非常抱歉,您的搜索操作未匹配到任何结果。

我们建议您尝试以下操作,以帮助您找到所需内容:

  • 检查关键词搜索的拼写。
  • 使用同义词代替键入的关键词,例如,尝试使用“应用”代替“软件”。
  • 重新搜索。
联系我们 登录 Oracle Cloud

Oracle 云免费套餐

免费使用自然语言处理技术来构建、测试和部署应用。

什么是自然语言处理?

自然语言处理 (NLP) 的定义

自然语言处理 (NLP) 是人工智能 (AI) 的一个分支,它能够使计算机理解、生成和处理人类语言,支持用户使用自然语言文本或语音来询问 (interrogate) 数据,因此又被称为“语言输入 (language in)”。在现实中,大多数消费者可能都与 NLP 进行过互动,只是没有意识到而已。例如,Oracle 数字助手 (ODA)、Siri、Cortana 和 Alexa 等虚拟助手背后的核心技术就是 NLP。正是基于 NLP 技术,这些虚拟助手才能在用户询问问题时理解用户的请求,使用自然语言做出回应。NLP 支持文本和语音,适用于所有人类语言。除了虚拟助手外,其他基于 NLP 的工具还包括 Web 搜索、垃圾邮件过滤、自动文本或语音翻译、文档摘要、情绪分析以及语法/拼写检查等等。例如,一些电子邮件程序可以使用 NLP 技术来读取、分析和响应消息,自动基于消息内容提供建议,帮助用户更高效地回复电子邮件。

有一些术语在含义上与 NLP 基本相同,例如自然语言理解 (NLU) 和自然语言生成 (NLG) — 分别指使用计算机来理解和生成人类语言。其中,NLG 可针对所发生的事情提供口头描述,因此又被称作“语言输出”,即使用“图形语法”将有意义的信息汇总为文本。

在实践中,人们常使用 NLU 来表示 NLP。正是因为计算机能够理解所有人类语言的结构和含义(即 NLU),开发人员和用户才能使用自然语句和表达来与计算机交互(即 NLP)。如果说计算语言学 (CL) 旨在研究人类语言计算,NLP 就是一门通过构建计算工件来理解、生成或处理人类语言的工程学科。

NLP 的研究始于 20 世纪 50 年代数字计算机诞生后不久,涉及语言学和人工智能两大领域。不过,过去几年里 NLP 的重大突破是机器学习(人工智能的一个分支,旨在开发相应的系统来学习数据并进行归纳)驱动的。其中,深度学习(一种机器学习形式)可以学习大型数据集中高度复杂的模式,非常适合学习来自 Web 的数据集中的自然语言的复杂性。

自然语言处理的应用

自动处理日常任务:基于 NLP 的聊天机器人可以代替人工座席来处理大量日常任务,让员工腾出时间来处理更具挑战性和更有趣的任务。例如,聊天机器人和数字助手可以识别各种用户请求,然后从企业数据库中找到相匹配的条目并有针对性地为用户创建响应。

优化搜索:对于文档和 FAQ 检索,NLP 可以优化关键字匹配搜索,包括基于上下文消除歧义(例如“carrier”在生物医学和工业领域分别表示不同的含义);匹配同义词(例如在用户搜索“automobile”时检索提及“car”的文档);考虑形态变化(这对非英语查询非常重要)。利用基于 NLP 的学术搜索系统,医生、律师以及其他领域的专家能够更加轻松、便捷地获取高度相关的前沿研究信息。

搜索引擎优化:NLP 可帮助企业通过搜索分析来优化内容,提升自家组织在线上搜索中的展示排名。如今搜索引擎一般使用 NLP 技术来对结果进行排序,如果企业了解如何有效利用 NLP 技术,就能获得相比竞争对手更加靠前的排名,进而提高可见度。

分析和组织大型文档集合:文档聚类和主题建模等 NLP 技术有助于您轻松了解大型文档集合(例如企业报告、新闻文章或科学文档)中内容的多样性。这些技术通常被用于法律取证目的。

社交媒体分析:NLP 可以分析客户评论和社交媒体评论,帮助企业更有效地理解大量信息。例如,情绪分析可以识别社交媒体评论流中的正面和负面评论,直接、实时衡量客户情绪。这可以为企业提供巨大的回报,例如提高客户满意度和收入。

市场洞察:企业可以使用 NLP 来分析客户的语言,进而更有效地满足客户需求,了解如何更好地与客户沟通。例如,面向方面 (Aspect-oriented) 的情绪分析可以检测社交媒体中关于特定方面或产品的情绪(例如“键盘很好,但屏幕太暗”),从而为产品设计和营销提供切实可行的洞察。

审核内容:如果您的企业吸引了大量用户或客户评论,NLP 可以帮助您审核这些内容,通过分析评论的用词、语气和意图来确保实现高素质和良好礼仪。

自然语言处理的行业应用

NLP 可以简化并驱动各种业务流程自动化,尤其是涉及大量非结构化文本(例如电子邮件、调研、社交媒体对话等)的业务流程。利用 NLP,企业可以更好地分析数据,做出正确的决策。以下是 NLP 的一些真实应用示例:

  • 医疗卫生:如今全球的医疗卫生系统都开始采用电子医疗记录,需要处理大量的非结构化数据。NLP 可以帮助医疗卫生组织分析数据,捕获关于健康记录的新洞察。
  • 法律:面对一个案件,律师经常要花费几个小时来研究大量文档,搜索相关材料。NLP 技术可以驱动法律取证流程自动化,通过快速详查大量文档来为律师节省时间并减少人为错误。
  • 金融:金融行业的变化速度非常快,任何一项竞争优势都将发挥关键作用。NLP 可以帮助交易员自动从公司文件和新闻报道中挖掘信息,提取与自身投资组合和交易决策高度相关的信息。
  • 客户服务:如今许多大型企业都使用虚拟助手或聊天机器人来答复客户的基本问询和信息请求(例如常见问题解答)— 在必要时会将复杂问题转交给真人员工。
  • 保险:大型保险公司使用 NLP 来筛选与索赔相关的文档和报告,以此理顺业务运营。

NLP 技术概述

面向 NLP 的机器学习模型:现代 NLP 高度依赖机器学习这一人工智能技术。机器学习可以对数据集中的示例进行归纳,进而做出预测。其中,数据集被称为训练数据 — 机器学习算法使用训练数据进行训练,生成可完成目标任务的机器学习模型。

例如,情绪分析训练数据包含语句及语句相应的情绪(例如正面、负面或中性情绪)。机器学习算法将读取数据集,生成一个可接受语句“输入”并返回情绪的模型。由于这一模型可接受语句或文档作为“输入”并返回一个相应标签,因此又被称为文档分类模型。此外,文档分类程序还可以按主题(例如体育、金融、政治等)对文档进行分类。

另一种模型则可以识别并对文档中的实体进行分类。对于文档中的每一个词汇,它都会预测其是否是实体提及的一部分,如果是,则会进一步预测它涉及哪种实体。例如,在“XYZ Corp 股票昨日交易价格是 28 美元”中,"XYZ Corp" 是公司实体,“28 美元”是货币金额,“昨日”是日期。对于实体识别而言,它的训练数据是一个文本集合,其中的每一个词汇都将通过标签来指示其所代表的实体类型。由于这种模型能为输入的每一个词汇生成一个标签,因此又被称为序列标注模型。

序列到序列模型(或 seq2seq)是最近才开始应用于 NLP 的一种模型。它使用整个语句或文档作为输入(例如在文档分类程序中),可生成语句或其他一些序列(例如计算机程序)作为输出。相比之下,文档分类程序仅能生成单个符号。序列到序列模型的应用包括计算机翻译(例如使用英语语句作为输入,然后返回法语语句);文档汇总(输入内容,输出概要);语义解析(使用英语问询或请求作为输入,输出可实施该请求的计算机程序)。

深度学习、预训练模型和迁移学习:深度学习是一种广泛应用于 NLP 的机器学习。20 世纪 80 年代,研究人员将大量原始机器学习模型整合到一个网络中,开发出了神经网络。如果说神经网络是一个人的大脑,那么简单机器学习模型就是“神经元”。这些神经元按层排列,一个多层神经网络就是一个深度神经网络,而基于深度神经网络模型的机器学习就是深度学习。

深度神经网络非常复杂,通常需要使用大量数据来进行训练,其处理过程也需要大量的计算能力和时间。现代深度神经网络 NLP 模型会使用来自多样化的信息源(例如维基百科的所有内容以及从网页中抓取的数据)的数据进行训练,训练数据可能多达 10 GB 或更多;而且即使在高性能集群上,训练也可能耗时一周或更长时间。研究人员发现,使用更大规模的数据集来训练更深度的模型可以实现更高性能,因此,目前业内人员正竞相提高数据集的规模和模型的深度。

深度神经网络对数据和计算的需求非常高,这可能会严重限制其实用性。对此,迁移学习可以对经过训练的深度神经网络进行进一步训练,从而用更少的训练数据和计算能力来完成新任务。其中,最简单的迁移学习被称为微调,即使用大型通用数据集(例如维基百科)进行第一次模型训练,然后使用规模更小的、任务特定的、被实际目标任务标记的数据集做进一步训练。微调所需要的数据集的规模可能非常小(可能仅包含数百甚至数十个训练示例),可能只需要在单个 CPU 上运行几分钟。利用迁移学习,企业可以轻松在整个组织中部署深度学习模型。

如今,企业可通过完整的提供商生态系统来获取经过各种语言、数据集和预训练任务的组合训练的预训练深度学习模型,在下载这些预训练模型后,根据自己的目标任务进行微调。

NLP 预处理技术示例

分词:分词是指将原始文本(例如一个语句或文档)切分为一个字符串(例如词或字词)序列,通常是 NLP 处理管道的第一步。其中,字符串一般是文本(会在后续处理中被视为原子单位)的重复序列,可能是词,可能是子词(被称为词素,例如英语中的 "un-" 前缀和 "-ing" 后缀),甚至可能是单个字符。

词袋模型:词袋模型将文档视为字符串或词的无序集合。换言之,一个词袋就相当于一个集合,但它会跟踪每一个元素出现的次数。词袋模型完全无视文字顺序,因此可能混淆诸如“狗咬人”与“人咬狗”这样的语句。但是,在搜索引擎这样的大规模信息检索任务中,词袋模型可以提高效率。面对较长的文档,它可以输出尽可能新的结果。

停用词删除:“停用词”是指在后续处理中可忽略的字符串,通常是一些较短的高频词,例如 "a"、"the" 和 "an"。词袋模型和搜索引擎一般会忽略停用词,以缩短处理用时,减轻数据库的存储负担。深度神经网络则通常会考虑字词顺序(因此不是词袋模型),不会删除停用词:停用词可传达含义中的微妙区别,例如 "the package was lost" 和 "a package is lost" 在删除停用词后是相同的,但它们的含义不同。

词干提取和词形还原:词素是语言中最小的语义元素,通常比字词更小。例如,"revisited" 由前缀 "re-"、词干 "visit" 和过去时态后缀 "-ed" 组成。词干提取和词形还原可将字词映射至其词干形态(例如 "revisit" + "PAST"),是预深度学习模型的关键步骤。不过,深度学习模型通常从训练数据中学习这些规律,不需要显式词干提取或词形还原步骤。

词性标注和句法分析:词性 (PoS) 标注是指为每个字词标注词性(例如名词、动词、形容词等)的过程,句法分析则旨在识别字词如何组合成为短语、子句和整个语句。其中,前者是一种序列标注任务,后者是一种扩展的序列标注任务。深度神经网络是先进的词性标注和句法分析技术。在深度学习出现前,词性标注和句法分析是语句理解的基本步骤。不过,现代深度学习 NLP 模型一般很少(如果有的话)使用词性或句法信息,因此词性标注和句法分析在深度学习 NLP 中的使用不多。

NLP 编程语言

Python:

NLP 库和工具包一般在 Python 中可用,目前大多数 NLP 项目都是使用 Python 开发的。Python 的交互式开发环境让用户可以轻松开发和测试新代码。

Java 和 C++:

C++ 和 Java 的代码效率更高,通常是处理大量数据时的首选语言。

NLP 库和开发环境

以下是一些常用的 NLP 库。

TensorFlow 和 PyTorch:这是常用的两个深度学习工具包。TensorFlow 和 PyTorch 可自由用于研究和商业用途,其主要语言是 Python,但同时也支持其他多种语言。它们随带大量的预构建组件库,因此即使高度复杂的深度学习 NLP 模型一般也只需要这两个组件。它们支持高性能计算基础设施,例如搭载图形处理器单元 (GPU) 加速器的计算机集群。最后,它们还提供了优秀的文档和教程。

AllenNLP:这是一个使用 PyTorch 和 Python 实施的高级 NLP 组件(例如简单的聊天机器人)库。它提供了优秀的文档。

HuggingFace:该公司发布了数百种预训练深度学习 NLP 模型;发布了大量的在 TensorFlow 和 PyTorch 中即插即用的软件工具包,让开发人员能够快速评估不同预训练模型执行特定任务的效果。

Spark NLP:Spark NLP 是一个面向高级 NLP 的开源文本处理库,支持 Python、Java 和 Scala 编程语言。它旨在为自然语言处理管道提供一个应用编程接口 (API),不仅提供预训练神经网络模型、管道和嵌入,还支持自定义模型训练。

SpaCy NLP:SpaCy 是 Python 中的一个免费、开源的高级 NLP 库,专用于帮助用户构建可处理和理解大量文本的应用。SpaCy 非常直观,可处理常见 NLP 项目中的众多任务。

简而言之,自然语言处理能够为各种新产品提供强大支持,例如搜索引擎、聊天机器人、推荐系统以及语音文本转换系统,是一个令人兴奋的人工智能开发领域。随着计算机人机界面持续“消灭”按钮、表单和特定于域的语言,人们对自然语言处理的需求将持续增长。为此,Oracle 云基础设施致力于通过针对 NLP 进行了性能优化的计算配置和工具,为用户提供本地部署般的优异性能。利用 Oracle 云基础设施提供的丰富的 GPU 配置阵列,您可以在数分钟内完成部署,开始使用 NLP。

No results found

Your search did not match any results.

We suggest you try the following to help find what you’re looking for:

  • Check the spelling of your keyword search.
  • Use synonyms for the keyword you typed, for example, try “application” instead of “software.”
  • Try one of the popular searches shown below.
  • Start a new search.
Trending Questions
 

What is Natural Language Processing?

Natural Language Processing (NLP) Defined

Natural language processing (NLP) is a branch of artificial intelligence (AI) that enables computers to comprehend, generate, and manipulate human language. Natural language processing has the ability to interrogate the data with natural language text or voice. This is also called “language in.” Most consumers have probably interacted with NLP without realizing it. For instance, NLP is the core technology behind virtual assistants, such as the Oracle Digital Assistant (ODA), Siri, Cortana, or Alexa. When we ask questions of these virtual assistants, NLP is what enables them to not only understand the user’s request, but to also respond in natural language. NLP applies both to written text and speech, and can be applied to all human languages. Other examples of tools powered by NLP include web search, email spam filtering, automatic translation of text or speech, document summarization, sentiment analysis, and grammar/spell checking. For example, some email programs can automatically suggest an appropriate reply to a message based on its content—these programs use NLP to read, analyze, and respond to your message.

There are several other terms that are roughly synonymous with NLP. Natural language understanding (NLU) and natural language generation (NLG) refer to using computers to understand and produce human language, respectively. NLG has the ability to provide a verbal description of what has happened. This is also called "language out” by summarizing by meaningful information into text using a concept known as "grammar of graphics."

In practice, NLU is used to mean NLP. The understanding by computers of the structure and meaning of all human languages, allowing developers and users to interact with computers using natural sentences and communication. Computational linguistics (CL) is the scientific field that studies computational aspects of human language, while NLP is the engineering discipline concerned with building computational artifacts that understand, generate, or manipulate human language.

Research on NLP began shortly after the invention of digital computers in the 1950s, and NLP draws on both linguistics and AI. However, the major breakthroughs of the past few years have been powered by machine learning, which is a branch of AI that develops systems that learn and generalize from data. Deep learning is a kind of machine learning that can learn very complex patterns from large datasets, which means that it is ideally suited to learning the complexities of natural language from datasets sourced from the web.

Applications of Natural Language Processing

Automate routine tasks: Chatbots powered by NLP can process a large number of routine tasks that are handled by human agents today, freeing up employees to work on more challenging and interesting tasks. For example, chatbots and Digital Assistants can recognize a wide variety of user requests, match them to the appropriate entry in a corporate database, and formulate an appropriate response to the user.

Improve search: NLP can improve on keyword matching search for document and FAQ retrieval by disambiguating word senses based on context (for example, “carrier” means something different in biomedical and industrial contexts), matching synonyms (for example, retrieving documents mentioning “car” given a search for “automobile”), and taking morphological variation into account (which is important for non-English queries). Effective NLP-powered academic search systems can dramatically improve access to relevant cutting-edge research for doctors, lawyers, and other specialists.

Search engine optimization: NLP is a great tool for getting your business ranked higher in online search by analyzing searches to optimize your content. Search engines use NLP to rank their results—and knowing how to effectively use these techniques makes it easier to be ranked above your competitors. This will lead to greater visibility for your business.

Analyzing and organizing large document collections: NLP techniques such as document clustering and topic modeling simplify the task of understanding the diversity of content in large document collections, such as corporate reports, news articles, or scientific documents. These techniques are often used in legal discovery purposes.

Social media analytics: NLP can analyze customer reviews and social media comments to make better sense of huge volumes of information. Sentiment analysis identifies positive and negative comments in a stream of social-media comments, providing a direct measure of customer sentiment in real time. This can lead to huge payoffs down the line, such as increased customer satisfaction and revenue.

Market insights: With NLP working to analyze the language of your business’ customers, you’ll have a better handle on what they want, and also a better idea of how to communicate with them. Aspect-oriented sentiment analysis detects the sentiment associated with specific aspects or products in social media (for example, “the keyboard is great, but the screen is too dim”), providing directly actionable information for product design and marketing.

Moderating content: If your business attracts large amounts of user or customer comments, NLP enables you to moderate what’s being said in order to maintain quality and civility by analyzing not only the words, but also the tone and intent of comments.

Industries Using Natural Language Processing

NLP simplifies and automates a wide range of business processes, especially ones that involve large amounts of unstructured text like emails, surveys, social media conversations, and more. With NLP, businesses are better able to analyze their data to help make the right decisions. Here are just a few examples of practical applications of NLP:

  • Healthcare: As healthcare systems all over the world move to electronic medical records, they are encountering large amounts of unstructured data. NLP can be used to analyze and gain new insights into health records.
  • Legal: To prepare for a case, lawyers must often spend hours examining large collections of documents and searching for material relevant to a specific case. NLP technology can automate the process of legal discovery, cutting down on both time and human error by sifting through large volumes of documents.
  • Finance: The financial world moves extremely fast, and any competitive advantage is important. In the financial field, traders use NLP technology to automatically mine information from corporate documents and news releases to extract information relevant to their portfolios and trading decisions.
  • Customer service: Many large companies are using virtual assistants or chatbots to help answer basic customer inquiries and information requests (such as FAQs), passing on complex questions to humans when necessary.
  • Insurance: Large insurance companies are using NLP to sift through documents and reports related to claims, in an effort to streamline the way business gets done.

NLP Technology Overview

Machine learning models for NLP: We mentioned earlier that modern NLP relies heavily on an approach to AI called machine learning. Machine learning make predictions by generalizing over examples in a dataset. This dataset is called the training data, and machine learning algorithms train on this training data to produce a machine learning model that accomplishes a target task.

For example, sentiment analysis training data consists of sentences together with their sentiment (for example, positive, negative, or neutral sentiment). A machine-learning algorithm reads this dataset and produces a model which takes sentences as input and returns their sentiments. This kind of model, which takes sentences or documents as inputs and returns a label for that input, is called a document classification model. Document classifiers can also be used to classify documents by the topics they mention (for example, as sports, finance, politics, etc.).

Another kind of model is used to recognize and classify entities in documents. For each word in a document, the model predicts whether that word is part of an entity mention, and if so, what kind of entity is involved. For example, in “XYZ Corp shares traded for $28 yesterday”, “XYZ Corp” is a company entity, “$28” is a currency amount, and “yesterday” is a date. The training data for entity recognition is a collection of texts, where each word is labeled with the kinds of entities the word refers to. This kind of model, which produces a label for each word in the input, is called a sequence labeling model.

Sequence to sequence models are a very recent addition to the family of models used in NLP. A sequence to sequence (or seq2seq) model takes an entire sentence or document as input (as in a document classifier) but it produces a sentence or some other sequence (for example, a computer program) as output. (A document classifier only produces a single symbol as output). Example applications of seq2seq models include machine translation, which for example, takes an English sentence as input and returns its French sentence as output; document summarization (where the output is a summary of the input); and semantic parsing (where the input is a query or request in English, and the output is a computer program implementing that request).

Deep learning, pretrained models, and transfer learning: Deep learning is the most widely-used kind of machine learning in NLP. In the 1980s, researchers developed neural networks, in which a large number of primitive machine learning models are combined into a single network: by analogy with brains, the simple machine learning models are sometimes called “neurons.” These neurons are arranged in layers, and a deep neural network is one with many layers. Deep learning is machine learning using deep neural network models.

Because of their complexity, generally it takes a lot of data to train a deep neural network, and processing it takes a lot of compute power and time. Modern deep neural network NLP models are trained from a diverse array of sources, such as all of Wikipedia and data scraped from the web. The training data might be on the order of 10 GB or more in size, and it might take a week or more on a high-performance cluster to train the deep neural network. (Researchers find that training even deeper models from even larger datasets have even higher performance, so currently there is a race to train bigger and bigger models from larger and larger datasets).

The voracious data and compute requirements of Deep Neural Networks would seem to severely limit their usefulness. However, transfer learning enables a trained deep neural network to be further trained to achieve a new task with much less training data and compute effort. The simplest kind of transfer learning is called fine tuning. It consists simply of first training the model on a large generic dataset (for example, Wikipedia) and then further training (“fine-tuning”) the model on a much smaller task-specific dataset that is labeled with the actual target task. Perhaps surprisingly, the fine-tuning datasets can be extremely small, maybe containing only hundreds or even tens of training examples, and fine-tuning training only requires minutes on a single CPU. Transfer learning makes it easy to deploy deep learning models throughout the enterprise.

There is now an entire ecosystem of providers delivering pretrained deep learning models that are trained on different combinations of languages, datasets, and pretraining tasks. These pretrained models can be downloaded and fine-tuned for a wide variety of different target tasks.

Sample of NLP Preprocessing Techniques

Tokenization: Tokenization splits raw text (for example., a sentence or a document) into a sequence of tokens, such as words or subword pieces. Tokenization is often the first step in an NLP processing pipeline. Tokens are commonly recurring sequences of text that are treated as atomic units in later processing. They may be words, subword units called morphemes (for example, prefixes such as “un-“ or suffixes such as “-ing” in English), or even individual characters.

Bag-of-words models: Bag-of-words models treat documents as unordered collections of tokens or words (a bag is like a set, except that it tracks the number of times each element appears). Because they completely ignore word order, bag-of-words models will confuse a sentence such as “dog bites man” with “man bites dog.” However, bag-of-words models are often used for efficiency reasons on large information retrieval tasks such as search engines. They can produce close to state-of-the-art results with longer documents.

Stop word removal: A “stop word” is a token that is ignored in later processing. They are typically short, frequent words such as “a,” “the,” or “an.” Bag-of-words models and search engines often ignore stop words in order to reduce processing time and storage within the database. Deep neural networks typically do take word-order into account (that is, they are not bag-of-words models) and do not do stop word removal because stop words can convey subtle distinctions in meaning (for example, “the package was lost” and “a package is lost” don’t mean the same thing, even though they are the same after stop word removal).

Stemming and lemmatization: Morphemes are the smallest meaning-bearing elements of language. Typically morphemes are smaller than words. For example, “revisited” consists of the prefix “re-“, the stem “visit,” and the past-tense suffix “-ed.” Stemming and lemmatization map words to their stem forms (for example, “revisit” + PAST). Stemming and lemmatization are crucial steps in pre-deep learning models, but deep learning models generally learn these regularities from their training data, and so do not require explicit stemming or lemmatization steps.

Part-of-speech tagging and syntactic parsing: Part-of-speech (PoS) tagging is the process of labeling each word with its part of speech (for example, noun, verb, adjective, etc.). A Syntactic parser identifies how words combine to form phrases, clauses, and entire sentences. PoS tagging is a sequence labeling task, syntactic parsing is an extended kind of sequence labeling task, and deep neural Nntworks are the state-of-the-art technology for both PoS tagging and syntactic parsing. Before deep learning, PoS tagging and syntactic parsing were essential steps in sentence understanding. However, modern deep learning NLP models generally only benefit marginally (if at all) from PoS or syntax information, so neither PoS tagging nor syntactic parsing are widely used in deep learning NLP.

NLP Programming Languages

Python:

The NLP Libraries and toolkits are generally available in Python, and for this reason by far the majority of NLP projects are developed in Python. Python’s interactive development environment makes it easy to develop and test new code.

Java and C++:

For processing large amounts of data, C++ and Java are often preferred because they can support more efficient code.

NLP Libraries and Development Environments

Here are examples of some popular NLP libraries.

TensorFlow and PyTorch: These are the two most popular deep learning toolkits. They are freely available for research and commercial purposes. While they support multiple languages, their primary language is Python. They come with large libraries of prebuilt components, so even very sophisticated deep learning NLP models often only require plugging these components together. They also support high-performance computing infrastructure, such as clusters of machines with graphical processor unit (GPU) accelerators. They have excellent documentation and tutorials.

AllenNLP: This is a library of high-level NLP components (for example, simple chatbots) implemented in PyTorch and Python. The documentation is excellent.

HuggingFace: This company distributes hundreds of different pretrained Deep Learning NLP models, as well as a plug-and-play software toolkit in TensorFlow and PyTorch that enables developers to rapidly evaluate how well different pretrained models perform on their specific tasks.

Spark NLP: Spark NLP is an open source text processing library for advanced NLP for the Python, Java, and Scala programming languages. Its goal is to provide an application programming interface (API) for natural language processing pipelines. It offers pretrained neural network models, pipelines, and embeddings, as well as support for training custom models.

SpaCy NLP: SpaCy is a free, open source library for advanced NLP in Python, and it is specifically designed to help build applications that can process and understand large volumes of text. SpaCy is known to be highly intuitive and can handle many of the tasks needed in common NLP projects.

In summary, Natural language processing is an exciting area of artificial intelligence development that fuels a wide range of new products such as search engines, chatbots, recommendation systems, and speech-to-text systems. As human interfaces with computers continue to move away from buttons, forms, and domain-specific languages, the demand for growth in natural language processing will continue to increase. For this reason, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is committed to providing on-premises performance with our performance-optimized compute shapes and tools for NLP. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure offers an array of GPU shapes that you can deploy in minutes to begin experimenting with NLP.