Bissell 利用 Oracle 云应用理顺供应链

这家标志性的吸尘器制造商使用 Oracle SCM 云来改进需求预测和产品生命周期管理,藉此帮助其应对业务的全球中断。

Share:

When we chose Oracle’s cloud-based platform, we got something to help transform our business.The solutions are fully functional and updated quarterly.If you’re worried about where they are today, they’re ready.And they’ll improve tomorrow.

Joe ButtsBissell ERP 副总监

Business challenges

Bissell 位于美国密歇根州沃克市的大急流城郊区,是全球最大的地面护理产品生产商之一,产品包括真空吸尘器、地毯清洁器、硬地板蒸汽清洁器、地毯和地板清洁配方及其标志性的清扫机。

由于公司的很多客户是宠物主人,因此他们为 Bissell 宠物基金会提供资助,帮助其为流浪动物和收容所中的动物寻找永久住所。

新冠疫情爆发后,公司的销售额主要来自线上渠道。Bissell 增加了两个美国配送中心,藉此确保公司能够在数天内为美国客户交付订单。

线上订单的激增要求公司必须改进预测以及产品生命周期管理 (PLM) 系统和流程。拥有 8000 多种成品、配件和备件的准确数据也变得至关重要。而员工使用的是彼此脱节的离线系统,会导致数据完整性和安全性问题。

“过去,我们更多的是基于小圈子的知识和经验进行预测,而不是依靠系统。”ERP 副总监 Joe Butts 表示,“高管并不知道我们为什么要这样做。为了提高准确性,我们需要让 SCM 引擎生成预测并管理异常。”

The deployment of Oracle’s Product Hub Cloud was Bissell’s first significant step toward our master data management and cloud journey.It really enabled us to take control of our item master data by allowing for ownership, governance, and improved integration with our PLM system.

Joe ButtsBissell ERP 副总监

Bissell 为什么会选择 Oracle

从 2011 年开始,Bissell 开始采取重大举措,对其核心后台流程进行标准化。该企业使用了 Oracle 本地部署应用,首批应用包括 Oracle Advanced Controls for E-Business Suite、预测性交易计划和 ATG 模块。后来,Bissell 将许多应用和数据库迁移到 Oracle 云基础设施上,将性能提升了 1.5 倍。

鉴于早期上云取得的成功,Bissell 又将一些系统迁移到 Oracle SCM 云中,利用云应用改进 PLM 系统。Butts 表示,“我们拥有众多 Oracle 产品,因此扩展 Oracle 产品的做法比换用其他系统更合理,而后者可能还需要定制。”

Oracle 需求管理云可满足所有需求:更灵活、更准确的预测;更强大的需求计划;全球标准化;以及数据驱动的决策。

Bissell 部署的 Oracle PLM 云中包括用于产品主数据管理 (MDM) 的各种应用,可帮助企业加强对产品信息的治理。借助单一主数据库和受限访问,Bissell 能够确保整个企业使用一致、准确的产品信息。

“MDM 工具使我们信任自己的数据,做出更明智的决策。”Butts 说道。

Results

借助 Oracle SCM 云,Bissell 集成了预测和所有产品数据。“引入新产品后,我们将信息添加到产品 MDM 应用 (Oracle Product Data Hub) 中,然后将其与我们的计划和预测应用相集成。”Butts 说,“我们每天收集数据,通常是销售和库存数据。”

无论是中大型零售客户(例如 Amazon.com、沃尔玛和 Target)还是按渠道划分的消费类别,访问可信、完整的产品信息都有助于改善预测。“以前,我们对预测没有信心,但现在我们只需管理异常,而且异常发生的频率也大幅降低。”Butts 如是说。

采用标准化方法后,预测人员可以了解其他国家/地区的同行在做什么。“我们现在上云了,所有人都步调一致。”他说道。

自助功能意味着 Bissell 的超级用户不再需要等 8 到 9 个小时让 IT 处理数据。此外,随着新冠疫情重塑经济格局,先进的配送计划让 Bissell 更积极主动。此前,该公司使用过去两年的历史数据(有关长期趋势、季节性模式和价格波动的数据)来预测客户未来一年的需求。

“在新冠疫情期间,我们只有几个月的历史数据来提供指引。”Butts 表示,“所有趋势都是短期的。”

现在,Bissell 根据市场需求和状况建立计划模型,通过调换变量来评估不同的场景。

Partners

Bissell 与 Deloitte 联手打造了一个解决方案。该解决方案旨在助力企业发展,并为中断做好准备。了解 Deloitte 如何帮助您的组织产生重要影响力。

已发布:2020年12月8日

BackSearchSearch by voice
 

Bissell

Oracle Customer Success

Bissell cleans up its supply chain with Oracle Cloud apps

Summary

The iconic vacuum cleaner maker uses Oracle Cloud SCM to improve demand forecasting and product lifecycle management, helping it adapt its business to global disruptions.

Business challenges

Based in Walker, Michigan, a suburb of Grand Rapids, Bissell is one of the world’s largest makers of floor care products: vacuums, carpet cleaners, steam and hard floor cleaners, carpet and floor cleaning formulas, as well as its iconic sweepers.

Because so many of its customers are pet owners, the company supports the Bissell Pet Foundation to help find permanent homes for neglected animals and those in shelters.

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, a larger percentage of its sales come via its online channels. Bissell added two US distribution centers, enabling the company to deliver orders to US customers within days. 

The surge in online orders required improved forecasting and product lifecycle management (PLM) systems and processes. Accurate data on more than 8,000 finished products, accessories, and replacement parts became critical. Employees were using disconnected offline systems, which led to issues with data integrity and security.

“We used to forecast based more on tribal knowledge and experience than reliance in our systems,” says Joe Butts, associate director for ERP. “Our executives didn’t understand why we did that. To improve our accuracy, we needed to let the SCM engine produce the forecast and just manage exceptions.”

When we chose Oracle’s cloud-based platform, we got something to help transform our business. The solutions are fully functional and updated quarterly. If you’re worried about where they are today, they’re ready. And they’ll improve tomorrow.

Joe Butts

Associate Director, ERP, Bissell

Why Bissell Chose Oracle

Starting in 2011, Bissell began a major initiative to standardize its core back-office processes. It leveraged Oracle’s on-premises applications, starting with Oracle Advanced Controls for E-Business Suite, Predictive Trade Planning, and ATG modules. Bissell has also moved many applications and databases to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, boosting performance 1.5X.

Based on its early cloud success, Bissell moved to Oracle Cloud SCM, using applications to improve the PLM system. “We have a large Oracle footprint, so it made sense to expand it instead of jumping to another system, which would have required customizations,” Butts says.

Oracle Cloud Demand Management checked all the boxes: more nimble and accurate forecasting, stronger demand planning, global standardization, and data-driven decision-making.

Bissell’s Oracle Cloud PLM implementation included applications for product master data management (MDM), giving the company tighter governance over product information. With a single master database and restricted access, Bissell was able to ensure consistent, accurate product information across the business.

“The MDM tool lets us trust our data and make better decisions,” Butts says.

Results

With Oracle Cloud SCM, Bissell integrates forecasting and all of its product data. “When a new product is introduced, we add the information to the product MDM application (Oracle Product Data Hub), which then integrates with our planning and forecasting applications,” Butts says. “We collect data every day, typically on sales and inventory.”

Access to trusted and complete product information improves forecasting, both for large retail customers (think Amazon.com, Walmart, and Target) and consumer categories broken down by channel. “Before, we didn’t have confidence in the forecast, but now we are just managing exceptions, which happen less frequently,” Butts says.

With standardized methods, forecasters can see what their counterparts in other countries are doing. “Now that we’re on the cloud, everyone’s aligned,” he says.

Self-service capabilities mean Bissell’s power users no longer have to wait eight or nine hours for IT to process data. Moreover, advanced distribution planning lets Bissell be proactive as COVID-19 continues to reshape the economy. Previously, the company drew on two years of historical data—on long-term trends, seasonal patterns, and price fluctuations—to forecast what customers want a full year in advance.

“With COVID, we’ve got a few months of historical data to guide us,” Butts says. “Any trends are short term.”

Bissell now creates planning models based on market needs and conditions, swapping in variables to assess different scenarios.

Partners

Bissell and Deloitte teamed to deliver a solution that is built to help the enterprise evolve and stay ready to navigate disruption. Learn how Deloitte can help your organization make impact that matters.

The deployment of Oracle’s Product Hub Cloud was Bissell’s first significant step toward our master data management and cloud journey. It really enabled us to take control of our item master data by allowing for ownership, governance, and improved integration with our PLM system.

Joe Butts

Associate Director, ERP, Bissell