Oracle SQL Developer 4.1: Certified Databases and Platforms


Date: November 18, 2015

Oracle SQL Developer is certified on the following platforms and for the following production Oracle and non-Oracle (third-party) databases. Any issues on platforms or databases not listed will only be considered when reproduced on a certified combination.

Platform Certification

Microsoft Windows

  • Windows 2008 Server
  • Windows 2008 R2 64 bit
  • Windows 2012 Server (jdk 1.7 update 10)
  • Windows 2012 R2
  • Vista
  • Windows 7 and 8
  • Windows 10 (requires JDK 8u51 or higher)

Apple MAC

  • OS X 10.8.3 or greater


SQL Developer is certified on the following Linux (x86 and x86-64) platforms

  • Oracle Linux 5.5+ and 6.x
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.5+ an 6.x
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 SP2 and 11.x
  • Ubuntu Linux 10.04, 11.04, 12.04 (jdk 1.7 update 6)
  • Oracle Solaris 10, 11, 12

Oracle Database Certification

  • Oracle Database 12c
  • Oracle Database 11g Release 2
  • Oracle Database 11g Release 1
  • Oracle Database 10g Release 2
  • Oracle Database Express Edition 11g
  • Oracle TimesTen In-Memory Database 11g
  • Oracle In-Memory Database Cache 11g

Multi-user Environments

Oracle SQL Developer is supported in the following multi-user environments:

  • Microsoft Terminal Server
  • Citrix MetaFrame and MetaFrame XP (for Windows)
  • MetaFrame 1.1 for UNIX environments

Third Party Database Certification

Oracle SQL Developer can be used to browse and migrate objects and data from a number of third-party databases, and is certified against the following third-party databases.

JDK Support

Oracle SQL Developer is certified against JDK 1.8 and above.

Further Information

For other details, refer to the Oracle SQL Developer Documentation.

Discuss any SQL Developer issues on the OTN Oracle SQL Developer Forum.