未找到结果

您的搜索操作未匹配到任何结果。

我们建议您尝试以下操作,以帮助您找到所需内容:

  • 检查关键词搜索的拼写。
  • 使用同义词代替键入的关键词,例如,尝试使用“应用”代替“软件”。
  • 请尝试下方显示的热门搜索之一。
  • 重新搜索。
热门问题

常见问题解答

全部展开 全部收起

    一般问题

  • 什么是 Oracle 云基础设施存储网关?

    Oracle 云基础设施存储网关是您的本地数据中心通往 Oracle 云基础设施对象存储的桥梁。借助存储网关,任何能够在 NFS 目标上存储数据的应用都可以轻松、无缝地将数据迁移到云基础设施对象存储中,而无需事先修改应用以采用 REST API。存储网关公布一个 NFS 挂载点,该挂载点可以挂载到任何支持 NFSv4 客户端的主机上,然后存储网关可自动替您执行 NFS 到 REST API 的转换。利用可配置的本地缓存,存储网关能以异步、优化的方式将数据迁移到云中,从而解决带宽限制或连接问题。该缓存会在本地缓存经常访问的数据,因此还有助于缩短从云端读取数据时的延迟。每个存储网关 NFS 挂载点都映射到一个对象存储桶。通过 NFS 接口,您可以使用传统的文件系统命令与云存储进行交互。

    Oracle 云基础设施存储网关提供文件到对象的透明性。这意味着,存储网关在将数据上传到云端时,会保留原始数据格式。您可以使用受支持的对象存储客户端来读取或管理云端数据,例如 API、SDK、CLI、控制台或其他第三方工具。

  • 使用存储网关有什么好处?

    借助存储网关,您可以轻松地将支持 NFS 等通用文件系统协议的传统应用所生成的数据迁移至对象存储中,而无需修改应用以集成 REST API。存储网关让传统的本地部署应用能够利用几乎无限的云存储空间,并享受对象存储带来的无缝可扩展性、持久性和成本效益。

  • 存储网关可以用作通用网络连接存储服务器吗?

    不可以。存储网关不得用作通用网络连接存储。尽管存储网关在许多方面都像是一个虚拟共享文件系统,但其主要功能是将数据迁移到云端。存储网关的设计不是为了处理事务性负载,那是功能完备的共享文件系统的强项。

  • 存储网关支持哪些用例?

    存储网关是一种用于将数据从本地数据中心迁移至云端的高效工具。您可以将此服务用于备份/归档、灾难恢复,数据迁移以及混合(本地和云)负载等用例。借助存储网关,您可以通过脚本轻松地将冷数据从本地 NAS 服务器迁移到 Oracle 云基础设施对象存储中。

  • 存储网关不支持哪些用例?

    通用网络存储 — 存储网关不是通用存储文件管理器,因此不得用作传统网络存储设备的替代品。

    文件同步和共享 — 尽管存储网关是一款高效的数据迁移工具,但它不能替代文件同步和共享服务。如有文件同步和共享需求,请考虑使用 Oracle 文档云服务等 Oracle 服务。

    内容协作 — 存储网关不支持多个实例同时对单个对象存储桶进行读写操作。存储网关并不是用来让分布式团队协作创建和管理内容的工具。

    经常修改的文件 — 修改现有文件时,如果其内容不存在于缓存中,则将从对象存储读取其内容。而且修改后的文件随后将作为文件的新版本/实例上传。因此,经常修改的文件会无谓地占用上传/下载带宽并导致容量利用率下降。

  • 存储网关的费用是多少?

    所有 Oracle 云基础设施客户都可以免费使用存储网关服务。

  • 存储网关支持哪些存储协议?

    存储网关支持 NFSv4 协议。

  • 存储网关是否支持 Windows 操作环境?

    否。存储网关目前不支持 Windows 操作环境。

  • 是否可以使用存储网关将数据从第三方存储阵列迁移到云端?

    是的。您可以使用存储网关将数据从任何存储复制到云端,只要执行数据复制的 NFS 客户端支持这种复制或者可以使用存储网关云同步功能。

  • 目前我在使用 Oracle 云基础设施经典版对象存储和存储软件设备 (Storage Software Appliance),我可以将数据迁移到 Oracle 云基础设施对象存储和存储网关吗?

    是的,我们支持这种迁移。欢迎联系我们,了解如何使用存储网关云迁移实用程序。

  • 是否必须通过对象存储 REST API 来使用存储网关?

    否,您无需通过任何对象存储 REST API 来使用存储网关。存储网关能够自动执行 NFS 到 REST API 的转换。

  • 存储网关如何利用对象存储?

    当您在存储网关上创建文件系统时,您选择的 Oracle 云基础设施区域中也会生成一个具有相同名称的对象存储桶。存储网关将为您全面管理对象存储桶中的数据。您只需要使用常规文件系统命令与本地文件系统进行交互。

  • 存储网关是否支持数据压缩或去重?

    否,存储网关不支持数据压缩或去重。

  • 如何获取对存储网关的支持?

    您可以通过 https://support.oracle.com 联系 Oracle 支持团队获得对存储网关的支持。

    可扩展性

  • 是否可以在一个存储网关实例上创建多个文件系统?

    是,您可以在一个存储网关实例上创建多个文件系统。一个存储网关实例支持的最大文件系统数量取决于运行主机的硬件。我们建议您在每个存储网关实例上创建最多不超过 5 个活动的文件系统。为了获得理想的性能,建议您将每个文件系统托管在一个专用的存储网关上。

  • 存储网关在可扩展性方面有何限制?

    存储网关上的每个文件系统最多可以管理 1 亿个文件。对于包含超过 1 亿个对象的数据集,请确保将对象分布到多个文件系统中。

  • 存储网关支持的最大上传文件大小有何限制?

    存储网关支持的最大上传文件大小为其上配置的缓存空间的 75%,但不得超过 10 TB。举例而言,如果存储网关配置了 1 TB 的缓存空间,则支持的最大上传文件大小为 750 GB。

  • 是否可以实例化多个存储网关实例?

    每个 Oracle 云基础设施租户中允许安装使用的存储网关实例没有数量上限。

  • 我可以使用存储网关将多少数据上传到对象存储?

    只要本地缓存的大小配置得当,您就可以将无限量的数据上传到对象存储。请注意,存储网关上的每个文件系统最多支持 1 亿个文件。

  • 最长支持多长的文件或目录名称?

    支持最长 255 个字符的文件名。总路径长度最长为 1024 个字符,这是支持的对象存储对象名称的最大长度。例如,/directory1/directory2/directory3/directory4/filename.txt 的长度为 57 个字符。请注意,所支持的对象存储路径的最大长度小于 Linux 文件系统中的限制,后者支持最多 4096 个字符。尝试创建路径长度超过 1024 个字符的文件或目录会产生 NFS 错误。

  • 支持多少个目录?

    支持的目录数量没有限制,但要确保每个目录的路径长度不超过 1024 个字符。

  • 每个目录下支持多少个文件?

    每个目录下支持的文件数量没有限制。

    可操作性

  • 是否可以在 Oracle 云基础设施计算实例中运行存储网关?

    是的,就像在本地安装存储网关一样,您可以遵循同样的一般安装说明来在 Oracle 云基础设施计算实例中运行存储网关。

  • 是否可以将存储网关安装在代理服务器之后?

    是,您可以将存储网关安装在代理服务器之后。要设置代理服务器,请使用以下命令:

    sudo ocisg configure proxy <http_proxy_server> <https_proxy server>
    sudo ocisg down
    sudo ocisg up

  • 多个存储网关实例是否可以在同一个存储桶上并发运行?

    否,多个存储网关实例无法在同一个对象存储桶上并发运行。存储网关不会在不同的存储网关实例之间强制执行对象锁定或一致性。

  • 使用存储网关将数据上传到对象存储后,是否可以使用存储网关之外的其他工具来访问对象存储中的数据?

    是。使用存储网关将数据上传到云端后,您可以使用任何受支持的 Oracle 工具(例如 API、SDK、CLI 和控制台)来进行数据管理,也可以使用 Cyberduck 或 CloudBerry 等第三方工具。

  • 存储网关是否能确保本地存储和对象存储之间的一致性?

    对存储网关文件系统所做的更改最终会与对象存储保持一致。不过数据上传将会异步完成,并且可能为了保障性能而进行缓冲,因此,存储网关中的文件更改可能不会立即体现在对象存储中。

  • 如果直接在对象存储桶中进行更改,这些更改是否会体现在本地存储网关文件系统中?

    直接在对象存储桶中进行的更改不会实时体现在本地存储网关文件系统中。您需要在存储网关管理控制台中单击“Refresh”,才能获取到直接在对象存储中添加或修改的任何数据。

  • 是否可以对非空白的目标对象存储桶创建存储网关文件系统?

    是,您可以对非空白存储桶创建一个存储网关文件系统。在这种情况下,存储网关将为存储桶中所有具有默认权限和属性的对象创建元数据。存储网关还会就存储桶中的对象创建一份本地清单。根据目标存储桶中的对象数量,此过程可能需要一些时间来完成。存储网关管理控制台会通过一个进度条显示当前状态。

  • 存储网关是否支持硬链接或符号链接?

    否,存储网关不支持硬链接或符号链接。尝试创建链接会产生 NFS 错误。

  • 存储网关是否支持稀疏文件?

    是,存储网关支持创建稀疏文件。但是,相应的对象存储对象将是非稀疏的,会填充 0x00。

  • 当我删除文件系统时,我在云中的所有数据都会被自动删除吗?

    不会,删除/移除文件系统时,云中存储的数据将保持不变。您可以根据相同的存储桶创建另一个文件系统,重新获得已删除的数据。

  • 从存储网关删除数据是否会导致对象存储中的数据被永久删除?

    是的,从存储网关删除数据会导致对象存储中的数据被永久删除。

  • 存储网关要等待多长时间才会开始将文件上传到对象存储桶?

    存储网关会等待文件关闭后才上传新文件或修改的文件。关闭文件后,存储网关会等待 1 分钟的安置时间,然后开始将文件排队上传。

    根据待上传文件的数量,可能需要些时间来将文件上传到对象存储桶。您可以从存储网关管理控制台查看文件的上传状态。

    集成式云同步

  • 新推出的存储网关云同步特性是什么?

    Storage Gateway 1.2 提供集成式云同步和复制特性,支持与 Oracle 云基础设施对象存储桶之间来回备份和复制 NAS 文件。这一新特性取代了可在上一版存储网关中使用的的独立、可下载的云同步实用程序。

    您可以使用存储网关管理控制台或 CLI 来轻松创建、监视和管理同步任务,就像使用其他企业 NAS 备份/复制产品一样。云同步作为存储网关软件的组成部分,在主机上的 Docker 实例中运行。

    请参阅使用存储网关云同步文档了解详细信息。

  • 我可以在什么情况下,对什么样的数据使用存储网关云同步?

    如果您需要将大量本地文件迁移到云端,则可以使用 Oracle 云基础设施存储网关来完成这一任务。利用云同步,可以将文件从本地存储复制到存储网关,存储网关则会以异步方式高效地将文件迁移到对象存储桶。如果您原来将数据库或数据备份存储在本地 NAS 中,现在想要释放这块存储空间,或者如果您希望将较早的备份迁移到成本更低的云存储中,那么云同步为您提供了一种简便的数据迁移自动化方法。

  • 是否可以使用存储网关云同步将数据同时复制到标准层和归档层存储桶?

    是的,在创建文件系统时,您可以指定在哪个存储层(标准层 [默认] 或归档层)上创建相应的对象存储桶。标准对象存储层用于存储您需要快速、立即和频繁访问的数据。归档存储层适用于存储不经常访问但需要长期保留的数据。尽管归档存储在保存冷数据方面比对象存储更具成本效益,但您在访问对象时必须先将其还原。

  • 系统提供哪些类型的云同步控制和状态信息?

    每次云同步复制操作都提供全面的状态信息,以便您了解所选文件列表、这些文件复制到存储网关的时间,以及成功上传到对象存储的时间。在复制操作执行过程中,云同步会提供开始时间戳、经过的时间、估计完成时间、待同步的文件总数/大小,以及已同步文件的总数/大小。

  • 如何验证通过网络复制的文件的一致性?

    文件传输完成后,云同步实用程序会比较源位置和目标位置中文件的校验和。

    性能

  • 存储网关的上传和下载速度如何?

    根据在 10 Gb/s 链路速度下进行的性能基准测试,我们观察到了以下数据:

    上传速度

    • 单个文件上传 — 100-120 MB/s(使用一个 1.3 TB 的文件)
    • 多个文件上传 — 450-500 MB/s(使用 4 到 8 个大小从 10 GB 到 50 GB 不等的文件)


    下载速度
    • 单个文件下载 — 300-350 MB/s(使用一个 1.3 TB 的文件)
    • 多个文件下载 — 700-750 MB/s(使用 3 个大小从 50 GB 到 200 GB 不等的文件)

  • 如何确保正确配置网络以充分利用全部可用带宽?

    Storage Gateway 1.2 提供了诊断命令,可帮助您测试环境中的带宽并确保获得预期的上传和下载速度。

    请参阅测试网络带宽文档了解详细信息。

  • 为了获得理想的性能,我该如何配置内存和缓存?
  • 是否可以通过调整某些参数来确保存储网关能够提供理想的性能?

    Storage Gateway 1.2 经过调优,默认情况下能够提供理想的上传和下载性能,不需要您进行额外的调整。

  • 还有哪些其他因素可能影响存储网关的性能?

    除了配置足够的内存和文件系统缓存空间外,我们建议在存储网关环境中使用 SSD。存储网关需要从缓存中读取数据,然后上传到 Oracle 云基础设施。如果后端介质速度很慢,则会对 NFS 摄入速率以及整个上传性能造成负面影响。

  • 如果结合使用 FastConnect 与存储网关,可以达到怎样的上传速度?

    通过结合使用 FastConnect 与存储网关,可以充分利用链路速度。我们正在使用 FastConnect 的客户称,在 10 Gb/s 链路速度下,他们发现每个网关在向 Oracle 云基础设施上传数据时都达到了 400-450 MB/s 的速度。

    请参阅 FastConnect 文档了解详细信息。

No results found

Your search did not match any results.

Frequently Asked Questions

Open all Close all

    General

  • What is Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Storage Gateway?

    Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Storage Gateway helps you bridge your on-premises data center with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Object Storage. Using Storage Gateway, any application that can store data on an NFS target can easily and seamlessly move data to Object Storage without having to first modify the application to uptake REST APIs. Storage Gateway exposes an NFS mount point that can be mounted to any host that supports an NFSv4 client. Storage Gateway performs the NFS to REST API translations for you. A local configurable cache enables asynchronous and optimized movement of the data to the cloud to work around bandwidth limitations or connectivity issues. Because frequently accessed data is cached locally, the cache also improves latency when reading data from the cloud. Each Storage Gateway NFS mount point maps to an Object Storage bucket. The NFS interface lets you use the traditional file system commands to interact with cloud storage.

    Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Storage Gateway supports file to object transparency. This means that when the Storage Gateway uploads your data to the cloud, it preserves the original data format. The data in the cloud can be read or managed using supported Object Storage clients, such as APIs, SDKs, the CLI and Console, or other third party tools.

  • What are the benefits of using Storage Gateway?

    Using Storage Gateway, you can easily move data generated by traditional applications that support common file system protocols like NFS to Object Storage without having to modify the application to integrate with the REST APIs. Storage Gateway opens up virtually unlimited cloud storage to traditional on-premises applications, which previously could not take advantage of the seamless scalability, durability, and cost efficiency of Object Storage.

  • Can I use Storage Gateway as a general purpose Network Attached Storage server?

    No, Storage Gateway must not be used as a general-purpose network-attached storage. Though Storage Gateway is in many ways a virtual shared file system, its primary function is data movement to the cloud. Storage Gateway is not built to handle the transactional workload that a full-featured shared file system can handle.

  • Which use cases does Storage Gateway support?

    Storage Gateway is an efficient tool to move data from your on-premises data center to the cloud. You can use this service for use cases like backup/archive, disaster recovery, data migration, and hybrid (on-premises and cloud) workloads. Using Storage Gateway, you can easily script the movement of cold data from on-premises NAS servers to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Object Storage.

  • Which use cases does the Storage Gateway not support?

    General purpose network storage - Storage Gateway is not a general purpose storage filer and must not be used as a replacement for traditional network storage appliances.

    File sync and share - Though Storage Gateway is an effective data mover, it's not a replacement for file sync and share services. Evaluate Oracle services like Oracle Document Cloud service for your file sync and share needs.

    Content collaboration - Storage Gateway does not support multiple instances simultaneously reading from and writing to a single Object Storage bucket. Storage Gateway is not meant to be used as a tool that enables distributed teams to collaborate on creating and managing content.

    Frequently modified files - When an existing file is modified, its content is read from Object Storage if not present in cache. The modified file is later uploaded as a new version/instance of the file. Therefore, files that are frequently modified are not ideal both in terms of consuming upload/download bandwidth and capacity utilization.

  • How much does Storage Gateway cost?

    Storage Gateway is a free service for all Oracle Cloud Infrastructure customers.

  • Which storage protocols does Storage Gateway support?

    Storage Gateway supports the NFSv4 protocol.

  • Does Storage Gateway support the Windows operating environment?

    No, Storage Gateway does not currently support the Windows operating environment.

  • Can I use Storage Gateway to move data to the cloud from third party storage arrays?

    Yes, you can use Storage Gateway to replicate data from any storage, as long as the NFS client that is performing the data copy can either facilitate the replication or can use the Storage Gateway cloud sync feature.

  • I'm using Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Classic Object Storage and Storage Software Appliance, can I move my data to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Object Storage and Storage Gateway?

    Yes, we can facilitate this migration. Contact us about using the Storage Gateway cloud migration utility.

  • Do I need to use Object Storage REST APIs to use Storage Gateway?

    No, you do not need to use any Object Storage APIs to use Storage Gateway. Storage Gateway performs the NFS to REST API translation for you.

  • How does Storage Gateway leverage Object Storage?

    When you create a file system on the Storage Gateway, an Object Storage bucket with the same name is created in the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure region of your choice. Storage Gateway completely manages your data in the Object Storage bucket for you. You only need to interact with the local file system using normal file system commands.

  • Does Storage Gateway support compression or deduplication?

    No, Storage Gateway does not support compression or deduplication.

  • How can I get support for Storage Gateway?

    You can get support for Storage Gateway by contacting Oracle Support at https://support.oracle.com.

    Scalability

  • Can I create more than one file system on a Storage Gateway instance?

    Yes, you can create multiple file systems on a single Storage Gateway instance. The hardware the host is running on dictates the maximum number of file systems that can be supported by a Storage Gateway instance. We recommend that you create no more than 5 active file systems per Storage Gateway instance. For best performance, host each file system on a dedicated Storage Gateway.

  • What are the Storage Gateway scalability limits?

    Storage Gateway can manage a maximum of 100 million files per file system. For data sets that contain more than 100 million objects, ensure that the objects are distributed across multiple file systems.

  • What is the maximum size of a file that can be uploaded using Storage Gateway?

    The maximum supported file size is 75% of cache space configured on Storage Gateway, but cannot exceed 10 TB. For example, if Storage Gateway is configured to have 1 TB of cache space, the maximum supported file size is 750 GB.

  • Can I instantiate multiple Storage Gateway instances?

    There is no upper limit on the number of Storage Gateway instances that can be installed for use within an Oracle Cloud Infrastructure tenancy.

  • How much data can I upload to the Object Storage using Storage Gateway?

    As long as the local cache is sized accurately, you can upload an unlimited amount of data to Object Storage. Note, that Storage Gateway file systems should not exceed 100 million files.

  • What is the longest file or directory name that is supported?

    The longest supported file name can be 255 characters. The total path length can be a maximum of 1024 characters, which is the maximum supported length for Object Storage object names. For example, /directory1/directory2/directory3/directory4/filename.txt is 57 characters in length. Note that the maximum supported length for Object Storage paths is shorter than the maximum of 4096 characters supported by Linux file systems. Trying to create a file or directory for which path is longer than 1024 characters generates an NFS error.

  • How many directories are supported?

    There is no limit to the number of directories, as long as the path length of each directory is 1024 characters or less.

  • How many files are supported in a single directory?

    There is no limit to the number of supported files in a single directory.

    Operability

  • Can I run Storage Gateway in an Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute instance?

    Yes, you can run the Storage Gateway in an Oracle Cloud Infrastructure compute instance using the same general installation instructions you follow for installing Storage Gateway on-premises.

  • Can Storage Gateway be installed behind proxy server?

    Yes, Storage Gateway can be installed behind a proxy server. To set the proxy servers, use the following commands:

    sudo ocisg configure proxy <http_proxy_server> <https_proxy server>
    sudo ocisg down
    sudo ocisg up

  • Can multiple Storage Gateway instances run concurrently against the same bucket?

    No, multiple Storage Gateway instances cannot run against the same Object Storage Bucket. Storage Gateway does not enforce object locking or consistency between different Storage Gateway instances.

  • When I upload data to Object Storage using Storage Gateway, can the data stored in the Object Storage be accessed using tools other than Storage Gateway?

    Yes, data uploaded to the cloud using the Storage Gateway can be managed using any supported Oracle tools like APIs, SDKs, the CLI and Console, or third party tools like Cyberduck or CloudBerry.

  • Does Storage Gateway ensures consistency between local storage and Object Storage?

    Changes made to a Storage Gateway file system are eventually consistent with the Object Storage. Uploads are asynchronous and buffered for performance, so Storage Gateway file changes might not yet be reflected in Object Storage.

  • Are changes made directly to the Object Storage bucket, reflected back to the local Storage Gateway file system?

    Changes made directly to the Object Storage bucket are not reflected back to the local Storage Gateway file system in real time. Click 'Refresh' in the Storage Gateway management console to ingest any data that was added or modified directly in Object Storage.

  • Can a Storage Gateway file system be created against a non-empty target Object Storage bucket?

    Yes, a Storage Gateway file system can be created against a non-empty bucket. When this happens, Storage Gateway creates metadata for all of the objects in the bucket with default permissions and attributes. Storage Gateway also creates a local inventory of the objects in the bucket. Depending on the number of objects in the target bucket, this process might take some time to complete. The Storage Gateway management console provides a progress bar showing the current state.

  • Does the Storage Gateway support hard or symbolic links?

    No, Storage Gateway does not support symbolic or hard links. Trying to create a link will result in an NFS error.

  • Does the Storage Gateway support sparse files?

    Yes, Storage Gateway supports the creation of sparse files. However, the corresponding Object Storage objects will be non-sparse and filled with 0x00s.

  • If I delete a file system, will all of my data in the cloud be automatically deleted as well?

    No, if a file system is deleted/removed, the data stored in the cloud is left intact. You can reclaim the deleted data by creating another file system backed by the same bucket.

  • Does deleting data from the Storage Gateway permanently delete the data from Object Storage?

    Yes, deleting data from Storage Gateway permanently deletes the data from Object Storage.

  • How long does the Storage Gateway wait before uploading files to the Object Storage bucket?

    Storage Gateway does not upload a new file or modified file until the file is closed. After a file is closed, Storage Gateway allows a 1 minute settling period before queuing the file for upload.

    Depending on the number of files pending upload, it might be a while before the file is uploaded to the Object Storage bucket. You can view the upload status of files from the Storage Gateway management console.

    Integrated Cloud Synchronization

  • What is the new Storage Gateway Cloud Sync feature?

    Storage Gateway 1.2 provides an integrated cloud synchronization and replication feature that lets you backup and replicate NAS files to and from Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Object Storage buckets. This new feature replaces the independent, downloadable cloud sync utility that was available in previous Storage Gateway versions.

    You can use the Storage Gateway management console or CLI to easily create, monitor, and manage sync jobs similar to other enterprise NAS backup/replication offerings. Cloud Sync runs as part of the Storage Gateway software inside the Docker instance on the host.

    See Using Storage Gateway Cloud Sync documentation for details.

  • When would I want to use Storage Gateway Cloud Sync and for what kind of data?

    Customers with a lot of on-premises files to move into the cloud can do so using the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Storage Gateway. Cloud Sync offers a way to copy files from the local storage into the Storage Gateway, where the files are asynchronously and efficiently moved to an Object Storage bucket. Customers who store database or data backups in local NAS and want to free up the space, or have a desire to move older backups into less expensive cloud storage, will find Cloud Sync an easy way to automate this kind of data movement.

  • Can I use the Storage Gateway Cloud Sync to copy data into both Standard tier and Archive tier buckets?

    Yes, when you create a file system, you specify which storage tier, Standard (the default) or Archive, to create the corresponding Object Storage bucket. The Standard Object Storage tier is used for storing data to which you need fast, immediate, and frequent access. The Archive Storage tier is used for storing data that is accessed infrequently and requires long retention periods. While Archive Storage is more cost effective than Object Storage for preserving cold data, you must first restore the objects before you can access them.

  • What kind of Cloud Sync control and status information is provided?

    Each Cloud Sync copy operation provides comprehensive status to let you know the list of files selected, when they have been copied over to the Storage Gateway, and when they have been successfully uploaded to Object Storage. When a copy operation is in progress, Cloud Sync provides the start timestamp, elapsed time, estimated completion time, the total number/size of files to be synced, and the total number/size for files that have been already been synced.

  • How are files that are copied over the network verified to be consistent?

    After the file transfer is complete, the cloud sync utility compares the checksums of the files in the source and the target locations.

    Performance

  • What upload and download speeds can I expect from Storage Gateway?

    In performance benchmark tests with 10 Gb/s link speed, we observed the following:

    Upload Speeds

    • Single File Upload – 100 - 120 MB/s (using a 1.3 TB file)
    • Multiple File Upload – 450 - 500 MB/s (using 4 to 8 files ranging from 10 GB to 50 GB in size)


    Download Speeds
    • Single File Download – 300 - 350 MB/s (using a 1.3 TB file)
    • Multiple File Download – 700 - 750 MB/s (using 3 files ranging from 50 GB to 200 GB in size)

  • How can I ensure my network is configured correctly to make use of the full bandwidth available?

    Storage Gateway 1.2 provides a diagnostic command that you can use to test the bandwidth in your environment and ensure that you are getting the expected upload and download speeds.

    See Testing Network Bandwidth documentation for more details.

  • What are the memory and cache requirements to get the maximum performance?
  • Are there any tunable parameters that I can adjust to ensure that I am getting the maximum performance possible from Storage Gateway?

    Storage Gateway 1.2 is tuned for maximum upload and download performance by default. No additional tuning is needed.

  • What other factors can impact Storage Gateway performance?

    In addition to having sufficient memory and file system cache space, we recommend using SSDs in a Storage Gateway environment. Storage Gateway needs to read from the cache to upload to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. If the backend media is slow, NFS ingestion rate and thus the overall upload performance is negatively affected.

  • What upload speeds are possible if I use FastConnect in conjunction with Storage Gateway?

    Using FastConnect in conjunction with Storage Gateway makes optimal use of full link speed. We have customers using FastConnect with 10Gb/s link speed and have seen each gateway achieve 400 - 450 MB/s uploads to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.

    See FastConnect documentation to learn more.