非常抱歉,您的搜索操作未匹配到任何结果。

我们建议您尝试以下操作,以帮助您找到所需内容:

  • 检查关键词搜索的拼写。
  • 使用同义词代替键入的关键词,例如,尝试使用“应用”代替“软件”。
  • 重新搜索。

什么是数字营销?

数字营销指通过数字媒体渠道(网站、落地页、社交媒体、电子邮件和移动应用)来创建和传播内容,并利用跨付费、口碑和自有数字渠道的各种策略来推广内容,包括 SEO、SEM、点击付费 (PPC) 广告、内容联合、社交、电子邮件、文本等等。

数字营销的重要性

数字营销策略可帮助营销人员定义目标、精准定位目标受众,并制定可有效触达受众的数字营销计划。这些策略可为特定营销活动或营销计划指明方向,为营销结果评估提供一个框架。

如今,一切都已数字化,数字营销已融入到企业的方方面面,从根本上改变了企业与客户沟通以及为客户创造价值的方式。

如果无法在日益庞大的全球在线市场中实施和执行数字营销策略,那么您的企业必将在竞争中落后。

Jay Baer 分享数字营销的秘诀 (1:32)

数字营销策略

跨渠道营销、多渠道营销和全渠道营销都表示跨各种数字渠道和设备与客户/潜在客户互动。从收件箱、社交网络、笔记本电脑、平板电脑到智能手机,如今的消费者可以在这些渠道之间无缝切换,自然也期待企业随时随地提供优质服务和体验。

请查看以下已获得广泛使用的数字营销渠道,确保成功制定跨渠道营销策略。

电子邮件营销

电子邮件营销是最久远、最知名的数字营销形式之一,得到了 B2BB2C 营销人员的广泛使用。通过电子邮件营销,您可以跨各种客户旅程接触点收集客户数据,通过对数据分类来了解潜在客户的偏好,最终获得许可,将潜在客户添加到电子邮件列表。

电子邮件内容一般包括产品和服务的相关信息、公司和活动的最新资讯、个性化产品/服务、客户成功案例、案例研究链接以及技术或业务简报。在电子邮件营销中,确保电子邮件被打开和读取而不是立即删除这一点非常重要,而个性化内容和高度相关的产品/服务可以大幅改善互动。

电子邮件营销兼具艺术性和科学性,您的电子邮件和数字资产应具有足够的吸引力。但是,请把握好发送的电子邮件数量,不宜太多也不宜太少。

视频营销

视频是最强大的数字营销渠道之一。人人都喜欢看视频,喜欢在视频中寻找乐趣和学习知识,也喜欢分享视频。YouTube 的数据显示,每月登录用户数量高达 20 亿以上。无论是 B2B 客户和 B2C 消费者,都通过视频做出购买决策

视频营销可以提升品牌知名度、增加数字流量以及提高转化率。多年以来,博客内嵌视频一直是 B2B 和 B2C 内容营销策略的重要组成部分。

分享视频是让您的内容获得更多关注的关键。因此,您需要充分利用第三方网站(例如 YouTube),在您的网站和社交媒体渠道上推广视频,并鼓励其他人分享您的视频。

最后,请确保您的视频简短且切中要点。由于受众的注意力广度一般都很短,请务必以富有吸引力的方式提供优质内容。

社交媒体营销

社交媒体是一种触达特定受众的绝佳方法,可帮助您直接与客户、潜在客户和合作伙伴建立联系。在现实中,具体选择哪一个社交媒体平台,取决于目标受众。目前,Facebook 是全球最大的社交媒体平台,Twitter 广受 B2B 买家的欢迎,Instagram 和 TikTok 在千禧一代和 Z 世代消费者中十分流行,LinkedIn 则是在购买周期的早期阶段与 B2B 买家建立关系的绝佳平台。

每一个社交媒体平台的内容类型都不尽相同,但都离不开视频/图像。因此,在创建内容时,请始终牢记您希望如何通过社交媒体来分发内容,然后再进行相应的调整。

此外,由于各种其他平台不断涌现,营销人员需要不断调整数字营销策略,充分利用每一个可用平台。例如,TikTok 在 2016 年 9 月前还没有诞生,但现在的用户活跃度已超过 LinkedIn、Twitter、Pinterest 和 Snapchat。

文本消息(SMS 和 MMS)

除了电子邮件营销之外,文本消息是与客户建立联系最为直接的方式。与社交媒体营销一样,只有简明扼要的消息才能发挥营销作用。文本消息总体上可分为两种类型,一种是仅包含文本的短消息服务 (SMS),另一种是包含视频和 gif 的多媒体消息 (MMS)。

内容营销

内容营销支持您以个性化方式触达不同的潜在客户和客户,内容的个性化水平越高,越能激发受众的兴趣和注意力。您的内容应与目标受众的意图和兴趣相一致,应有助于客户互动和转化。

在内容营销中,内容类型包括电子邮件、落地页、信息图、电子书、业务简报、横幅广告、视频、商业广告、时事通讯、新闻稿、文章、博客和数字明信片。同一内容可(且应当)应用于多个渠道,但所有内容都应采用一致的语音和消息。

SEO 和 PPC(或 SEM)

优秀的搜索引擎优化 (SEO) 策略可以优化网站内容(落地页、博客等),确保网站内容更频繁地展示在搜索结果列表顶部,带来更多流量。想要取得出色的 SEO 结果,关键取决于关键字和页面优化。您可以在整个 Web 内容中使用深思熟虑的关键字和长尾关键字(3 个以上的词组),进而改善 SEO,充分提高流量和转化率,还可以与高权威的第三方页面建立有机链接,提高页面排名并吸引潜在客户访问您的内容。

点击付费 (PPC) 指每次点击特定链接时付费。如今的搜索引擎和大多数社交媒体网站都支持 PPC。PPC 广告将显示在您的目标客户和潜在客户的信息流中。

搜索引擎营销 (SEM) 是一种极具影响力的 PPC 广告,即您向搜索引擎付费,使访客搜索特定关键字时,搜索引擎将您的营销消息和链接展示在突出位置。

网站设计和营销

网站通常是潜在客户与您的企业和品牌建立联系的第一个接触点。优秀的 Web 设计不仅能为您的所有数字资产建立一致的品牌形象,还能让您的网站更易于被搜索引擎收录,提供卓越的用户体验并提高转化率(更多点击和注册量等)。

展示广告

营销人员可以在第三方网站上显示强相关广告,触达更多潜在客户。这类广告通常包括横幅广告、侧边栏广告、视频广告和交互式广告,一般会链接至您的某个网站页面或某个落地页。

联盟营销

许多博主和社交媒体红人通过各自的博客和社交媒体帐户来推广产品和服务,都属于联盟营销人员。联盟营销是一种基于绩效的营销类型,联盟营销人员可通过推广产品来获取佣金。简单来说,营销人员带来的访客和客户越多,联盟的收入就越高。

广告

在过去几年中,传统广告媒体经历了翻天覆地的变化。时至今日,Netflix、Hulu、YouTube 等新兴电视平台上可利用创新技术提供更有针对性的媒体购买。但是,请不要完全依赖网络电视和网络电台 — 尽管其他新兴娱乐选项一直层出不穷,但人们仍然喜欢看电视和听广播。

数字营销的工作原理

您可以通过多种方式来开展数字营销活动,采用多种战术、策略和渠道来与受众建立联系。一般来说,数字营销活动包括以下步骤:

1

定义营销目标

数字营销是一个广阔的领域。在开展数字营销活动前,您首先需要确定您的营销目标。您希望提高品牌知名度,获取新客户,还是提高客户保留率和忠诚度?在明确营销目标后,您可以制定您的专属策略和预算,充分提高影响力。

2

识别目标受众

您想吸引哪些人的关注?您收集的目标受众的信息(年龄、位置、收入等)越多,就越容易识别如何与他们建立联系。

3

识别适当的营销渠道和营销策略

在确定目标受众后,下一步是确定如何触达他们以及分配多少预算。如果您是一位 B2C 数字营销人员,希望与更年轻的客户建立联系,您需要将更多预算分配给特定平台上的社交媒体广告,而不是将大多数精力和预算投入到博客运营上。

4

为各个渠道创建和优化内容及消息传递

分析数据,充分了解受众。如果您知道客户更愿意通过手机而不是笔记本电脑来浏览页面,您可以针对手机端浏览进行优化。但这远远不够。客户一般以非线性方式,通过多种渠道与品牌互动,您需要确保所有内容都传达一致的品牌声音和信息。这种一致性可避免客户/潜在客户对您的品牌和您提供的价值产生混淆。

5

衡量营销活动的各种关键指标

衡量关键指标,基于衡量结果进行迭代。如果不使用预定义的关键指标来衡量营销绩效,您就无法确定营销活动是否已达到预期效果,是否需要持续改进。通过持续衡量营销成效,您可以更好地与客户建立联系、提高客户忠诚度以及发展品牌拥趸。

跨渠道数字营销

跨渠道营销(或多渠道营销)指通过多种渠道开展营销,它既包含传统营销,又超越了传统营销。在当今的数字世界中,营销人员需要通过多个渠道来响应受众需求。根据目标客户群,这些渠道一般包括社交媒体、电子邮件、Web、文本、电视和广播等等。关于客户和潜在客户偏好、职位、兴趣的数据越充实,您越能制定完善的营销策略,通过适当的渠道提供适当的内容。

如今客户经常在不同渠道之间切换,例如他们随时会从社交媒体转到网站、数字助手和电子邮件等渠道。您需要响应这一变化,在所有渠道上构建无缝的客户旅程。请注意,您在所有渠道上的语音和消息都应保持一致。支离破碎的跨渠道客户旅程无法吸引客户,请充分提高跨渠道数字营销的一致性。

营销就是讲故事,如果细节信息不同,就会产生各种不和谐和混淆。如果您的语调和声音发生了变化,您的受众可能会无法适应,无法理解您尝试传递的信息,经常会在中途失去耐心。

您应当构建令人愉悦的客户旅程。无论在哪一个渠道上,您的内容都应当易于阅读、浏览和理解:网站应易于导航,广告应易于理解,图像应赏心悦目。

数字营销就是与客户进行数字对话。您需要尽可能为客户留下好的印象,吸引客户与您持续对话。

数字营销 KPI

数字营销关键绩效指标 (KPI) 用于衡量营销活动绩效。数字营销人员可使用多个 KPI 来跟踪营销结果。在制定数字营销策略时,您就需要确定使用哪些 KPI。藉此,您可以更轻松地确定营销目标,更轻松地衡量营销活动绩效,例如:

  • 网站回访者:即返回您的网站/落地页以查看更多内容或执行特定操作的访客,可指示互动水平。
  • 首次访问:可指示受众如何找到您的网站及第一次访问时的互动水平。
  • Web 流量来源:可指示受众如何找到您的网站/落地页。
  • 总访问量:您网站的访客的单次浏览会话数。
  • 总唯一访问量:访问过您的网站/落地页面的总人数。
  • 点击通过率 (CTR):点击 CTA 或链接的访客百分比。
  • 页面平均停留时间:所有用户在单一页面上的平均停留时间。
  • 营销投资回报率 (ROI):营销活动相比运营成本所创造的收入。

您可以使用数百种 KPI 来衡量数字营销结果,具体取决于您的营销活动类型。要了解更多信息,请继续阅读:

哪种类型的数字营销最有效?

数字营销适用于所有企业和所有行业,但并没有一种普适的数字营销方法,不同的企业要使用不同的数字策略来实现营销目标。具体而言,最佳数字营销策略取决于营销团队规模、预算、目标受众和业务目标等一系列因素。

中小型企业 (SMB) 可以制定有机 SEO 策略、社交媒体策略、电子邮件营销活动和博客日历,这些策略几乎不需要投资。

大型企业则通常要采用付费计划以实现更广泛的业务目标,例如数字资产联合、网络研讨会/网播、基于客户的营销 (ABM) 以及付费媒体或 PPC 营销。

数字营销与数字媒体对比

数字营销是一系列活动和策略的集合,数字媒体指一系列表单、格式和平台,包括:

  • 电子邮件
  • SMS 和 MMS
  • 应用内通知/推送通知
  • 社交媒体(Instagram、TikTok、LinkedIn、Facebook、Snapchat、Twitter、Pinterest)
  • 音频(Spotify、Pandora 和 Apple Music)
  • 数字广告(横幅广告、弹出式广告)
  • 视频(YouTube、Netflix 和 Hulu)

数字营销人员可利用数字媒体与客户建立联系。换句话说,数字营销是策略,数字媒体是方式。

数字营销与互联网营销对比

数字营销和互联网营销略有不同,但两者之间存在重叠。数字营销指基于一系列数字媒体渠道的一系列营销活动和营销战术。

互联网营销是数字营销的一个子集,需要通过互联网来获取销售线索。所有互联网营销都是数字营销,但并非所有数字营销都是互联网营销,例如电视广告、数字广告牌、广播广告和文本消息 (SMS) 是数字营销,但不是互联网营销。

数字营销与入站营销对比

与数字营销相比,入站营销是一种更紧密的战略,由一些旨在将潜在客户引向您的内容/数字资产的数字营销策略构成。入站营销是指标驱动的,侧重于引入客户和推动客户“通过”销售漏斗,最终生成营销合格销售线索 (MQL) 和销售线索转化。

数字营销的优势

数字营销策略可在客户沿着独特的购买旅程前进时帮助企业与客户直接沟通,可以帮助富有创造力的营销人员在客户青睐的渠道上适时提供适当的内容和产品。而利用数字营销 KPI,营销人员可以了解哪些策略有效及其具体效果,从而持续改进、改善客户互动以及提高营销投资回报率。

出色的数字营销对客户和企业都是有益的。通过为每一位客户提供个性化内容和产品/服务,客户会感知到您的品牌了解他的需求,能够提供有价值的服务或产品。这最终将增强客户对您的信赖,促使客户成为您品牌的忠实粉丝。数字营销能够为企业提供多重优势,包括:

  • 提高覆盖度:大多数客户都通过多种数字渠道开启线上购买旅程。
  • 精准定位:营销人员可利用 SEO 和社交媒体策略来触达更加合格的购买者,进而提高转化率、收入和品牌支持度。
  • 敏捷性:如果您的目标发生变化,您可以更轻松地调整数字营销策略。
  • 可衡量性:数字营销具有更强大的归因性,营销人员可以更好地了解哪些策略能够真正推动增长。
了解更多:Mack Trucks 利用数字营销创造历史

数字营销:B2B 与 B2C 对比

数字营销的最终目标是推动客户或买方购买产品/服务。与传统营销策略相比,数字营销让 B2B 和 B2C 营销团队能够与更广泛的受众互动,能够精准定位相关度更高的潜在客户,提高营销投资回报率。

B2B 数字营销

B2B 数字营销的主要目标是为 B2B 销售团队提供高质量的销售线索,提高转化率。由于产品/服务更加复杂、成本更高且需要更多人参与,B2B 购买周期通常较长。

例如,企业可能会向多种行业或垂直行业的客户销售同一产品,每一个客户都有各自的利益相关方,会在多个渠道上与企业互动,这就要求各个业务部门高度协调。

B2B 数字营销团队一般需要通过以业务为中心的渠道开展营销,例如电子邮件、网播、视频、LinkedIn 和 Twitter。

B2C 数字营销

B2C 数字营销的主要目标是提升网站流量和内容可见性,促使潜在客户和客户发现您的品牌并与您互动。B2C 数字营销团队应当选择以消费者为中心的渠道,藉此 B2C 买家更有可能发现您的品牌,与您互动。

数字营销的未来

移动技术将对数字营销产生巨大的影响。消费者行为不断变化,如今的客户对企业和品牌的期望更高。在这一背景下,微时刻将发挥重要作用。什么是微时刻?微时刻让消费者能够一键与品牌实时互动。目前,数字营销人员面临的难题在于如何在微时刻向受众传递高度相关的营销消息,为受众生活增色添彩而不是形成干扰。

如今,客户期望在所有渠道上获得独特、互联、无缝的体验,即时获得满足。您只能利用稍纵即逝的微时刻来吸引受众注意力,向受众传递强有力的信息并提供愉悦、引人入胜的体验。如果做不到这一点,那么受众就会选择能够满足自身需求的其他品牌。面对这种全新的形势,传统的营销方法已经过时了。

现代营销人员需要采用移动优先的方法来吸引全球受众。请注意以下几点:

  • 客户希望获得个性化的对待。
  • 客户占据主导地位,将决定何时何地以及如何与您的品牌互动。他们希望获得顺畅的体验,能够通过任意渠道与您的品牌对话并无缝切换到其他渠道。
  • 客户希望能够在最短的时间内,以最便捷的方式获得服务。
  • B2C 与 B2B 之间的壁垒正在瓦解。如今人们习惯了 B2C 的愉悦体验,因此对 B2B 也寄予了同样甚至更高的期望。事实上,无论是 B2B 还是 B2C,营销的本质是不变的,甚至可以统称为 B2ME。

未来已来,正在所有人的眼前一一发生。而落后的代价是不可承受的,您最好能抢占先机。

明智、精明的数字营销人员可以采取哪些行动

  • 数据优先。通过提高数据流动性和更加充分地利用所有可用数据,您可以更加深入地理解客户、预测客户需求,甚至为客户节约时间。
  • 充分提高自动化和智能化水平。您需要利用营销自动化技术来实时捕获海量数据,实时为客户提供服务。
  • 您需要采用别具一格、有针对性的独有方式来对待每一位客户,需要充分利用从微时刻捕获的智能,构建更加全面的客户视图,最终为客户提供互联互通的优质体验。
  • 全渠道流动性。当客户在不同渠道之间切换时,您需要随时随地通过任意渠道与客户互动。

No results found

Your search did not match any results.

We suggest you try the following to help find what you’re looking for:

  • Check the spelling of your keyword search.
  • Use synonyms for the keyword you typed, for example, try “application” instead of “software.”
  • Try one of the popular searches shown below.
  • Start a new search.
Trending Questions
 

Digital marketing defined

Digital marketing refers to the creation and dissemination of content through digital media channels—websites, landing pages, video/digital images, social media, email, mobile applications—and the promotion of that content using a variety of strategies—SEO, SEM, pay-per-click advertising, social.

What is a digital marketing strategy and why is one needed?

Digital marketing strategies help marketers define goals, target an audience, and develop a digital marketing plan that best reaches that audience. These strategies provide direction for a given campaign or program and a framework for evaluating outcomes.

Today everything is digital, and digital marketing has been integrated into almost every aspect of business, fundamentally changing how companies communicate with and deliver value to customers.

If organizations cannot implement and execute a digital marketing strategy in today’s constantly changing world, they will not be able to compete.

Digital marketing channels—A cross-channel strategy

Email marketing

Email marketing is one of the oldest and best-known forms of digital marketing. It’s used by B2B and B2C marketers alike. With email marketing, you collect customer data across various customer touchpoints, classify it to understand your potential customers’ preferences, and ultimately get permission to add them to your email list(s).

Email content can include information about your products and services, news about your company and events, personalized offers, customer success stories, links to case studies, technical or business briefs, and more. Value is critical to ensure that your emails are opened and read—and not deleted right away. Personalized content and relevant offers go a long way to boost engagement..

Email marketing is part art and part science. Your emails and digital assets need to be appealing and engaging, but there needs to be a balance between sending too many emails and not sending enough.

Video marketing

Video is one of the most powerful digital marketing channels available. People love video. They watch videos for fun and research, and they share videos. In fact, YouTube reported more than two billion monthly logged-in viewers. Both B2B buyers and B2C consumers make buying decisions thanks to video.

Video marketing builds brand awareness, boosts digital traffic, and increases conversion rates. Videos embedded into blog content have been a cornerstone of both B2B and B2C content marketing strategies for years.

Sharing video is the key to more eyes landing on your content. That’s why you’ll want to leverage third-party sites, such as YouTube, and promote videos on your website and social media channels. Encourage others to share your videos.

Keep your videos short and to the point. Attention spans are short, so the key is to provide great content in an engaging manner.

Social media marketing

Social media is a great way to reach a specific, targeted audience and connect directly with customers, potential customers, and partners. Which social media platform(s) you use depends on who you want to target. Facebook is still the largest social media platform worldwide. Twitter is still popular with B2B buyers. Instagram and TikTok are incredibly popular with millennial and Gen Z consumers, and LinkedIn is a great place to connect with B2B buyers in the early stages of the buying cycle.

Every social media platform features different types of content, but all are very video/image-focused. So as you create content, always keep in mind how you want to distribute it through social media. Then create or adjust accordingly.

Different platforms will continue to emerge, so marketers must continuously adapt digital marketing tactics to make the most of every platform available. For example, TikTok didn’t exist before September 2016, and today it has more active users than LinkedIn, Twitter, Pinterest, and Snapchat.

Text messages (SMS and MMS)

Next to email marketing, text messaging is the most direct way to reach customers, but, like social media, messages must be concise to be effective. Marketing teams can leverage short message services (SMS) that are text only or multimedia messages (MMS) that can include videos and gifs.

Content marketing

Content marketing lets you personalize your outreach to different prospects and customers as you present your message. The more personalized your content, the more likely it will interest, intrigue, and hold the person’s attention. However, your content must align with your targeted audience’s intent and interest; it must provide some value to drive engagement and conversions.

Types of content can include email copy, landing page copy/layout, infographics, ebooks, business briefs, banner ad copy/design, videos, text messages, commercials, newsletters, press releases, articles, blogs, and digital postcards. Content can (and should) be used across channels, but all of your content should have a consistent voice and message.

SEO and PPC

A good search engine optimization (SEO) strategy optimizes website content (landing pages, blogs, etc.) so that it appears higher and more often in search results, driving traffic to your content. Good SEO results depend on keywords and page optimization. Using researched keywords and long-tail keywords (3+ word phrases) throughout web content will improve SEO and provide the highest results in terms of traffic and conversion. Organically linking from high authority third-party pages is another way to improve page rank and drive potential customers to your content.

Pay-per-click (PPC) advertising refers to paying for each click on a specific link. Search engines and most social media sites offer PPC opportunities. PPC ads will appear in your targeted customers’ and prospective customers’ feeds.

Search engine marketing (SEM) is a type of PPC advertising that can be quite impactful. It involves paying a search engine to show marketing messages (copy) and a link in a prominent position when visitors search on specific keywords.

Website design and marketing

Your website is often the first point of contact potential customers have of your company and your brand. Great web design can promote the consistent branding of all digital assets. It should also make your website more search engine friendly, provide a great user experience, and improve the conversion rate (more clicks, sign-ups, etc.)

Display advertising

Marketers can display relevant advertising on third-party sites to reach more prospects. Such ads can include banners, sidebar boxes, video ads, and interactive ads that link back to one of your websites or landing pages.

Affiliate marketing

Many bloggers and social media influencers are affiliate marketers, as they use their blogs and social media accounts to promote different products and services. It is a performance-based type of marketing. Affiliate marketers earn a commission for promoting certain products. The more visitors and customers these marketers bring in, the more money the affiliate will earn.

Advertising

Smartphones and smart TVs are great platforms for advertising, but these channels have changed in the last few years. Instead of purchasing ad spots through a TV network or radio station, marketers now focus on services such as Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, Spotify, and others.

The basics of email marketing

The basics of email marketing

In its simplest form, email marketing encompasses sending emails and tracking recipient behavior to understand how to engage customers most effectively.

Marketers first select an email service provider (ESP) or CRM to build automated email campaigns. Then, they build an email marketing list and target a subsegment of that list appropriate to the type of campaign they want to launch.

After an email campaign launches, marketers can track metrics—open rates, click rates, unsubscribe rates, and bounce rates—to continuously improve email deliverability and customer engagement.

How does digital marketing work?

Digital marketing involves the following broad steps:

1. Define your goals.

Digital marketing is a wide-ranging field. So it’s important to establish your goals before starting a digital marketing campaign. For example, do you want to build brand awareness? Acquire new customers? Focus on retention and customer loyalty? Outlining goals helps you tailor your strategy and budget to maximize your impact.

2. Identify your target audience.

Whose attention are you trying to get? Knowing who you want provides you with the information you need to complete the next step—determining how to connect with them.

3. Identify the right channels and tactics.

Now that you know who you want to reach, you need to decide how (and for how much) you want to reach them. Suppose you’re a B2C digital marketer trying to connect with younger customers. In that case, you might allocate more of your budget to social media advertising on specific platforms rather than put the majority of your efforts (and money) into blog publishing.

4. Develop and optimize content and messaging for each channel.

Analyze your data and try to find out as much as you can about your audience. For example, if you know your customers prefer browsing on their phone versus a laptop, the content they receive will need to be optimized for mobile viewing. But that may not be enough. Customers interact with brands across a variety of channels in a nonlinear fashion. So you need to make sure that every piece of content has a consistent brand voice and messaging. Consistency prevents confusion about what your brand is and the value you provide.

5. Measure across key metrics and iterate based on those results.

Measure across key metrics and iterate based on those results. If you don’t measure your performance based on the key metrics you defined earlier, how will you know whether you’re doing well or continuously improving? Measuring results over time ensures that you’re connecting with customers, driving loyalty, and building brand advocacy

Imperative of cross-channel orchestration in digital marketing

Cross-channel marketing—or multichannel marketing—involves the use of a variety of different channels. Cross-channel marketing goes beyond (and also embraces) traditional marketing. In this digital world, a marketer has to use multiple channels to keep up with what audiences want. Depending upon your targeted customer base, you might need to use a variety of channels: social media, email, web, text, TV, and radio. The more data you have about your customers’ and prospects’ preferences, positions, and interests, the better you can craft a marketing strategy with the right content delivered over the right channels.

Customers like jumping from channel to channel. They can go from social media to a website to a digital assistant to email in no time at all. You have to keep up with them and provide a seamless customer journey across all channels. Keep in mind that all your channels need to align with your voice and message. A disjointed customer journey across different channels turns customers off. Strive for consistency in your digital cross-channel marketing.

Marketing is storytelling. How jarring and confusing would it be if the details were different? If the tone and voice changed? Your audience would not be able to keep up. They might not understand the message you’re trying to get across—and won’t stick around to hear how the story ends.

The customer journey should be a pleasant one. Content needs to be easily read, viewed, and digested, no matter the channel. Websites should be easy to navigate, ads easy to understand, and graphics pleasing to the eye.

Digital marketing is about having a digital conversation with your customers. You want to make the best impression possible so that they will keep talking to you.

What are some common digital marketing KPIs?

Digital marketing key performance indicators (KPIs) are used to measure marketing campaign performance. Digital marketers can use a number of KPIs to track results. Determining which specific digital marketing KPIs to use as you work through your strategy makes it easier to determine targets and goals and measure performance.

Here are some possibilities:

  • Returning visitors to website. Indicates engagement because visitors are coming back to your website/landing page to consume more content or take a specific action.
  • First visit. Understand how people are finding your website and how engaged they are once they do.
  • Web traffic sources. Shows how people are finding your website/landing page.
  • Total visits. The number of single browsing sessions by individual visitors to your site.
  • Total unique visits. The number of people who have visited your website/landing page.
  • Click-through rate. The percentage of people who clicked on a CTA or link.
  • Average time on page. The average amount of time all users spend on a single page.
  • Marketing ROI (return on investment). How much revenue a marketing campaign is earning compared to the cost of running that campaign.

There are hundreds of possible KPIs you can use, depending on the types of campaigns you run. To learn more, continue reading:

What are some common digital marketing KPIs?

Which type of digital marketing is best?

Digital marketing works for every business and all industries, but there is no one-size-fits-all approach. Different companies need to use different digital tactics to achieve their goals. The best tactics depend on several factors, such as your marketing team's size, budget, target audience, and business goals.

Small-to-medium businesses (SMBs) may develop organic SEO strategies, social media strategies, email marketing campaigns, and blogging calendars since these tactics require little to no investment.

Larger companies usually expand into paid programs to deliver on broader business goals. These tactics could include syndicating digital assets, producing webinars/webcasts, focusing on account-based marketing (ABM), and investing in paid media or PPC marketing.

Digital marketing vs. digital media

Digital marketing is a set of activities or tactics. Digital media refers to a set of forms, formats, and platforms that include:

  • Emails
  • SMS and MMS
  • In-app/push notifications
  • Social media (Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter, Pinterest)
  • Audio (Spotify, Pandora, Apple Music)
  • Digital advertising (banner ads, pop-up ads)
  • Video (YouTube, Netflix, Hulu)

Digital marketers use digital media to connect with customers. Put another way, digital marketing is the strategy and digital media is the means.

Digital marketing vs. internet marketing

Digital marketing and internet marketing are slightly different, although there is overlap between the two. Digital marketing refers to a set of activities and tactics that use a variety of digital media channels.

Internet marketing is a subset of digital marketing; it requires the internet to connect to leads. All forms of internet marketing are digital marketing, but not all forms of digital marketing are internet marketing. For example, TV ads, digital billboards, radio ads, and text messages (SMS) fall under digital marketing but not internet marketing.

Digital marketing vs. inbound marketing

Compared to digital marketing, inbound marketing is more of a cohesive strategy comprised of some digital marketing tactics used to try and bring potential customers to the content/digital asset that is being offered. Inbound marketing is very metrics-driven, focusing bring in and then on pushing customers through the sales funnel, ultimately driving marketing qualified leads (MQLs) and conversions.

Importance of digital marketing

Digital marketing tactics enable direct communication between companies and their customers, as those customers travel along their unique buying journey. Digital marketing helps innovative marketers deliver the right content and offers at the right time, on the channels where customers spend most of their time. With the use of digital marketing KPIs, marketers can understand what strategies worked and how well they worked, helping to drive continuous improvement, boosting customer engagement, and improving marketing ROI.

Benefits of digital marketing

Done well, digital marketing benefits both customers and companies. By appropriately personalizing content and offers to each individual, customers feel that your brand understands their needs and can provide them with a valuable service or product. This ultimately deepens their trust, turning them into loyal brand advocates. There are many advantages of digital marketing for companies as well. These include:

  • Increased reach. Most people start their buying journeys online, across a variety of different digital channels.
  • Precise targeting. Marketers can reach more qualified buyers by leveraging SEO and social media strategies. This, in turn, boosts conversions, revenue, and brand advocacy.
  • Agility. It’s typically easier to amend digital marketing tactics if your goals change.
  • Measurability. Digital marketing provides a greater degree of attribution so that marketers know which tactics truly drive growth.
Read more: Digital marketing makes history at Mack Trucks

What is the role of digital marketing in B2B and B2C marketing?

The ultimate goal of digital marketing is to drive a customer or buyer towards a purchase. Digital marketing lets both B2B and B2C marketing teams engage with a broader audience than possible through more traditional marketing tactics. They can also target more relevant potential customers, boosting marketing ROI.

B2B digital marketing

B2B digital marketing's primary goal is to drive high-quality leads to B2B sales teams, ensuring higher conversion rates. B2B buying cycles are often lengthy since the products/services are more complex, expensive, and require the involvement of more people.

For example, the same product may be sold across different industries or verticals, and every account will have different stakeholders who often engage on multiple channels. The amount of coordination needed among lines of businesses is high.

Channels commonly used by B2B digital marketing teams are business-focused, such as email, webcasts, video, LinkedIn, and Twitter.

B2C digital marketing

B2C digital marketing's primary goal is to get potential customers and customers to discover and engage with your brand by increasing your website's traffic and increasing your content's visibility. B2C digital marketing teams should choose consumer-focused channels, where B2C buyers are more likely to discover and engage with your brand.

The future of digital marketing