非常抱歉,您的搜索操作未匹配到任何结果。

我们建议您尝试以下操作,以帮助您找到所需内容:

  • 检查关键词搜索的拼写。
  • 使用同义词代替键入的关键词,例如,尝试使用“应用”代替“软件”。
  • 重新搜索。
联系我们 登录 Oracle Cloud

什么是 Linux?

Linux 的定义

Linux 是使用开源模型开发的计算机操作系统。开源软件开发原理如下:

  • 透明
  • 协作
  • 经常提前发布
  • 包容性精英体制
  • 社区

此外,开源开发模型意味着改进来自许多不同的公司和个人贡献者,因此产品方向主要由用户社区决定,而不是由单一供应商的单个开发团队决定。

什么是 Linux 内核?

Linux 内核是 Linux 计算机操作系统的核心。内核是计算机硬件与其进程之间的核心接口,确保有可用的内存供 Linux 应用程序运行、优化处理器以及在应用程序间导航系统要求。

Linux 内核通过“中断”在硬件和应用程序之间进行通信。当硬件要与应用程序和更广泛的系统进行接口时,会跨处理器和内核发出中断,以便高效地管理资源。

内核位于硬操作系统外壳中,控制相应硬件的所有主要功能,独立于设备,包括移动设备、平板电脑、桌面或手提电脑、服务器等。Linux 内核侧重于以下关键功能:

  1. 内存管理:跟踪要使用的内存量以及使用方法。
  2. 进程管理:确定哪些进程可以使用中央处理器 (CPU) 以及如何使用它。
  3. 设备驱动程序:充当硬件和应用程序/进程之间的中介。
  4. 系统调用和安全性:接收来自应用进程的服务请求。

面向开发人员的 Linux

开发人员长期以来一直对 Linux 情有独钟,这是有原因的。Linux 久经考验且功能强大。借助 Oracle Linux,开发人员可以在一个大型社区中分享他们构建的内容或随时寻求机会故障排除。

现在,在 Oracle 的开发人员门户上,您可以找到 Oracle Linux 为开发人员利提供的众多福利,包括多种语言 (Python、Node.js、Go)、应用和基础设施的教程,以及使用 Oracle Linux 改进硬件使用场景。

谁使用 Linux?

Linux 操作系统用于各种系统和环境,包括为大型云基础设施环境、本地融合基础设施设备、应用服务器、桌面计算环境和嵌入式系统提供支持。Linux 软件的一些发行版还包括用于托管虚拟机的管理程序。


开发人员和 Linux 视频 (17:03)

谁拥有 Linux?

没有任何人或公司“拥有”Linux,而是依靠个人和公司来为 Linux 提供更新,他们通常会用开源软件许可协议(如 GPLv2)为自己的贡献授予许可。Linus Torvalds 拥有 Linux 名称的版权,但任何人都可以通过组合各种开源组件来创建 Linux 的发行版。一般情况下,公司会向您收取使用发行版的费用,或者只收取发行版的支持费用,甚至是免费提供发行版(但通常不提供支持服务)。


Linux 有何不同?视频 (2:43)

什么是 Linux 发行版?

Linux 发行版(有时缩写为“Linux distro”)是关键和可选组件的集合,它们组合起来形成一个完整的操作系统。Linux 发行版一般包括核心组件,包括引导加载程序、Linux 内核、初始化系统、守护进程、图形服务器和应用。一些发行版本包括其他选件,例如高性能 Linux 内核、管理工具、虚拟机管理程序,甚至云原生环境的组件。

如何以及在何处使用各种 Linux 发行版

各种 Linux 发行版的重要区别在于使用位置、支持方式、管理软件更新方式以及所包含的附加或可选组件。就上述所列的发行版而言,大多数发行版用于基于网络的服务器(而不是桌面计算机),但并非所有发行版都可以在每种类型的服务器环境中轻松使用。

例如,Red Hat Enterprise Linux 在本地数据中心和某些云中很受欢迎,但并非在所有云中都受支持;Amazon Linux 在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云中可用,但在其他云或本地不可用或不支持;对于希望避免与供应商签订支持合同并希望自己进行自助支持的客户通常会选择 CentOS;RHEL 用户通常恰恰相反,他们乐意支付相对较高的年度支持费用来接收系统更新和电话支持;Fedora 的目标用户则是那些不太关心长期稳定配置并渴望不断将最新的实验性功能整合到系统中的用户。 2020 年底,CentOS 宣布他们正从长期稳定的发行版转向更接近 RHEL 的测试版。

适合每个使用场景的理想 Linux 操作系统

Linux 发行版的数量几乎与 Linux 的使用场景一样多,因此尽管可能不是每个使用场景都有理想的 Linux,但每个使用场景可能对应一个理想的 Linux。以下部分讨论了 Linux 类型之间的差异,以帮助您确定哪种 Linux 操作系统较适合给定情况。

Linux 版本

由于任何人都可以通过可用的源代码创建 Linux 发行版,并且可以从一些组件的变体中选择,因此许多 Linux 发行版非常相似。有些发行版来自不同的公司,但实际上可以互换。

不同的发行版也可以针对不同的目的进行优化,有些要实现尽可能小的版本,有些则专注于为桌面硬件提供广泛支持。此外,某些发行版还包括专门的功能,例如自动打补丁或更高的数据库性能。

常用的发行版包括:

  • IBM Red Hat/Red Hat Enterprise Linux(RHEL, 或 Red Hat Linux)
  • Amazon Linux
  • CentOS
  • Fedora
  • Oracle Linux
  • SUSE Linux
  • Ubuntu

各种 Linux 操作系统如何管理更新和补丁

操作系统如何管理可选的软件更新和补丁是一大关键区别。上述许多系统(但不是全部)都使用 RPM(以前称为 Red Hat Package Manager),其他一些 Linux 发行版使用 Debian 软件包 (dpkg) 系统。

单独的软件包管理器本身并不十分重要,但它与另一个使用不同系统的管理器之间产生了兼容性差异。例如,根据使用的功能,您可以轻松地互换使用 RPM 系统的系统(有时称为“rpm Linux Distros”),因为它们可以从类似的发行版服务器下载非常相似的软件包。

由于 CentOS 和 RHEL 都使用 RPM 系统,您还可以将它们的安装就地转换为 Oracle 安装,只需将软件包管理器指向新的更新服务器即可。(请注意,这是一份技术声明,个别供应商可能有您必须遵守的其他许可条款,但这些条款不在本文档的讨论范围内。)此类转换对于使用 Debian 软件包系统的 Ubuntu 等发行版而言会比较困难。

选择 Linux 发行版时要考虑的因素

底层堆栈的优势

对于许多客户而言,操作系统位于软件平台堆栈的底部,而他们的业务应用位于顶部,这会使操作系统看起来不如堆栈中的更高层重要,因此您选择哪种发行版并不重要,有些人甚至可能认为所有发行版实际上都是相同的。

但由于 Linux 操作系统靠近(或位于)堆栈底部,因此它可能会影响堆栈上方的所有东西。此低级别改进意味着整个堆栈上的安全性、性能、可靠性和故障排除等方面都得到改进。例如,一种称为 Ksplice 的技术可以允许管理员在不重新启动服务器的情况下应用安全补丁和错误修复。这看起来似乎微不足道,但是,当您考虑应用程序崩溃的成本,以及不为最新的安全威胁打补丁所会引起的其他风险,在不干扰业务应用的情况下打补丁的功能就显得非常重要了。

随着转至堆栈顶部,这些优势的价值也会倍增。对管理员而言,在操作系统级别所节省的重新启动时间可能只有几分钟,但是,如果无需为面向客户的主要应用安排停机,就可以避免为企业带来问题和影响潜在收入,其价值相当于管理员年薪的数千倍,而且这还没有加上忽视安全更新所带来的企业成本和风险。

性能优势

同样,提高操作系统的性能看似并不重要,因为管理员通常很少花时间直接在操作系统上工作,而用户花费的时间更少。但如果转换到业务应用级别,就算是极小的性能改进也可能会乘以数百万计的高价值事务,从而节省每笔事务的成本,甚至能够比竞争对手更快地交付时间敏感的事务,为企业带来竞争优势。

为什么选择 Linux?

开放且完整

Oracle Linux 是一个开放、完整的操作环境,除提供操作系统外,还提供虚拟化、管理和云原生计算等工具以及统一的支持服务。Oracle Linux 与 RHEL 100% 应用二进制兼容。得益于此兼容性,它通常也是其他基于 RPM 的发行版的替代品,例如 CentOS。

它是免费的

您可以在自助支持环境中免费使用 Oracle Linux(例如作为 CentOS 的替代品),也可以在生产工作负载中使用付费 Linux 支持协议。

它持续改进

为了支持 Oracle 数据库的高性能,Oracle 工程师对 Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel 进行了持续改进。尽管这些改进是针对 Oracle 数据库的,但它们通常对任何计算或内存密集型应用都是有用的。一些用户报告表示,这种 Linux 内核变体的性能提高了 30% 以上。

它包括零停机打补丁

Oracle Linux 可选择包括一种名为 Ksplice 的零停机打补丁技术。该技术允许定期为服务器打补丁,而无需重新启动服务器。更重要的是,无需重新启动在服务器上运行的业务应用程序,这样一来就可以实现更频繁的打补丁,从而提高安全性和合规性。此外,这也减少了大型业务应用程序的典型管理开销,这些应用程序需要在重新启动之前进行大量工作以安排所有相关方的计划和审批。Oracle Linux 还包括开源 KVM 虚拟机管理程序以及(通过支持协议)虚拟化管理器

它包含许多云原生工具

许多工作负载正在迁移到托管云环境,而那些留在本地的工作负载通常使用云原生模式和技术、Kubernetes、Kata 容器和 Istio 进行构建。Oracle Linux 是 Oracle 云基础设施 (OCI) 的基础操作系统,包含此架构所需的许多云原生工具。这意味着 Oracle Linux 在要求苛刻的大环境中进行了测试,并符合大多数现代应用的设计模式,而在这个大熔炉里学到的经验将直接转化为操作系统的改进。但与其他在云基础上拥有专有系统的云供应商不同,Oracle Linux 以相同的配置提供给所有用户,无论他们是在 OCI 上、在另一个云上,还是在自己的数据中心。

它是 Oracle 自治 Linux 的基础

Oracle Linux 还是世界革新性的自治操作系统的基础。该操作系统每天自我修补,以减少安全威胁,同时减少管理工作。

自 2006 年以来,Oracle Linux 就可以完全免费下载和使用:源代码、二进制文件和更新。可以免费分发。可以用于生产。

No results found

Your search did not match any results.

We suggest you try the following to help find what you’re looking for:

  • Check the spelling of your keyword search.
  • Use synonyms for the keyword you typed, for example, try “application” instead of “software.”
  • Try one of the popular searches shown below.
  • Start a new search.
Trending Questions
 

What is Linux?

Linux defined

Linux is a computer operating system that is developed using the open source model. Open source software development principles are:

  • Transparency
  • Collaboration
  • Releasing early and often
  • Inclusive meritocracy
  • Community

The open source development model also means that improvements come from many different corporate and individual contributors, so the product direction is determined largely by the community of users, rather than by a single development team at a single vendor.

What is a Linux Kernel?

The Linux kernel is central to the Linux computer operating system. The kernel is the core interface between a computer's hardware and its processes, making sure there is available memory for Linux applications to run, optimizing processors, and navigating system requirements across applications.

The Linux kernel communicates between the hardware and applications via "interrupts." When the hardware wants to interface with the application and broader system, an interrupt is issued across the processor and kernel to manage resources efficiently.

The kernel, existing inside a hard OS shell, controls all primary functions of the respective hardware, independent of the device, including mobile, tablet, desktop or laptop, server, etc. The Linux kernel focuses on these critical functions:

  1. Memory management: Keep track of how much memory to leverage and how.
  2. Process management: Determine which processes can use the central processing unit (CPU) and how.
  3. Device drivers: Act as an intermediary between the hardware and applications/processes.
  4. System calls and security: Receive requests for service from the application processes.

Linux for developers

Developers have had a long love affair with Linux and that’s for good reason. Linux is time-tested and powerful. With Oracle Linux, developers enjoy a large community in which to share what they build or to turn to any time opportunities for troubleshooting arise.

Right now on our developer portal, you can find how Oracle Linux benefits developers across multiple languages (Python, Node.js, Go), application and infrastructure tutorials, and how you can use Oracle Linux to even tweak hardware use cases.

Who uses Linux?

The Linux operating system is used in a wide variety of systems and environments. It powers large cloud infrastructure environments, on-premises converged infrastructure appliances, application servers, desktop computing environments, and embedded systems. Some distributions of Linux software also include a hypervisor for hosting virtual machines.


Developers and Linux video (17:03)

Who owns Linux?

No one person or company “owns” Linux. Many individuals and corporations contribute updates to Linux, and they typically license their contribution under an Open Source Software license such as GPLv2. Linus Torvalds owns the copyright to the name Linux, but anyone can create a distribution of Linux by combining various open source components. Often companies will charge you for using their distribution; alternatively, they may charge only for support of the distribution or make the distribution available for free (typically without support).


How Linux is different? video (2:43)

What is a Linux distribution?

A Linux distribution (sometimes abbreviated as “Linux distro”) is a collection of key and optional components that combine to form a complete operating system. Generally, a Linux distribution includes core components including a bootloader, a Linux kernel, an init system, daemons, a graphical server, and applications. Some distributions include additional options such as a high-performance Linux kernel, management tools, a hypervisor, or even components for a cloud native environment.

How and where you can use various Linux distributions

Important differences between distributions of Linux lie in where they can be used, how they are supported, how they manage software updates, and what additional or optional components they include. Considering just the list of distributions above, most of these are used for network-based servers (as opposed to desktop computers), but not all of them are easily usable in every type of server environment.

For example, Red Hat Enterprise Linux is popular for on-premises data centers and in some clouds but is not supported in all clouds. Amazon Linux is available in the Amazon Web Services (AWS) cloud, but it is not readily available or supported in other clouds or on premises. CentOS is most typically used by customers who prefer to avoid a support contract from a vendor and wish to do their own self-support. RHEL users are generally the opposite, happily paying a relatively high annual support cost to receive updates and telephone support for their systems. Fedora is targeted at users who are less concerned with a long-term stable configuration and are eager to constantly incorporate the latest experimental features into their systems. In late 2020, CentOS announced that they are changing direction from being a long-term stable distribution to being something closer to a beta version of RHEL.

The best Linux operating system for each use case

There are nearly as many Linux distributions as there are use cases for Linux, so although there is likely not a best Linux for every use case, there might be a best Linux for each use case. The sections below discuss the differences between types of Linux to help you identify which Linux operating system might be the best for a given situation.

Versions of Linux

Because anyone can create a Linux distribution from the available source code, and they can choose from some variations of components, there are many distributions of Linux that are very similar. Some distributions come from different companies but are effectively interchangeable.

Different distributions also may be optimized for different purposes—some are focused on being the smallest possible; others focus on providing broad support for desktop hardware. In addition, some distributions include specialized features, such as automated patching, or higher performance for databases.

Popular distributions include:

  • IBM Red Hat/Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL, or Red Hat Linux)
  • Amazon Linux
  • CentOS
  • Fedora
  • Oracle Linux
  • SUSE Linux
  • Ubuntu

How various Linux operating systems manage updates and patches

One other distinction is how the operating system manages optional software updates and patches. Many (but not all) of the systems on the above list use the RPM (previously known as the Red Hat Package Manager). Some other Linux distros use the Debian package (dpkg) system.

The individual package manager is not very important on its own, but it creates a compatibility difference between systems that use one versus the other. For example, depending on what features you’re using, you can easily interchange systems that use the RPM system (sometimes called “rpm Linux distros”) with one another, because they can download very similar packages from similar distribution servers.

You also can easily convert both CentOS and RHEL installations in-place to an Oracle installation just by pointing their package manager to a new update server. This is because, among other things, they all use the RPM system. (Note that this is a technical statement—vendors may have additional license terms you must comply with, but those terms are beyond the scope of this document.) This same transition would be more difficult with a distribution such as Ubunto, which uses the Debian package system.

Factors to consider when choosing a Linux distribution

Bottom-stack benefits

For many customers, the operating system is at the bottom of a stack of software platforms, with their business applications at the top. This can make it seem as if the operating system is less important than the higher layers in the stack, so it doesn’t matter which distribution you choose. Some might even imagine that all distributions are effectively the same.

But because the Linux operating system is near (or at) the bottom of the stack, it can affect everything above it. Improvements in security, performance, reliability, and troubleshooting capabilities at this low level can mean improvements in these factors all the way up the stack. For example, a technology called Ksplice can allow an administrator to apply security patches and bug fixes without rebooting the server. By itself, this seems like a minor benefit. But when you consider the cost of taking down the business application, and the alternative risk of leaving the system unpatched for the latest security threat, the ability to patch without disturbing the business application suddenly has a very large impact.

These benefits can easily multiply in value as they go up the stack. Saving time on the reboot at the operating system level might yield only a few minutes of benefit to the administrator. But avoiding the organizational pain and potential revenue impact of scheduling downtime on a major customer-facing application might be worth thousands of times that administrator’s annual salary. And this says nothing of the cost and risk to the business that comes with ignoring the security update.

Performance advantages

In a similar vein, it might seem unimportant to improve the performance of an operating system, because administrators typically spend little time working directly on the operating system, and users spend even less. But translated up to the business application level, small performance improvements may be multiplied by millions of high-value transactions, leading to cost savings per transaction, or even to a competitive advantage to the business by delivering time-sensitive transactions faster than competitors.

Why choose Linux?

It’s open and complete

An open and complete operating environment, Oracle Linux delivers virtualization, management, and cloud native computing tools, along with the operating system, in a single support offering. Oracle Linux is 100 percent application-binary compatible with RHEL. Because of this compatibility, it is typically also a good substitute for other RPM-based distributions, such as CentOS.

It’s free

You can use Oracle Linux for free in self-support environments (for example, as a replacement for CentOS), or with a paid Linux support agreement for production workloads.

It’s continuously improved

To support high performance for Oracle Database, Oracle engineers have made continuous improvements to the Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel. Although these improvements were intended for Oracle Database, they typically benefit any compute- or memory-intensive application. Some users have reported a more than 30 percent performance improvement from this variant of the Linux kernel.

It includes zero-downtime patching

Oracle Linux optionally includes a zero-downtime patching technology called Ksplice, which allows servers to be patched on a regular basis without requiring a reboot of the server or, more importantly, of the business applications running on it. This leads to more frequent patching, and therefore more secure and compliant systems. This also reduces the administrative overhead typical of large business applications, which require significant work for scheduling and approvals from all interested parties before a reboot. Oracle Linux also includes the open source KVM hypervisor, and (with a support agreement) the virtualization manager.

It includes many cloud native tools

Many workloads are moving to a hosted cloud environment, and those that stay on premises are often architected using cloud native patterns and technologies, Kubernetes, Kata containers, and Istio. Oracle Linux is the foundational operating system for Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) and includes many of the cloud native tools required for this architecture. This means that Oracle Linux gets tested in the largest, most demanding environment of all, and one that matches the design pattern of most modern applications. Lessons learned in this crucible are translated directly into improvements in the operating system. But unlike other cloud vendors that have a proprietary system underlying their cloud, Oracle Linux is available in the same configuration for all users, whether they are on OCI, on another cloud, or in the customer’s own data center.

It’s the foundation of Oracle Autonomous Linux

Oracle Linux is also the foundation of the world’s only autonomous operating system, which patches itself every day to reduce security threats and administrative effort at the same time.

Since 2006, Oracle Linux has been completely free to download and use: free source code, binaries, and updates. Freely redistributable. Free for production use.