流程。

相比其他资产类别,直通式处理一直是银团贷款所面临的挑战,原因在于其合约密集的性质以及买方、卖方和代理银行之间的大量的信息交互。

减少结算周期能够降低交易对手风险、推动更有效的资金配置、增加市场流动性并降低结算成本。

直通式处理为贷款人释放了资金,包括银团成功组建前应拨出监管资金的牵头行。若通过更快的结算降低头寸限制,则交易柜台也可从事新的业务活动。

虽然银团贷款市场在流程无纸化方面取得一些进展,但目前的情况远非理想。投资于技术架构更现代的的银团贷款系统,能为银行提供机会,以更无缝的方式与其他核心系统进行互操作。从而缩短处理时间,让银行得以更集中精力处理大型的、更复杂的贷款安排。



赶快行动

我们随时准备为您提供帮助

联系销售专家

主题订阅

Syndicated Lending

Unshackling Syndicated Lending

The current model of syndicated loan processing may hamper banks as they struggle to cope with fast-paced industry growth and evolving customer demands.

Headwinds Faced in Syndicated Lending

Currently, the market is monopolized by larger players, with 50 percent of global syndicated lending volume managed by top 10 banks such as JP Morgan, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Citi, Deutsche Bank, and Barclays.

Domestics banks are stepping up due to increased economic growth and the growing need for corporate funding in their home markets. In Asia, the pending ASEAN Economic Community's financial and banking integration in 2020 has seen larger domestic banks take steps to establish offshore branches in the region to support their clients' business growth.

At the same time, non-bank financial institutions such as pension funds, asset managers, and insurance firms have stepped in to fill the gap when banks retreated from syndicated lending to de-risk their balance sheet and respond to Basel III post-crisis.


Syndicated Lending is Still a Sweatshop Model

However, business growth in syndicated lending is still shackled by manual processes. Home-grown systems cannot adequately support demands from internal stakeholders, including audits, compliance, and sales, as well as external stakeholders such as clients and regulators.

Much of the challenge is due to the nature of the business. Syndicated loans are usually complex structures with up to hundreds of borrowers and lenders involved in a single project.

It becomes even more complicated in the secondary loan market, where lenders buy and sell loans. Lenders still interact manually, typically by fax, with multiple agents on multiple loans.

Operational inefficiencies make it difficult to reconcile positions between borrowers, lenders, and loan agents. Position breaks may also happen when the record of loan commitment balances registered by the agent differ from those recorded by lenders. Banks relying on manual processes may also find it difficult to cope with different regulations across different markets.

Thus, banks may be missing out on larger and higher revenue-generating syndicated deals due to the great manual effort and time required to execute these more complex deals.

Lenders Grapple with Regulatory Changes

Although the United States has seen a rally driven by expectations of looser financial regulation under the Trump administration, there may little respite in the regulatory pressure on anti-money laundering and cyber security. As the regime change and its implications come to focus, industry observers expect an increased use of sanctions as a foreign policy tool, adding a layer of complexity for lenders when evaluating new transactions and investments.

Proposals on tax reform will also affect highly leveraged corporations to review their debt load and reevaluate their capital structure as the new legislation may reduce interest expense tax deductions.

At the same time, lenders are coming to terms with the operational impact of Brexit on the syndicated loan market. Multijurisdiction lending arrangements to large European blue chip companies will be especially affected with parallel or overlapping regulatory regimes.

Blockchain-based Solution a Closer Reality

Blockchain, or the underlying distributed ledger technology could play a role in speeding up the syndicated lending process from origination to payoff. By facilitating real-time settlement and providing an integrated database, blockchain can benefit borrowers, agents, and asset managers in both the primary and secondary market.

A recent development that has made blockchain a serious contender is the ability for parties to include details of a trade to a distributed ledger but limit the level of transparency of these details. It is thus possible to broadcast the transaction but with only the buyer and seller seeing the necessary details but everyone working off the same set of data on the ledger.

Blockchain is still a long-term game as use cases are still limited. However, its inherent concept of an open ledger, decentralized platform and integrated central database offers the potential for banks to address costly manual processes in a syndicated lending arrangement.

Unshackling Syndicated Lending

Current settlement periods of 19 business days or more limit the growth of the syndicated loan market by tying up precious capital on the sell-side and building costly credit lines on the buy-side.

There is a need to move from a product or process approach to an application-oriented approach to ensure that syndicated loans catch up with the other asset classes with shorter settlement cycle and more efficient processing.

Straight-through processing has been a challenge in syndicated lending compared to other asset classes because of its contract-intensive nature and the amount of information that is exchanged between buyers, sellers, and agent banks.

Reducing cycle time to settlement can potentially reduce counterparty risk, drive more efficient capital allocation, increase market liquidity, and reduce settlement costs.

Straight-through processing releases capital for the lender, including the lead arranger, who should set aside regulatory capital for the time that the exposure has not been syndicated. Trading desks can also engage in new trades if position limits are reduced through quicker settlement.

While the syndicated lending market has made progress on cutting down paper-based processes, the current scenario is still far from ideal. Investing in more contemporary technology architecture offers the opportunity for banks to interoperate with other core systems in a more seamless manner, reduce processing time and take on larger, more complex loan arrangements.



Get Started