什么是财务管理?专家指南

Lynne Sampson | ERP 内容战略专家 | 2023 年 1 月

说到财务管理,大多数人通常会想到银行账户管理,如支付租金或抵押贷款、缴纳水电费、购买生活用品,甚至制定每月预算。企业财务管理比这复杂的多,包括控制和跟踪流入和流出企业的所有资金,采取措施尽可能确保公司的盈利能力和财务安全性。

为了让您更清楚地了解企业财务管理,我们将详细介绍财务管理的一些关键目标和职能。

什么是财务管理?

财务管理是指对进出企业的资金流的控制。每一家企业都需要销售产品或服务、支付费用、清算账目和报税。除此之外,财务管理还包含许多更复杂的流程,例如发放员工薪水、购买用品以及向政府机构提交证明其遵守适用法律法规的报告。监督所有此类企业事务的行为便是我们所说的企业财务管理。一般来说,公司规模越大,财务管理就越复杂。

管理所有进出公司资金的人员统称为财务管理人员。小型公司至少会配备一名会计人员或记账员配合银行处理这些事务并跟踪资金流动。大型企业通常由首席财务官 (CFO)、财务主管、财务总监或类似职位的人员来领导整个财务团队。

财务团队的主要职能是确保公司的偿付能力和稳定的现金流,但这并不是他们唯一的职能。除此之外,财务团队还要负责处理贷款和债务、清算账目、监督投资、筹集风险资本以及管理公开募股(即公开发行股票)。总的来说,财务团队需负责保护企业的财务资源,监视和控制所有交易,并采取措施尽可能提高企业的盈利能力。

关键要点

  • 财务管理是指监视、控制、保护和报告企业财务资源的活动。
  • 企业可配备会计人员或建立财务团队来管理财务事务,包括管理所有银行交易、贷款、债务、投资和其他资金来源。
  • 财务团队还有责任确保公司遵守所有法规,保持偿付能力以及尽可能提高盈利能力。

了解财务管理

财务管理涉及多个业务流程,覆盖了公司每个团队和部门。财务团队的职责包括:

  • 开票和应收账款:客户支付或承诺支付给企业的资金。财务团队负责发送发票和处理收到的付款。收账团队负责跟进逾期款项(此流程有时会外包给第三方)。
  • 应付账款:企业需支付给供应商的款项。财务团队负责支付这些帐单并将付款记入账册。
  • 银行交易和对账:财务团队与银行密切合作,确保正确处理每笔银行交易。此外,财务团队还必须确保银行对账单与公司总账和子分类账中的记录相匹配。若银行对账单与分类账之间出现任何不匹配,财务团队必须跟进并纠正,即对账流程。
  • 关账:公司在特定日期统计特定时间段内的交易,以便进行对账和报告财务状况。关账流程通常发生在月末、季度或年末。
  • 报告:企业须定期向首席执行官、董事会、投资者、股东或政府监管机构报告其财务业绩。财务团队负责生成清晰、准确的财务报告。
  • 场景建模、计划和预算:场景建模需要先对未来的某个时段做出一些假设,例如,“我们希望在下个季度实现 1000 到 1500 万美元的收入。”财务团队将针对好坏情况运行多个“假设”场景,预估在这些情况下公司分别能获得多少收入。然后财务团队将根据这些模型评估如何做出有效的响应,并制定适当的计划、预测和预算。财务团队通常需要与其他部门(例如销售、人力资源、项目管理或采购团队)合作构建包含销售预测、员工费用和库存成本数据的模型,即所谓的互联计划。
  • 薪资和费用:员工的个人薪资单通常由人力资源部门负责。但整体员工成本需要汇总到财务团队,并纳入到预算和计划中。此外,财务部门还负责报销员工费用,例如差旅费和餐费等。
  • 现金管理和预测:面对频繁的资金流入和流出,财务团队必须具备前瞻性思维。财务团队必须确保公司有足够的现金在下一季度、第二年甚至未来三到五年内保持偿付能力。大多数企业通常每月执行一次现金预测。
  • 税务策略:每一家企业都需要报税,且所有企业都希望充分利用扣除规则来避免溢缴税款。通常企业会在财务团队中配备税务专员来专门负责此事项,或将这一任务外包给会计事务所。
  • 风险与合规性:从利率上涨到全球疫情,每一家企业都面临着财务风险。因此,控制风险,尽可能缩小企业风险敞口是财务团队的职责之一。此外,该职能团队还必须确保公司遵守政府、监管机构和其他司法管辖机构制定的法规条例,避免巨额罚款。
现代 ERP 完整指南

现代 ERP 完全指南

了解什么是现代 ERP 解决方案,以及云端 ERP 如何提升业务敏捷性并推动创新。

财务管理为何重要?

关于自动化财务关账的五个优秀实践

自动化互联财务关账对于及时向决策人员提供准确的财务报告至关重要。了解如何快速、正确地开始自动化财务关账。

财务管理对于保持企业偿付能力至关重要。确保企业持续运营是财务管理的基本目标。企业可通过财务管理解决可能面对的许多重大问题,包括收入损失(如新冠疫情导致的收入下降)、自然灾害、罢工、战争等。

除了基本的生存,良好的财务管理以及财务管理软件还能够推动企业实现进一步发展。财务团队可以利用许多工具来推动业务增长。在经济稳步增长和低利率的良好市场形势下,财务团队可以从银行贷款,从风险资本筹集资金,或帮助公司上市(即在股票市场公开发行股票)。企业可以利用这些资金开设新办事处、扩展业务地区以及升级设备,推动业务进一步增长。当市场形势不理想时(例如在经济衰退期间),可通过裁员或关闭无法盈利的办事处等财务管理策略来削减成本。

提高盈利能力是财务管理的一个重要部分。财务团队通常需要与销售和营销团队合作制定公司产品或服务的价格。在这个过程中,财务团队必须找到一个平衡点。如果定价过高,客户可能会转而选择价格更低的竞争对手;而如果定价过低,企业可能入不敷出。同样,控制成本也是财务团队的主要职责之一,包括员工薪资、租金、电费、原材料和运输费用。

报告是有效财务管理的关键部分。首席财务官和其他业务负责人需要了解公司的运营状况,以便做出明智的决策,保证业务正常运营。他们希望了解业务是否按计划进行,是否能够为企业投资者提供良好的回报。良好的财务管理可以帮助企业实现甚至超越目标。

企业财务管理的目标

财务团队有许多财务管理目标,其中主要包括:

1. 保持企业的偿付能力,包括避免破产,确保企业有足够的资金来实现持续运营。

2. 提高盈利能力,包括为现有产品和服务制定合适的价格,下架不盈利的产品和服务以及评估新产品和服务的潜在利润。

借助面向 ESG 的 Oracle Cloud EPM,让世界变得更美好 (1:49)

3. 降低成本,包括监视支出以及设法减少间接费用。

4. 确保投资回报 (ROI),为风险资本家、股东和其他投资者提供良好的投资回报。

5. 筹集资本,通过良好的 ROI 吸引更多投资。

6. 现金预测,确保企业有充足的现金用于业务运营和投资。

7.降低风险,规避罚款,确保企业遵守相应的规章制度,包括制定环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 计划与报告。

财务管理职能

在中小型企业中,通常由一个人或一个小团队来执行企业中的所有财务管理职能。而大型企业通常会成立多个团队,每个团队负责执行特定的职能,包括:

1. 会计

这包括跟踪、记录和匹配企业内的所有货币交易。会计团队通常由财务主管或首席会计官领导,并使用会计软件作为辅助工具。例如,会计团队通常使用云 ERP 系统(尤其是财务系统)来执行、记录和报告公司的财务状况。此外,会计团队还负责对账和关账流程(见上文)。

2. 项目管理

项目是收入和费用的主要来源,尤其是工程、法律和顾问咨询这样的专业服务。财务团队负责分配项目预算并监督每个项目创造的收入。

3. 采购

采购通常分为两类:

  • 直接采购包括用于制造公司产品的部件和原材料。直接采购通常由供应链和/或运营团队管理,例如使用采购系统管理供应商以及与供应商的合作,使用库存系统跟踪部件、原材料和成品。将这些系统实现互联可大大简化供应商和库存的运营、控制和监管。
  • 间接采购是指与公司产品和服务生产无关,用于日常运营的物资或服务采购,包括办公家具、笔记本电脑和文具用品等。财务部门可使用采购系统授权和跟踪此类采购。

4. 财务计划与分析 (FP&A)

大型企业有时会在财务部门内部成立单独的团队来执行该职能。FP&A 专家通过对潜在场景进行建模来预测好坏情况下的财务结果,并根据这些预测来制定下一季度或下一年的财务计划和预算。FP&A 专业人员通常需要与其他业务部门密切合作,共同执行预测和制定预算,包括销售计划、员工计划和运营计划,即所谓的互联计划。

5. 税务

每一家企业都需要报税,但对于需要在不同国家/地区报税的大型企业来说,这一流程尤为复杂。这些公司通常有专门的税务团队,并使用纳税申报软件来生成国别报告和其他报告。

6. 司库

司库是银行内部负责跟踪和管理资本资产、债务、贷款和现金的部门。该部门可为首席财务官提供关于可用资金的建议,如有多少资金可用于资本投资(例如大型设备采购)或并购 (M&A)。此外,司库还负责公司的资本结构(见下文)。

7. 风险和合规性

该职能团队负责管理从审计到自然灾害的财务风险控制,尽可能帮助公司缩小风险敞口。此外,该职能团队还必须确保公司遵守政府、监管机构和其他司法管辖机构制定的法规条例,避免巨额罚款。

财务管理的类型

一般来说,财务管理可分为以下几种类型:

营运资本管理

营运资本管理侧重于日常运营,例如确保有足够的资金来发放员工薪水或购买原材料。营运资本包括库存现金、现有库存或其他资产。如果发生严重问题,企业可以快速出售这些资产以筹集资金。

收入周期管理

收入周期管理适用于企业在一段时间内通过销售货物和服务获得的收入。随着“XX 即服务”销售模式的普及,企业需要在获得收入的当月或当季度确认收入,而不是在达成销售时一次性完成收入确认。这种长期持续的收入周期称为每月经常性收入 (MRR)。

资本预算

在财务管理中,资本预算旨在确定公司为了实现其短期和长期目标需要哪些财务上的支持。财务经理可通过资本预算来评估投资和/或项目的盈利能力,确定它们能否为公司创造更大价值。

资本结构

资本结构是指为公司的运营、收购、投资和增长提供资金支持的债务和股权构成。企业资本结构通常表示为负债权益比率。

使用 Oracle 解决方案管理财务数据

如果没有合适的财务管理软件,企业将难以实现长足发展。随着公司不断壮大,财务管理将变得更加复杂。您需要比基础会计工具更强大的财务软件。高级财务管理系统不仅可以帮助您管理资金流,还可以帮助您改善盈利能力、明确纳税义务、降低风险、确保合规性以及改善收入管理。借助合适的企业资源计划 (ERP) 系统,您将能够随时随地做好准备,轻松应对任何情况。

财务管理常见问题解答

什么是财务管理?
财务管理是指对公司财务的管理,包括流入和流出企业的所有资金以及任何储备现金或资产。

财务管理的作用是什么?
财务管理的基本作用是保持企业偿付能力。除此之外,良好的财务管理还可以推动企业实现进一步发展。

可否提供一个财务管理示例?
如财务管理团队需确定公司应借多少资金来投资新的工厂、产品线或服务产品。

了解 Oracle Cloud ERP 如何让您灵活地采用新的业务模型和流程,帮助您降低成本、提高预测准确性并更快地进行业务创新。

注:为免疑义,本网页所用以下术语专指以下含义:

  1. Oracle专指Oracle境外公司而非甲骨文中国。
  2. 相关Cloud或云术语均指代Oracle境外公司提供的云技术或其解决方案。

We’re sorry. We could not find a match for your search.

We suggest you try the following to help find what you’re looking for:

  • Check the spelling of your keyword search.
  • Use synonyms for the keyword you typed, for example, try "application" instead of "software."
  • Start a new search.
Cloud Account Sign in to Cloud
Oracle Account

What is Financial Management? An Expert Guide

Lynne Sampson | ERP Content Strategist | January 2023

When most people think of financial management, they often think of managing their own bank accounts: paying the rent or mortgage, paying utility bills, buying groceries, maybe even planning a monthly budget. But financial management for business is a much more complex pursuit. It involves controlling and tracking all the money flowing in and out of the business, as well as taking steps to make the company as profitable and financially secure as possible.

To get a clearer picture, let’s break down some of the key goals and functions of financial management.

What is Financial Management?

Financial management is about controlling the flow of money in and out of the organization. Every business needs to sell products or services, pay expenses, balance the books, and file taxes. Financial management encompasses all of this, along with more complex processes, such as paying employees, buying supplies, and submitting reports to government agencies to show they’re obeying applicable laws and regulations. The act of overseeing all these transactions for a business is what we mean when we talk about a company’s financial management. In general, the bigger the company, the more complicated financial management becomes.

Employees who specialize in financial management are responsible for all the money going into and out of the company. Smaller companies will have at least one accountant or bookkeeper who works with the bank to execute these transactions and track the flow of money. Large companies will often have entire finance teams led by a chief financial officer (CFO), controller, head of finance, or someone with a similar title.

The finance team’s primary job is to make sure the company stays solvent and never runs out of cash—but it’s not their only job. They’re also responsible for handling loans and debts, balancing the books, overseeing investments, raising venture capital, and managing public offerings (i.e. selling company stock on the open market). Basically, the finance team protects a company’s financial resources, monitors and controls all transactions, and takes steps to make the company as profitable as possible.

Key Takeaways

  • Financial management is all about monitoring, controlling, protecting, and reporting on a company’s financial resources.
  • Companies have accountants or finance teams responsible for managing their finances, including all bank transactions, loans, debts, investments, and other sources of funding.
  • Finance teams are also responsible for ensuring the company follows all regulations, stays solvent, and is as profitable as possible.

Understanding Financial Management

Financial management includes business processes that span every team and department in the company. A finance team’s responsibilities include:

  • Invoicing and receivables: Money that customers pay or have promised to pay to the business. Finance teams are responsible for sending out invoices and processing the payments as they come in. Collections teams are responsible for following up on overdue accounts (this process is sometimes outsourced to third parties).
  • Payables: Money that the company owes to its vendors and suppliers. Finance teams are responsible for paying these bills and recording the payments.
  • Bank transactions and reconciliations Finance teams work closely with their banks to ensure that every bank transaction is processed correctly. They must also make sure that the bank’s statements match their own records, which are kept in the company’s general ledger and subledgers. The finance team must follow up on, and correct, any mismatches between bank statements and ledgers—a process known as account reconciliation.
  • Closing the books: On a particular date, the company will tally transactions from a given period so it can reconcile its accounts and report on its financial position. The close, as this process is known, typically happens at the end of a month, quarter, or year.
  • Reporting: Companies must report regularly on their financial performance, whether it’s to the CEO, a board of directors, investors, shareholders, or government regulators. The finance team is responsible for ensuring that these reports are clear and accurate.
  • Scenario modeling, planning, and budgeting: Scenario modeling starts with making certain assumptions about an upcoming period of time, such as, “Next quarter, we expect to bring in $10 to 15 million in revenue.” The finance team will run multiple “what-if” scenarios for the best and worst cases to estimate how much money the company will have if those conditions come to pass. Based on these models, the finance team will assess how best to respond and develop appropriate plans, forecasts, and budgets. Often, the finance team will work with other departments—such as sales, HR, project management, or procurement teams—to build models that include data from sales forecasts, workforce expenses, and inventory costs. This is known as connected planning.
  • Payroll and expenses: Individual paychecks to employees are typically the responsibility of the HR department. However, overall workforce costs roll up to the finance team so they can factor it into their budgets and plans. Finance is also responsible for reimbursing employee expenses, such as work-related travel and meals.
  • Cash management and forecasting: With money constantly flowing in and out of a business, it’s important for finance teams to look ahead. They must ensure that the company has enough cash to stay solvent for the next quarter, next year—even the next three to five years. In most companies, cash forecasting is typically done once a month.
  • Tax strategies: Every company must file. taxes; and, like the rest of us, they want to take advantage of as many deductions as possible to prevent overpayment. Some finance teams have tax specialists on staff to manage this. Those that don’t will often outsource this task to an accounting firm.
  • Risk and compliance Every business has financial risks, from rising interest rates to global pandemics. It’s the finance team’s job to control such risks and reduce the company’s exposure as much as possible. They must also make sure the company follows the rules and regulations laid out by governments, regulators, and other jurisdictions to stay in compliance and avoid hefty fines.
Modern Guide to ERP

Your Complete Guide to Modern ERP

Discover what defines a modern ERP solution and how cloud ERP drives business agility and innovation.

Why is Financial Management Important?

5 best practices to automate your financial close

An automated, connected financial close is critical for delivering timely, accurate reporting to decision-makers. Here’s how to get started—and get it right.

Financial management matters because it keeps a company solvent. Its most basic goal is to ensure that the business doesn’t go bankrupt. Financial management addresses the most critical issues that a business can face, such as loss of revenue (as happened during the COVID-19 pandemic), natural disasters, strikes, wars, and so on.

Beyond basic survival, good financial management—and financial management software—can help a company grow and thrive. Finance teams have many tools they can use within the business to help drive growth. In good market conditions, with a growing economy and low-interest rates, finance teams can borrow money from banks, raise funds from venture capitalists, or take the company public (i.e. sell shares on the stock market). The company can invest these funds for growth by opening new locations, expanding into other territories, upgrading equipment, and so on. When market conditions are less favorable—for example, during a recession—financial management tactics might include cutting costs by laying off workers or closing unprofitable locations.

Improving profitability is an important part of financial management. Finance teams often work with sales and marketing teams to set prices for the company’s products or services. They must strike a balance to set the right prices. If prices are too high, customers might run to cheaper competitors; too low, the company might not bring in enough revenue to cover expenses. In the same way, controlling costs is also one of the finance team’s key responsibilities, whether it’s for employees, rent, electricity, raw materials, or shipping expenses.

Reporting is a key part of effective financial management. The CFO and other business leaders want to know how well the company is performing so they can make the best decisions for the health of the business. They want to know that the business is performing to plan, and that it’s providing a good return to the company’s investors. Good financial management matters because it helps a company to meet—or even exceed—these goals.

Goals of Financial Management in Business

Finance teams have many goals when it comes to financial management. Their top goals include:

1. Keeping the company solvent by avoiding bankruptcy and ensuring the business has enough money to continue operating.

2. Maximizing profitability by setting the right price for existing products and services, discontinuing unprofitable products and services, and evaluating the potential profit of new products and services.

Make the world a better place with Oracle Cloud EPM for ESG (1:49)

3. Minimizing costs by monitoring spending and looking for ways to reduce overhead.

4. Ensuring a good return on investment (ROI) for venture capitalists, stock shareholders, and other investors.

5. Raising capital by attracting more investment via positive ROI.

6. Cash forecasting to make sure the organization has enough cash—not only to function but to invest in growth.

7. Reducing risks and avoiding fines by ensuring the company complies with the appropriate regulations. Increasingly, this includes environmental, social, and governance (ESG) planning and reporting.

Financial Management Functions

In smaller companies, one person or a small team of people might perform all the financial management functions for the business. Larger companies typically have teams that are responsible for specific functions. These include:

1. Accounting

This includes tracking, recording, and matching all monetary transactions within the company. The accounting team is often led by a controller or chief accounting officer and aided by accounting software. They often use cloud ERP systems—in particular, financial systems—to perform, record, and report on the company’s finances. Accounting is also responsible for account reconciliation and closing the books (see above).

2. Project management

Projects are a chief source of both income and expenses, especially for professional services, such as engineers, lawyers, and consultants. Finance teams are responsible for allocating budget to a project and overseeing the revenue each project brings in.

3. Procurement

This is typically divided into two categories:

  • Direct procurement includes the parts and raw materials used to make a company’s products. Direct procurement is typically overseen by supply chain and/or operations teams who manage and work with suppliers through a procurement system. The parts, raw materials, and finished products are tracked using an inventory system. Having these systems connected to each other makes operations, control, and oversight of suppliers and inventory much easier.
  • Indirect procurement refers to supplies that don’t go into a company’s products and services but are used for day-to-day operations. These might include items such as office furniture, laptops, and stationery. Finance authorizes and tracks these purchases using a procurement system.

4. Financial planning and analysis (FP&A)

In large companies, this is sometimes a separate team inside the finance department. FP&A specialists are responsible for modeling potential scenarios and forecasting likely outcomes for the best- and worst-case situations. They use these forecasts to develop financial plans and budgets for the next quarter or year. FP&A professionals often work closely with other parts of the business to develop forecasts and budgets, including sales plans, workforce plans, and operational plans. This is known as connected planning.

5. Tax

Every company must file taxes, but it gets especially complicated for big companies that must file in different countries. Such companies often have specialized tax teams who use tax-reporting software for country-by-country and other reporting.

6. Treasury

The treasury department is responsible for tracking and managing capital assets, debts, loans, and cash in the bank. Treasury advises the CFO on how much money is available for things such as capital investments (for example, big equipment purchases) or mergers and acquisitions (M&A). They’re also responsible for the company’s capital structure (see below).

7. Risk and compliance

This function manages controls for financial risks—everything from audits to natural disasters—and reduces the company’s exposure as much as possible. They must also make sure the company follows the rules and regulations laid out by governments, regulators, and other jurisdictions to stay in compliance and avoid hefty fines.

Types of Financial Management

In general, financial management is divided into the following types:

Working capital management

This focuses primarily on day-to-day operations, such as making sure there’s enough money to pay employees or buy raw materials. Working capital encompasses things such as cash on hand, inventory on hand, or other assets that can be quickly sold to raise money if critical issues arise.

Revenue cycle management

This accounts for the revenue a company earns over time by selling its goods and services. Increasingly, as more companies move toward selling everything “as a service,” revenue must be recognized in the monthly or quarterly period in which it’s earned, rather than all at once at the time of sale. This spread out revenue cycle is recognized as monthly recurring revenue or MRR.

Capital budgeting

This area of financial management is all about identifying what a company needs financially for it to achieve both its short- and long-term goals. Financial managers use capital budgeting to evaluate the profitability of investments and/or projects to see if they add value to the business.

Capital structure

Capital structure is a combination of the debt and equity used to finance a company’s operations, acquisitions, investments, and growth. A company’s capital structure is usually conveyed in a debt-to-equity ratio.

Manage Your Financial Data with Oracle

Without some sort of financial management software, an organization would have a hard time surviving. As your company grows, financial management gets more complicated—you’ll need financial software that can do more than basic accounting. Advanced financial management systems can help you not only to manage the flow of money—they help you optimize profitability, determine tax obligations, reduce risk, stay compliant, improve revenue management, and more. With the right enterprise resource planning (ERP) system in place, you’ll be ready for whatever comes your way.

Financial Management FAQs

What is meant by financial management?
Financial management refers to the management of a company’s finances, including all money coming into the business, all money going out, and any cash or assets in reserve.

What is the role of financial management?
The most basic role of financial management is to keep the company solvent. Beyond that, good financial management can help a company grow and thrive.

What is financial management example?
An example of financial management is when a financial management team determines how much money a company should borrow to invest in a new factory, product line, or service offering.

See how Oracle Cloud ERP gives you the agility to adopt new business models and processes quickly, helping you reduce costs, sharpen forecasts, and innovate faster.