FAQ sur la migration d'Oracle Database to OCI

Lancez-vous

Quelle est la stratégie d'Oracle en matière de migration de bases de données ?

Oracle s'engage à fournir un parcours de mise à niveau et de migration simple, automatisé et sans interruption de chacune des versions de notre base de données vers les nouvelles versions et plateformes. Nos méthodes de migration répondent à un large éventail de besoins opérationnels, de la sauvegarde et de la restauration hors ligne traditionnelles aux opérations sans temps d'arrêt en ligne plus complexes.

Où puis-je trouver des informations plus précises sur la migration Oracle Database ?

Dans le premier lien ci-dessous, vous trouverez un aperçu des étapes de migration, des outils de conseil en planification, des illustrations des workflows de méthode de migration prédéfinis et des technologies qui la composent. Chacune des méthodes de migration comporte une présentation, une architecture de référence, des guides pas à pas techniques, des revues de processus Oracle LiveLab et de la documentation.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les sites de référence suivants :


Terminologie

Quelle est la différence entre une migration et une mise à niveau ?

Une mise à niveau de base de données, telle que la mise à niveau d'Oracle 19c vers Oracle 23c, met à jour le système logiciel de base de données et les métadonnées client associées mais laisse les données client en l'état. Une migration de base de données déplace les données vers une nouvelle plateforme, telle que la migration de serveurs on-premises vers les services Oracle Database Cloud sur OCI et Cloud@Customer.

En général, les migrations de versions antérieures à celles plus récentes, sur l'ensemble des systèmes d'exploitation, et les migrations de jeux de caractères nécessitent également des mises à niveau. Cependant, il existe une certaine flexibilité dans la séquence d'exécution des mises à niveau ; elles peuvent se produire avant, pendant ou après une migration. Cette décision de séquence dépend des techniques et des facteurs métier décrits dans le Guide de mise à niveau d'Oracle Database (PDF) et l'Outil Cloud Premigration Advisor.

Quelles sont les méthodes de migration d'Oracle ?

Oracle prend en charge quatre méthodes de migration.

Déplacement de données La continuité des activités (en ligne) La continuité des activités (hors ligne)
Physique
Logique

Les choix de la continuité des activités permet aux applications de rester en ligne pendant la migration. Les méthodes en ligne signifient qu'après un chargement initial de données plus anciennes, les données plus récentes sont capturées en temps réel, puis appliquées de manière incrémentielle à la base de données cible. Au moment opportun, une permutation finale se produit et la base de données cible migrée devient la seule base de données. Une méthode hors ligne signifie que la base de données est migrée en une seule opération.

Les choix de déplacement de données offrent un compromis entre rapidité et flexibilité. La méthode physique permet des migrations avec un temps d'inactivité minimal à zéro et s'appuie sur Oracle Recovery Manager et Oracle Data Guard, généralement utilisés pour les sauvegardes incrémentielles et les fonctionnalités de récupération avec tolérance aux pannes. La méthode logique est nécessaire pour les mises à niveau de version et les modifications de plateforme car elle exporte les données dans un format lisible qui permet de gérer les données et les métadonnées lors d'un workflow de migration.

Ces méthodes de migration sont décrites dans la présentation technique de Zero Downtime Migration.


Stratégie

Quels sont les cas d’utilisation de migration typiques ?

Il existe de nombreuses raisons commerciales et techniques pour migrer les bases de données, telles que la réduction du coût de possession avec la mise à l'échelle automatique des ressources ou la réduction des risques commerciaux en augmentant l'automatisation de l'administration et de la sécurité. Avec les bases de données Oracle, la migration de l'environnement on-premises vers le cloud offre de nombreuses options de service géré, telles qu'Oracle Base Database Service (Standard Edition ou Enterprise Edition), Oracle Exadata, Oracle Autonomous Database et Oracle Cloud@Customer.

Cas d'utilisation du cloud Réduisez le coût total de possession Réduire les risques pour l’entreprise
  • Migration des applications de production
  • Réplication des données pour le développement et le test
  • Mise à disposition de bases de données de secours
  • Élimination du renouvellement du matériel
  • Mis à l'échelle automatique des ressources
  • Réduction des tâches d'administration
  • Garantie d'une haute disponibilité
  • Augmentation de l'automatisation alimentée par le machine learning
  • Renforcement des protections de sécurité
Voici quelques exemples de cas d'utilisation de la migration Oracle Cloud Infrastructure et les avantages qui y sont associés.

Comment choisir la meilleure stratégie de migration ?

La meilleure stratégie de migration tient compte des facteurs de planification techniques et commerciaux. Oracle propose des solutions automatisées qui simplifient et rationalisent les workflows de mise à niveau et de migration à l'aide des utilitaires Oracle intégrés, des options Oracle Database et des produits de support. Les administrateurs de base de données peuvent également concevoir leurs propres workflows de migration à l'aide des mêmes utilitaires d'Oracle Database. Les outils de conseil en planification d'Oracle recommandent la meilleure méthode de migration pour presque tous les scénarios. N'oubliez pas qu'Oracle et ses partenaires sont d'excellentes ressources pour vous aider à choisir la meilleure stratégie.

Outils de conseil en planification Facteurs commerciaux Facteurs techniques
  • Évaluation de l'ensemble des bases de données
  • Conseils sur la sélection des services cloud
  • Conseils sur les méthodes de migration
  • Diagnostics de compatibilité des bases de données
  • Temps d'arrêt
  • Performances
  • Impact de l'application
  • Simplicité
  • Version et plateforme
  • Fonctionnalités avancées
  • Taille de la base de données
  • Compétences du DBA

Quelle doit être ma base de données cible ?

Votre meilleure base de données cible doit répondre à vos besoins opérationnels, économiques et de coût de possession. Les exigences standard comprennent la diminution des perturbations des opérations en cours, l'amélioration des performances, de l'évolutivité et de la reprise après sinistre, ainsi que la réduction du coût total de possession global et des coûts horaires d'exécution.

D'un côté, vous pouvez simplement migrer vers un service cloud équivalent pour vos plateformes on-premises, telles qu'Oracle Base Database Service ou Oracle Exadata Cloud Service. Vous pouvez également mettre à niveau votre plateforme d'exploitation de base de données et tirer parti d'Oracle Exadata, leader du secteur du traitement des transactions, de la consolidation de base de données et de l'entreposage de données, ou d'Oracle Autonomous Database sur la plateforme Exadata, en ajoutant davantage d'automatisation et en réduisant votre coût de possession.

Comparez les solutions de base de données Oracle Cloud pour faire correspondre vos exigences à la base de données et à la plateforme appropriées, puis affinez vos choix avec l'aide des outils de conseil sur les services des bases de données.

Existe-t-il un moyen efficace d'évaluer la complexité de la migration pour l'ensemble de mon parc de bases de données ?

Oui. Oracle Estate Explorer répertorie et analyse les bases de données de votre parc et évalue en toute sécurité ses caractéristiques techniques pour la migration vers la plateforme Autonomous Database. Vous pouvez évaluer votre parc de bases de données derrière votre pare-feu sans partager de données ou de métadonnées avec Oracle.


Questions fréquentes

Quelle est la différence entre Recovery Manager et Data Pump pour le transfert de données en tant que méthode de migration ?

Oracle Recovery Manager est l'utilitaire de sauvegarde, de restauration et de récupération d'Oracle Database. L'une de ses principales fonctionnalités est qu'elle capture également les sauvegardes incrémentielles, c'est-à-dire les modifications apportées à la base de données source après le début du processus de sauvegarde. Oracle RMAN est utilisé pour les méthodes de migration physique.

Data Pump est utilisé pour exporter des données et ses métadonnées dans XML. Toutefois, contrairement à Oracle RMAN, les nouvelles transactions à la source ne sont pas capturées une fois que le processus d'export (sauvegarde) a commencé. Cette méthode est utile pour transférer les données et leurs métadonnées lorsque la base de données source est hors ligne ou si la migration inclut une mise à niveau de base de données. Data Pump est utilisé pour les méthodes de migration logique.

Real Application Testing ou SQL Performance Analyzer est-il utile dans les workflows de migration ?

Oui. Oracle Real Application Testing est une option d'Oracle Database utile pour valider les migrations et disponible indépendamment d'Enterprise Manager. Il inclut SQL Performance Analyzer et Database Replay. La licence est requise lors de l'utilisation de cette option avec les bases de données on-premises. Veuillez vous reporter aux informations de licence, section 1.4, tableaux 1 à 15 d'Oracle Real Application Testing.

En outre, Enterprise Manager inclut un pack de gestion Real Application Testing complémentaire qui comporte cinq fonctionnalités clés : Database Replay, SQL Performance Analyzer (SPA), Workload Analysis, Database Migration Planner et Database Migration Workbench. Trouvez les informations de licence du pack de gestion Real Application Testing ici.

La console de migration de base de données d'Enterprise Manager intègre SQL Performance Analyzer dans ses workflows de migration. Si Real Application Testing est présent, les options de menu de SQL Performance Analyzer dans la console de migration de base de données Enterprise Manager deviennent disponibles.

Puis-je utiliser les licences de base de données on-premises de mon entreprise sur OCI ?

Le programme Bring Your Own License (BYOL) offre des avantages financiers et fonctionnels complets qui vous permettent de dépenser moins et d'en faire plus lors de la migration de vos licences de base de données vers les services cloud OCI Database. Le transfert de licence est conçu pour vous aider à moderniser vos investissements Oracle tout en améliorant votre rapport prix-performances et en réduisant votre coût total de possession. Oracle Support Rewards est un avantage complémentaire qui propose des crédits de support annuels pour chaque dollar dépensé sur OCI. Oracle réduit également les risques de migration grâce à l'automatisation et aux services d'Oracle et de tiers.

En savoir plus dans les descriptions des services de crédits universels Oracle PaaS et IaaS et la FAQ sur BYOL.

Oracle Database Migration to OCI FAQ

Getting started

What is Oracle’s strategy for database migration?

Oracle is committed to providing a simple, automated, and nondisruptive upgrade and migration path from every version of our Database to the latest versions and platforms. Our migration methods handle a wide spectrum of operational needs, from traditional offline backup and restore to more sophisticated online zero downtime operations.

Where can I find specific information about Oracle Database migration?

The first link below provides an overview of migration steps, planning advisors, illustrations of prebuilt migration method workflows, and their component technologies. You’ll find that each migration method has an overview, reference architecture, technical step-by-step guides, Oracle LiveLab walkthroughs, and documentation.

Learn more at these reference sites:


Terminology

What is the difference between a migration and an upgrade?

A database upgrade, such as upgrading from Oracle 19c to Oracle 23c, updates the database software system and associated customer metadata but leaves customer data in place. Alternatively, a database migration moves data onto a new platform, such as migrating from on-premises servers to Oracle Database Cloud Services on OCI and Cloud@Customer.

Typically, migrations from older to newer versions, across operating systems, and character set migrations also require upgrades. However, there is some flexibility in the sequence of performing upgrades; they can happen before, during, or after a migration. This sequence decision will be based on both business and technical factors as described in the Oracle Database Upgrade Guide (PDF) and the Cloud Premigration Advisor Tool.

What are Oracle’s migration methods?

Business continuity is a key driver in choosing a logical or physical migration method.

Business continuity Logical method Physical method
Online
Offline
Optimizes migration flexibility Optimizes migration speed

Online methods allow applications to remain operational during the migration. After an initial load of older data, newer data is captured in real time and then incrementally applied to the target database. At an appropriate point in time, a final switchover occurs, and the migrated target database becomes the operational database.

In an offline method, applications are not operational, and the database is migrated in one operation.

Data movement choices offer a tradeoff between backup/recovery speed and flexibility. The physical method is based on minimal to zero downtime fault-tolerant recovery capabilities using Recovery Manager and Oracle Data Guard. While this is the fastest method, it also requires that the source and target databases share identical characteristics, such as versions or character sets. The logical method is based on more flexible export and import capabilities, allowing for database configuration and version differences as data moves from source to target. Logical methods use Oracle Data Pump and Oracle GoldenGate.

Both physical and logical migrations also have a consequential performance impact based on how they write data to storage. The physical method reads and restores data by storage blocks, retaining gaps within the database files. This is efficient for backup/recovery speed, but not ongoing operational performance. The benefit of the logical method is that records are written contiguously—eliminating gaps. Since optimal performance is to have contiguous space to minimize random reads, the logical method has this advantage.

See this blog for additional technical discussion.


Strategy

What are the typical migration use cases?

There are many business and technical reasons to migrate databases, such as lowering the cost of ownership with automatically scaling resources or reducing business risk by increasing administrative and security automation. With Oracle Databases, migrating from on-premises to the cloud offers many managed service options, such as Oracle Base Database Service (Standard Edition or Enterprise Edition), Oracle Exadata, Oracle Autonomous Database, and Oracle Cloud@Customer.

Cloud use cases Reduce TCO Reduce business risk
  • Migrate production applications
  • Replicate data for dev and test
  • Provide standby databases
  • Eliminate hardware refresh
  • Automatically scale resources
  • Reduce administrative tasks
  • Provide high availability
  • Increase ML-driven automation
  • Increase security protections
A few examples of Oracle Cloud Infrastructure migration use cases and the associated business benefits.

How do I choose the best migration strategy?

The best migration strategy considers business and technical planning factors. Oracle offers automated solutions that simplify and streamline upgrade and migration workflows using embedded Oracle utilities, Oracle Database options, and supporting products. DBAs can also engineer their own migration workflows using the same Oracle Database utilities. Oracle planning advisors recommend the best migration method for nearly every scenario. And remember, Oracle and its partners are great resources to help you choose the best strategy.

Planning advisors Business factors Technical factors
  • Database estates
  • Database services
  • Migration methods
  • Database compatibility
  • Downtime
  • Performance
  • Application impact
  • Simplicity
  • Version and platform
  • Advanced features
  • Database size
  • DBA skills

What should my target database be?

Your best target database should match your operational, economical, and cost of ownership requirements. Typical requirements include minimizing disruption to current operations; improving performance, scalability, and disaster recovery; and reducing overall TCO and runtime hourly costs.

On one hand, you can simply migrate to an equivalent cloud service for your on-premises platforms, such as Oracle Base Database Service or Oracle Exadata Cloud Service. Or you can upgrade your database operating platform and take advantage of Oracle Exadata, the industry leader in transaction processing, database consolidation, and data warehousing, or Oracle Autonomous Database on the Exadata platform, adding more automation and lowering your cost of ownership.

Compare Oracle Cloud Database solutions to match your requirements to the appropriate database and platform and then fine-tune your choices with the database service advisor.

Is there an efficient way to evaluate the migration complexity for my entire database estate?

Yes. Oracle Estate Explorer catalogs and analyzes your database estate and securely evaluates its technical characteristics for migration to the Autonomous Database platform. You can evaluate your database estate behind your firewall without sharing any data or metadata with Oracle.


Common questions

What is the difference between Recovery Manager and Data Pump for transferring data as a migration method?

Oracle Recovery Manager (RMAN) is the Oracle Database backup, restore, and recovery utility. To achieve optimal performance, source and backup databases share many identical attributes. One of its key migration-oriented features is that it can capture incremental backups (changes made to the source database after the backup process has begun.) RMAN is the faster data transfer option due to block-level backup-recovery operations and is known as a physical migration method.

Data Pump is used to export and import data offering migration flexibility over migration performance. Unlike RMAN, once you start the export (backup) process, new transactions at the source are not captured. Also unlike RMAN, logical methods do not require identical configurations, which means that migrations can include upgrades. Known as a logical migration method, Data Pump moves data more slowly than RMAN but rewrites records sequentially to storage, compressing space and enabling faster SQL performance. Data Pump can be used in conjunction with GoldenGate to enable an online, logical migration method.

Is Real Application Testing or SQL Performance Analyzer useful in migration workflows?

Yes. Oracle Real Application Testing is an Oracle Database option that’s useful for validating migrations and is available independent of Enterprise Manager. It includes SQL Performance Analyzer and Database Replay. Licensing is required when using this option with on-premises databases. Refer to licensing information, Section 1.4, Table 1-15 under Oracle Real Application Testing.

In addition, Enterprise Manager includes a complementary Real Application Testing management pack that has five key capabilities: Database Replay, SQL Performance Analyzer (SPA), Workload Analysis, Database Migration Planner, and Database Migration Workbench. Find Real Application Testing management pack licensing information here.

The Enterprise Manager database migration workbench embeds SQL Performance Analyzer into its migration workflows. If Real Application Testing is present, then the menu options for SQL Performance Analyzer within Enterprise Manager database migration workbench becomes available.

Learn more about Real Application Testing and other migration tools for Oracle Autonomous Database in this blog.

Can I bring our on-premises database licenses to OCI?

The Bring Your Own License (BYOL) program offers comprehensive financial and functional incentives that enable you to spend less and do more as you migrate your database licenses to OCI Database cloud services. License transfer is designed to help you modernize your Oracle investments with improved price-performance and a lower total cost of ownership. Oracle Support Rewards is a complementary benefit that offers annual support credits for every dollar spent on OCI. Oracle also reduces migration risk with automation and services from Oracle and third parties.

Learn more in the Oracle PaaS and IaaS Universal Credits Service Descriptions and the BYOL FAQ.

What is the simplest migration path to Autonomous Database?

All complexities aside, the simplest path is an offline, logical migration method that uses the free OCI Database Migration service. Embedded within this online service is the Cloud Premigration Advisor Tool that specifies source database preparation tasks.

An exception to this is if you already license Oracle Enterprise Manager because you also have access to Enterprise Manager Migration Workbench. The migration workbench offers a complete migration workflow and uniquely includes Oracle Real Application Testing to validate resulting SQL performance on the Autonomous Database target. A Real Application Testing license is required.

In either case, if you have more than a few databases, use Oracle Estate Explorer to analyze your entire database estate. The analysis will prioritize migrations based on databases that require the least effort to migrate. This tool also recommends actions to prepare your databases for migration.