非常抱歉,您的搜索操作未匹配到任何结果。

我们建议您尝试以下操作,以帮助您找到所需内容:

  • 检查关键词搜索的拼写。
  • 使用同义词代替键入的关键词,例如,尝试使用“应用”代替“软件”。
  • 重新搜索。

什么是首席财务官 (CFO)?

首席财务官 (CFO) 是组织中级别最高的财务专业人员,肩负着企业财务健康的重任。CFO 的职责包括但不限于:监管合规;预算编制;现金流管理;财务计划与分析 (FP&A);场景建模;为 CEO 提供潜在并购 (M&A) 目标建议;首次公开募股 (IPO) 规划;资本预算编制;寻求债务性和权益融资;以及处理投资者关系。此外,除了履行财务守护者责任外,CFO 一般还要向 CEO 和董事会提供企业总体战略方向建议。

对于在美上的公司,CFO 还最终负责确保准确无误地生成季度和年度财务报表并提交给美国证券交易委员会 (SEC)。这意味着需要按照财务会计准则委员会 (FASB) 的公认会计原则 (GAAP) 来编制财务报表。对于国外的企业,CFO 需要确保按照国际财务报告准则 (IFRS) 来编制财务报表。

此外,尽管私人控股公司仅在拥有 1000 万美元或更多资产,或者拥有 500 位或更多股东时,才需要向 SEC 提交文件,但为了获得债务性融资或权益融资,许多私营公司的 CFO 也需要编制财务报表。

最后,在执行全球报告倡议组织 (GRI) 和可持续性会计准则委员会 (SASB) 制定的环境、社会和企业治理 (ESG) 报告标准方面,CFO 也发挥着核心作用。随着这些新兴标准不断发展和趋向成熟,CFO 在实施 ESG 报告解决方案方面将发挥更积极的作用。

CFO:变革时代的成功驱动力

CFO 资格和技能

CFO 的成长之路十分漫长,一名从业者平均需要十到十五年时间才能晋升到这一职位。现实中,CFO 一般都拥有会计或财务背景以及高级商务学位(通常为 MBA)。此外,除了掌握 GAAP、预算编制、FP&A 和现金流管理知识以外,CFO 还需要具备深厚的领导和管理能力,需要深入理解组织和所在行业的整体业务战略,需要积极承担财务转型责任。

CFO 需要综合考虑数据与外部环境(监管、市场和宏观经济)来预测未来趋势,为组织提供战略指导,同时就行业特定的挑战和商机为企业提供建议。

专注学习财务知识

学士学位和硕士学位不仅是知识的证明,还能很好地展示您在财务领域的长期坚持和您完成长期项目的能力。因此,请学习并获取工商管理或财务管理学位,尽可能丰富自己的知识。

此外,尽管强大的财务背景十分重要,但 MBA 学位的重要性也正日益突显。在获取 MBA 学位的过程中,您不仅可以巩固您的财务能力,而且还能构建一个强大的战略和运营知识库。简而言之,MBA 可以为有志者快速开启 CFO 之旅。

从事财务工作

教育十分重要,行业实践经验也是一样。由于 CFO 工作重心是企业财务,因此请首先寻找财务相关的实习或工作机会,包括:

  • 银行
  • 会计、税务和审计
  • 顾问咨询
  • 承保
  • 财务计划

培养 HR 管理技能

除了丰富的财务知识和经验外,CFO 还需要掌握适当的管理技能。通过培养沟通、领导力和解决问题这样的软技能以及积累行业经验,有志于 CFO 事业的从业者可以顺利从竞争中脱颖而出。

了解 Oracle 和 AICPA 的敏捷财务认证课程

CFO 的团队

在很多大型企业中,一些重要人员直接向 CFO 汇报工作。

首席会计官 (CAO):随着 CFO 的职责要求日益严苛,职责范围日益扩展,CAO 开始接管过去由 CFO 负责的日常战术性任务。CAO 一般负责 SEC 报告、地方和国际法规合规、企业治理、风险管理以及环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 报告工作。

CAO 的演变及其对 CFO 的影响

会计长:会计长负责日常会计和财务运营工作,通常拥有注册会计师 (CPA) 证书或 MBA 学位。他们需要创建报表,以深入了解公司的财务状况,包括应收账款、应付账款、库存和薪资。会计长一般领导着会计师、记账员、应收账款/应付款办事员和薪资专员团队,直接向 CAO 汇报工作。

财务长:财务长负责公司的流动性、债务和资产,需要确保企业始终具有偿付能力,其职责范围涵盖了公司拥有的所有投资,包括实物资产(如建筑和设备)和金融投资。

FP&A 总监:在许多大型企业中,财务计划与分析总监直接向 CFO 汇报工作。FP&A 团队最重要的职责是基于当前和历史财务数据来执行财务预测,包括准确预测未来收入、费用、利润和现金流。此外,FP&A 团队还需要编制内部和外部报告,为 CFO 提供市场扩张、新业务模式、并购、资产剥离和资本预算编制等方面的建议。

首席会计官与会计长对比

CFO 角色的演变

在过去几十年里,CFO 的角色发生了巨大的转变,除了报告和合规性以外,还要领导企业的业务战略和数字化转型。过去,CFO 的主要职责是降低成本、优化财务流程和记账,具体包括收集数据、运行报表以及汇总数据。现在,CFO 的工作重心是推动业务模式转型,而不仅仅是财务流程优化和自动化。如今,CFO 肩负着广泛的战略性责任。他们直接向 CEO 汇报工作,对董事会和股东负有受托责任,不仅是财务部门的管理者,也是企业发展的战略助推器。

不过,这并不意味着 CFO 不再负责现金流管理、监管合规性或财务报告工作。今天的 CFO 仍然对企业的财务健康状况承担最终和首要责任。

CFO 的主要职责因组织的规模、所处行业以及公司是否上市而异。通常来说,CFO 影响着并为财务、运营以及战略与预测这三项关键职能提供支持。

财务管理

尽管 CFO 的职责范围已大幅扩展,但财务管理仍然是其核心职责。现实中,许多大型企业虽然聘任了首席会计官,但仍然是 CFO 最终负责法规合规工作,负责及时准确地关账、控制成本以及管理整个组织的现金流。CFO 需要承担财务主管的部分职责,确保日常会计和财务运营平稳运行;需要审查和批准报表,以更深入地洞悉企业的财务状况。

在财务管理上,CFO 的一项职责是建立适当的风险管理框架来防范欺诈和未经授权的用户访问。对此,风险管理软件可以帮助组织满足合规和法规要求,例如萨班斯-奥克斯利法案 (SOX) 和通用数据保护条例 (GDPR)。此外,准确、及时地关账对财务管理也至关重要。对此,CFO 一直在设法利用自动对账软件来加快关账流程速度。这不仅有助于加快 SEC 报告流程,而且还能为 CFO 提供更充足的时间来编制预算、创建场景计划以及制定并购战略。

运营

流动性和财资管理也是 CFO 的核心职责。CFO 的财资管理职责包括管理企业的债务、资产和流动性。在资产上,CFO 要管理有形资产(如建筑或设备)和金融投资。在债务上,CFO 要力争减少既有债务并避免新的债务。

流动性关系着组织通过易于获得的资金或流动资金(包括现金和可出售证券)偿还短期债务(即未来一年内到期的负债)的能力,通常表现为当前资产与当前负债的比率或百分比。CFO 一般会使用多个财务比率(包括流动比率和速动比率)衡量流动性。

CFO 需要同时管理入账收入和应收账款,同时密切关注付款以及短期和长期负债。对此,实时分析和准确的现金流预测不仅对企业制定长期计划至关重要,而且还有助于确保企业每次都按时支付账单。

战略和预测

CFO 是企业中的关键人物,可以与 CEO 共同影响企业的未来发展方向。在企业内部,CFO 为各个部门提供建议,包括产品开发、新业务模式、数字化转型和人力资本管理建议。在企业外部,CFO 分析市场趋势和业务拓展趋势,而且还会影响各种重要决策,例如全球扩张、并购目标和资本结构。

CFO 使用 FP&A 来分析各种复杂的数据(历史财务数据、最新财务数据和预测财务数据),以探析各种重要问题,帮助 CEO 做出合理的财务决策,例如:

  • 哪些产品和产品线有助于/无益于提高盈利能力?
  • 如果收入下降 10%,企业还能盈利吗?
  • 企业应在房地产、工厂和设备 (PP&E) 上投入多少资金?应在何时投入?
  • 企业是否应寻求新的债务性或权益融资?何时寻求融资?
  • 收购或资产剥离对盈利能力有什么影响?

在创建这些预测时,CFO 会在计算中综合考虑各种因素,包括:

  • 销售趋势
  • 原材料价格
  • 市场需求变化
  • 宏观经济数据
  • 新兴竞争对手
  • 技术进步
  • 企业面临的风险,例如市场、地缘政治、网络威胁和监管变化
  • 环境、社会和治理标准

CFO 通常会购买专业的计划软件来执行预测和假设分析,帮助企业应对各种不确定事件,包括新产品、新业务模式、收购、资产剥离、国际扩张、供应链混乱、经济衰退等等。

CFO 和技术

现实中,CFO 及其团队一般依靠技术的力量来分析大量可用数据。总的来说,CFO 需要利用两种应用来确保财务部门正常运行,分别是财务管理软件FP&A 软件

首先,现代化的云财务管理系统是一个全面集成的应用套件,其中包含核心会计和财务、费用管理、风险管理与合规性、直接和间接采购以及项目组合管理 (PPM)应用。这些云应用内置了机器学习、数字助手以及报告与分析功能。财务管理系统可以自动处理手动或劳动密集型任务,让 CFO 腾出时间专注于战略性和关键咨询任务。同时,自动化的季度更新可确保应用永不过时。

其次,全面的 FP&A 套件(常常与财务管理系统绑定在一起)除了帮助 CFO 开展计划、预算、场景建模和预测工作外,还能提供深入的管理洞察。换句话说,财务管理系统负责处理日常事务性活动,FP&A 系统负责管理企业财务和战略计划,包括分析、理解和报告业务绩效。

借助适当的技术,CFO 可以实现以下目标:

  • 构建统一的财务数据信息源
  • 使用嵌入式分析来衡量整体财务状况,例如现金覆盖比率、流动比率、速动比率以及债务权益比率
  • 创建和维护动态财务模型与预测,为假设场景计划提供支持
  • 自动处理日常任务,从而加快财务关账速度
  • 识别盈利能力最高的产品线和产品
  • 防止未经授权的用户访问并实施职责分离 (SoD),确保遵守本地和国际法规
  • 对比历史数据、预算与预测,执行差异分析

基于云的 FP&A 和财务管理可以帮助 CFO 弥合技术差距,同时,实时数据和分析有助于 CFO 及其团队在适当的时机为企业提供适当的战略决策信息。

CFO 成功的关键

人才 — 赢得人才争夺战

Money and Machines调查报告显示,Z 世代和千禧一代的财务专业人员习惯了在日常生活中使用新兴技术,希望在工作中也采用同样的技术。对于雇主来说,这一点也不令人意外,毕竟 Z 世代是在技术发展的黄金时代中长大的。

这些年轻一代的专业人员希望减少在传统会计工作上花费的时间,腾出更多时间来开展战略和财务计划与分析 (FP&A) 活动。对此,现代化的会计和 FP&A 软件内置了人工智能和机器学习技术,可以自动处理许多单调任务。

同时,基于云的应用也有助于员工随时随地使用任何接入互联网的设备来开展工作。这意味着 CFO 必须慎重选择软件供应商,确保员工能够随时随地在任意设备上安全地开展工作。

数据 — 基于完整数据做出更明智的决策

随着财务的职能范围不断扩大,数据量和复杂性持续以空前的速度增长,CFO 要想取得成功,必须基于数据做出更明智决策。这不仅仅只限于财务数据。财务部门必须全面利用所有类型的数据,包括财务数据、运营数据和外部数据。

想象一下,如果您了解不同地区中客户对您企业产品组合的情绪和购买行为趋势,并利用这些数据来更准确地预测需求和财务绩效,结果会怎样?对此,现代财务系统利用人工智能、机器学习和预测性分析技术来自动执行分析。这将为 CFO 提供切实可行的洞察,帮助 CFO 更快速做出决策并采取行动

报告 — 基于实时业务洞察增强信心

基于云的财务管理系统提供预构建分析特性,可利用机器学习和其他新一代技术帮助 CFO 发现盈利能力的底层驱动因素,从而优化营运资本使用和控制业务成本。借助内置的支出和采购分析功能,企业可以更有效地管理资源。利用可定制、简单易用的指标、仪表盘和报告,业务领导者可以实时洞悉组织的财务状况。通过实时获取洞察,CFO 可以快速响应市场变化、实施新的业务模式以及开展并购工作。

增长 — 可随业务发展而扩展的云平台

现代财务管理软件在云端运行,企业不必担忧升级、定制或服务器维护问题。同时,这些应用的底层基础设施可以按照业务需求灵活扩展和收缩。这使 CFO 可以信心十足地扩展业务,因为他们确信自己的平台可以满足未来增长需求。

如今,CFO 在组织中的重要性日益突显,他们需要带领组织实现可持续的盈利性增长,肩负着更重要的职责和更大的压力。而通过采用适当的技术,CFO 可以成为有力的变革推动者。

We’re sorry. We could not find a match for your search.

We suggest you try the following to help find what you’re looking for:

  • Check the spelling of your keyword search.
  • Use synonyms for the keyword you typed, for example, try "application" instead of "software."
  • Start a new search.
Cloud Account Sign in to Cloud
Oracle Account

What is a chief financial officer (CFO)?

The chief financial officer (CFO) is the highest-ranking finance professional in an organization and is responsible for the financial health of the business. The CFO’s responsibilities include, but are not limited to: regulatory compliance, budgeting, cash-flow management, financial planning and analysis (FP&A), scenario modeling, advising the CEO on potential mergers and acquisitions (M&A) targets, planning for initial public offerings (IPOs), capital budgeting, obtaining debt and equity financing, and handling investor relations. In additional to being a financial custodian, CFOs often advise the CEO and the Board of Directors on the overall strategic direction of the business.

For publicly traded companies in the United States, the CFO is ultimately held responsible for ensuring that the quarterly and annual financial statements are produced in an accurate, nonfraudulent manner to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). This means the financial statements must be produced in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), as set by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB). For businesses abroad, CFOs must ensure the financial statements are produced in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), which are set by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB).

Privately held companies are only required to file with the SEC if they have $10 million or more in assets and 500 or more shareholders, but many private companies create financial statements anyway if they are seeking to raise debt or equity funding.

CFOs also play a central role in enforcing environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) reporting standards, as set by the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) and Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB). As these emerging standards develop and mature, CFOs are becoming more proactive about implementing ESG reporting solutions.

CFO qualifications and skills

The road to becoming a CFO can be a long one, taking an average of ten to 15 years to reach the position. CFOs typically have a background in accounting or finance and an advanced business degree, generally an MBA. In addition to knowledge of GAAP, budgeting, FP&A, and cash-flow management, today's CFO needs to have solid leadership and management skills, as well as industry knowledge and understanding of the organization’s overall business strategy, and be willing to take the lead on finance transformation.

Individuals in this role must forecast and offer strategic direction to the organization based not only on internal data, but also on the external environment—regulatory, market, and macroeconomic—and be able to advise on industry—specific challenges and opportunities.

Focus on your education within finance

As proof of knowledge in the field, obtaining both a bachelor's degree and a master's degree is essential for demonstrating dedication and ability to complete long-term projects. Consider working toward a degree in business administration or finance to learn as much as possible.

Although a strong finance background is very helpful, having an MBA is increasing in importance. An MBA not only solidifies financial acumen, it also provides a strong knowledgebase for strategy and operations. An MBA can help aspirants jump-start their journey to CFO.

Establish a career in finance

While education is important, hands-on experience in the industry is equally so. Since CFOs are focused on the fiscal aspects of business, they may begin by pursuing internships or jobs related to finance, including:

  • Banking
  • Accounting, tax, and audit
  • Consulting
  • Underwriting
  • Financial planning

Develop HR management skills

Even with extensive knowledge and experience in the field of finance, a CFO requires proper management skills. Developing soft skills, such as communication, leadership, and problem-solving, while gaining industry experience will set aspiring CFOs apart from the competition.

Learn about agile finance certification from Oracle and AICPA

The CFO’s team

In many large enterprises, there are several key personnel who directly report to the CFO.

Chief accounting officer (CAO): As the role of CFO has become more demanding and ever-expanding, CAOs often oversee the day-to-day tactical tasks that CFOs once dominated. Chief accounting officers are often tasked with SEC reporting, local and international regulatory compliance, corporate governance, risk management, and environmental, social, and governance (ESG) reporting.

The evolution of the CAO—and what that means for the CFO

Controller: Controllers run day-to-day accounting and finance operations and often hold a certified public accountant (CPA) license or MBA. They are responsible for creating reports that provide insights into a company's financial standing, including accounts receivable, accounts payable, inventory, and payroll. The financial controller often reports directly to the CAO and usually leads a team of accountants, bookkeepers, accounts receivable/payable clerks, and payroll specialists.

Treasurer: The treasurer is responsible for the company's liquidity, debt, and assets—ultimately ensuring that the business remains solvent. That includes any investments the company may have, whether physical assets, such as buildings and equipment, or financial investments.

Director of FP&A: In many large enterprises, the director of financial planning and analysis reports directly to the CFO. Perhaps the most important duty of FP&A teams is to use both current and historical financial data to produce financial forecasts that accurately predict future revenues, expenses, profits, and cash flows. FP&A teams produce reports, both internal and external, to advise the CFO on market expansion, new business models, M&A, divestitures, and capital budgeting, and other areas.

The evolution of the role of the CFO

The CFO’s role has evolved tremendously over the last several decades, expanding beyond reporting and compliance to include business strategy and digital transformation. The main responsibilities in the past were to reduce costs, optimize finance processes, and “keep score” by gathering data, running reports, and summarizing data. But CFOs now focus on supporting business model transformation—not just optimizing finance processes—but automating them. Today’s CFOs have broad, strategic responsibilities. They report directly to the CEO and have a fiduciary responsibility to the Board of Directors and shareholders. CFOs are expected to be not only stewards of the finance department, but also strategic catalysts of company growth.

This is not to say CFOs have relinquished their responsibility for cash-flow management, regulatory compliance, or financial reporting. The CFO is still ultimately held accountable for the financial health of the business—first and foremost.

The key duties of the CFO also vary depending on an organization’s size, industry, and whether or not it’s publicly traded. CFOs generally support and influence three critical functions: controllership, operations, and strategy and forecasting.

Controllership

Though the role of the CFO has greatly expanded, financial stewardship is still a central responsibility of the position. Many large enterprises employ chief accounting officers, but it is still the CFO who is ultimately responsible for regulatory compliance, closing the books in a timely and accurate manner, controlling costs, and managing cash flow across the organization. Partially assuming the role of the financial controller, the CFO is responsible for ensuring that the day-to-day accounting and financial operations are running smoothly. CFOs will also review and approve reports that provide greater insight into the company's financial standing.

When it comes to financial stewardship, part of the CFO’s job is installing a proper risk management framework to protect against fraud and unauthorized user access. Risk management software helps organizations meet compliance and regulatory mandates, such as the Sarbanes-Oxley Act (SOX) and General Data Protection Regulation regulation (GDPR). Closing the books in an accurate, timely manner is also vital for financial stewardship. CFOs are constantly looking for ways to close the books faster using automated account reconciliation software. Not only does this facilitate faster SEC reporting, but it also gives the CFO more time each quarter for budgeting, scenario planning, and M&A strategizing.

Operations

Liquidity and treasury management are also a central part of the CFO’s role. The treasury aspect of the CFO's position includes responsibility for the company's debts, assets, and liquidity. In terms of assets, this includes both physical assets, such as buildings or equipment, but also financial investments. And as for a company's debt, the CFO works to reduce it while ensuring no more is accrued.

Liquidity refers to an organization's ability to pay off its short-term liabilities—those that will come due in less than a year—with readily accessible, or liquid, funds, namely cash and marketable securities. Liquidity is usually expressed as a ratio or a percentage of current assets to current liabilities. CFOs measure liquidity using several financial ratios, including current ratio and quick ratio.

CFOs must manage both incoming revenues and accounts receivables while keeping an eye on outgoing payments and short- and long-term liability. Real-time analytics and accurate cash-flow forecasting is crucial, not only for long-term planning, but also for ensuring a business can pay its bills as they become due—on time, every time.

Strategy and forecasting

CFOs are in a unique position to partner with the CEO to influence the future direction of the company. Internally, the CFO advises departments in a variety of areas, including product development, new business models, digital transformation, and human capital management. Externally, the CFO analyzes market trends and expansions and influences decisions, such as global expansion, M&A targets, and capital structure.

CFOs rely on FP&A to put complex data—historical, current, and predicted financial results—in perspective in order to answer important questions and help the CEO make sound financial decisions, such as:

  • Which products and product lines are driving profitability, and which ones aren’t?
  • If revenue declines by 10%, will the company still be profitable?
  • How much should we invest in property, plant, and equipment (PP&E), and when?
  • Should we raise debt or equity financing, and when?
  • What impact will an acquisition or divestiture have on the bottom line?

When creating these forecasts, the CFO considers a variety of factors in their calculations, including:

  • Sales trends
  • The price of raw materials
  • Shifts in market demand
  • Macroeconomic data
  • Emerging competitors
  • Advances in technology
  • Risks to the enterprise: market, geo-political, cyber threats, and regulatory changes
  • Environmental, social, and governance criteria

CFOs often purchase specialized planning software to develop forecasts and conduct what-if analysis for a variety of contingencies: new products, new business models, acquisitions, divestitures, international expansion, supply chain chaos, economic downturns, and a host of others.

CFOs and technology

CFOs and their teams rely on technology to analyze the massive amounts of data available to them. Fundamentally, there are two different kinds of applications that CFOs need in order to properly run the finance department: financial management software and FP&A software.

A modern, cloud-based financial management system is a fully integrated suite of applications for core accounting and finance, expense management, risk management and compliance, direct and indirect procurement, and project portfolio management (PPM)project portfolio management (PPM). These cloud-based applications have embedded machine learning, digital assistants, and built-in reporting and analytics. A financial management systems automates manual or labor-intensive tasks, freeing up the CFO’s time to focus on strategy and the critical advisory role. Automatic quarterly updates ensure that these applications never become obsolete.

While often tied to financial management systems, a complete FP&A suite provides management insights in addition to planning, budgeting, scenario modeling, and forecasting. In other words, financial management systems handle the day-to-day transactional activity and FP&A systems help manage the financial and strategic plans for the business—analyzing, understanding, and reporting on the business performance.

With the right technology in place, CFOs can:

  • Gain a single source of truth for financial data
  • Use embedded analytics to gauge overall financial health, such as cash-coverage ratio, current ratio, quick ratio, and debt-to-equity ratio
  • Create and maintain dynamic financial models and forecasts, allowing for what-if scenario planning
  • Accelerate the financial close by automating mundane tasks
  • Determine which product lines and products are the most profitable
  • Ensure local and international regulatory-compliance by preventing unauthorized user access and enforcing separation of duties (SoD)
  • Compare historical results against budgets and forecasts and perform variance analysis

Cloud-based FP&A and financial management help CFOs close the technology gap, while real-time data and analytics help CFOs and their teams deliver the right information at the right time for strategic decision-making.

CFO’s keys to success

People—winning the war for talent

According to the survey “Money and Machines,” Gen Z and millennial finance professionals expect employers to leverage the same technologies that they’re accustomed to using in their personal lives. This should come as no surprise to employers; after all, Gen Z has grown up in the golden age of technology.

These young professionals are looking to spend less time on traditional accounting tasks and more time on strategy and financial planning and analysis (FP&A). That’s why modern accounting and FP&A software has built-in AI and machine learning to automate many of these mundane tasks.

Cloud-based applications also make it possible for employees to work from anywhere on any device with an internet connection. CFOs need to be sure that the software vendor they select allows their employees to work securely from anywhere, anytime, on any device.

Data—better decision-making using all data

As the role of finance expands and the volume and complexity of data continues to grow at record pace, the most successful CFOs are those who can harness data to support decision-making. But it’s not just about financial data. Finance needs to leverage all data: financial, operational, and external.

Imagine if you could spot trends in customer sentiment and buying behavior across your product portfolio in different geographies and use that data to more accurately forecast demand and financial performance. Modern financial systems use AI, machine learning, and predictive analytics to automate analysis. This delivers insights to help CFOs make decisions and take action faster.

Reporting—confidence from real-time business insight

Cloud-based financial management systems have prebuilt analytics that leverage machine learning and other next-generation technologies, helping CFOs uncover underlying drivers of profitability, improve the use of working capital, and control business costs. With built-in analytics for spend and procurement, companies become more efficient at managing resources. The customizable, ready-to-use metrics, dashboards, and reports give business leaders real-time insight into their organization’s financial health. Having these insights available in real time gives CFOs the ability to react quickly to market shifts, pursue new business models, or engage in mergers and acquisitions.

Growth—a cloud platform that scales with the business

Because modern financial management software runs in the cloud, organizations never have to worry about upgrades, customizations, or server maintenance. The infrastructure underlying those applications scales up and down according to the needs of the business. CFOs who embrace this technology can scale their business with confidence, knowing they have a platform that can easily handle future growth.

With their profile now higher in the organization, there will certainly be even more pressure on CFOs to lead their organizations to sustainable, profitable growth. But with the right technology in place, CFOs can become effective agents of change.