HeatWave 的特性

HeatWave

HeatWave 是一个内存中大规模并行的混合列数据处理引擎。它可提供杰出的算法,实现超高的分布式查询处理性能。

采用大规模扩展和高性能架构设计

HeatWave 可将数据大规模分区到一组可并行运行的 HeatWave 节点上,提供出色的节点间可扩展性。集群内的每个节点和节点内的每个核心都可以并行处理分区数据。同时,HeatWave 搭载了一个智能查询调度器,可并行处理计算与网络通信任务,为数千个核心提供高度的可伸缩性。

针对云端和对象存储中的数据进行了优化

HeatWave 查询处理已针对云端商用服务器进行了优化。首先,分区大小经过专门优化,即使基础配置的缓存也能正常运行。其次,计算与通信重叠特性也针对可用网络带宽进行了优化。最后,各种分析处理原语使用底层虚拟机 (VM) 的硬件指令。HeatWave 也被设计为一个横向扩展数据处理引擎,针对查询对象存储中的数据进行了优化。


HeatWave GenAI

HeatWave GenAI 提供集成且自动化的生成式 AI,具有数据库内大型语言模型 (LLM)、自动化的数据库内向量存储以及以自然语言进行情景对话的能力 — 让您无需掌握 AI 专业知识或迁移数据,即可利用生成式 AI。

数据库内 LLM

在所有 Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) 区域、OCI Dedicated Region 和跨云端中使用内置的、优化的 LLM;并在跨各种部署环境中获得具有可预测性能的一致结果。无需预配 GPU,可降低基础设施成本。

与 OCI Generative AI 集成

通过 OCI Generative AI 服务,访问 Cohere 和 Meta 的预训练基础模型。

数据库中向量存储

在 HeatWave Vector Store 中,以各种格式对 LLM 和您的专有文档执行检索增强生成 (RAG),以获得更准确和与情景相关的答案,而无需将数据移至单独的向量数据库。

自动生成嵌入

利用自动化管道,帮助在 HeatWave Vector Store 中发现和摄取专有文档,让没有 AI 专业知识的开发人员和分析人员也可以轻松使用向量存储。

横向扩展向量处理

向量处理在多达 512 个 HeatWave 集群节点上并行化,以内存带宽执行,有助于快速提供结果并降低影响准确性的可能性。

HeatWave Chat

使用自然语言,在对象存储中通过非结构化文档提供情景化对话。使用集成的 Lakehouse Navigator,引导 LLM 搜索特定数据集,从而帮助您降低成本,同时更快地获得更准确的结果。

了解有关 HeatWave GenAI 的更多信息


HeatWave MySQL

HeatWave MySQL 是一个完全托管的数据库服务,也是一个基于 MySQL Enterprise Edition 构建的云技术服务,具有用于加密、数据屏蔽、验证和数据库防火墙的高级安全功能。HeatWave 可将 MySQL 查询性能提高几个数量级,让您能够对 MySQL 中的事务处理数据进行实时分析,而无需面对通过提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 复制到单独分析数据库的复杂性、延迟、风险和成本。

无 ETL 的实时分析

事务更新会自动、实时复制到 HeatWave 分析集群,分析查询可以访问新的数据。在运行分析查询之前无需编录数据索引。无需执行复杂、耗时且成本高昂的 ETL 流程,也无需与单独的分析数据库集成。

了解有关 HeatWave MySQL 的更多信息


HeatWave Lakehouse

HeatWave Lakehouse 支持用户查询对象存储中的半 PB 数据,包括 CSV、Parquet、Avro、JSON 以及其它数据库中的导出文件等各种文件格式。查询处理完全在 HeatWave 引擎中完成,客户除了可以利用 HeatWave 处理与 MySQL 兼容工作负载之外,还可以处理非 MySQL 工作负载。

针对所有数据,快速执行数据池分析和机器学习

除了查询对象存储中各种格式的数据,客户还可以使用标准 MySQL 命令查询 SQL 数据库中的事务数据,或同时执行这两种查询。10 TB TPC-H 基准测试结果显示,MySQL 在对象存储中查询数据的速度与查询数据库的速度一样快。

通过 HeatWave AutoML,客户可以使用对象存储和/或数据库中的数据,自动构建、训练、部署和解释机器学习模型,而无需将数据迁移至单独的机器学习云技术服务。

面向数据管理和查询处理的横向扩展架构

HeatWave 的大规模分区架构可为 HeatWave Lakehouse 提供一个横向扩展架构,支持根据数据规模扩展或收缩查询处理和数据管理操作(如加载/重新加载数据)。客户可以使用 HeatWave Lakehouse 在对象存储中查询多达半 PB 数据,且无需将数据复制到 MySQL 数据库。HeatWave 集群可扩展至 512 个节点。

利用基于机器学习的自动化功能提高性能,节省时间

HeatWave Lakehouse 不仅增强了已有的自动供应、自动查询计划改进和自动并行加载等 HeatWave Lakehouse 功能,进一步降低数据库管理开销并提高性能。HeatWave Lakehouse 还推出了新的 HeatWave Autopilot 功能。

  • 自动模式推断可针对所有支持的文件类型(包括 CSV)自动推断文件数据到对应模式定义的映射。因此,客户无需手动定义和更新文件的模式映射,从而节省大量时间和精力。
  • 自适应数据采样可智能地对对象存储中的文件进行抽样,并推导信息供 HeatWave Autopilot 执行自动化预测。借助自适应数据采样,HeatWave Autopilot 可在不到一分钟的时间内对 400 TB 文件的模式映射完成扫描并执行预测。
  • 自适应数据流让 HeatWave Lakehouse 可动态适应任何区域中底层对象存储的性能,改善整体性能、性价比和可用性。

了解有关 HeatWave Lakehouse 的更多信息


HeatWave AutoML

HeatWave AutoML 免费为用户提供在 HeatWave 中构建、训练和解释机器学习模型所需的一切资源。

无需额外的机器学习服务

借助 HeatWave 的数据库内机器学习,客户不需要将数据迁移到其它机器学习服务。客户可以使用 MySQL Lakehouse,轻松、安全地将存储在 HeatWave 和对象存储中的数据应用于机器学习训练、推断和解释。加速推进机器学习计划、增强安全性并降低成本。

利用机器学习生命周期自动化节省时间并减轻工作量

HeatWave AutoML 能够推动机器学习生命周期自动化,包括算法选择、面向模型训练的智能数据采样、特征选择和超参数优化,为数据分析师和数据科学家节省大量时间和精力。您还可以对算法选择、特征选择和超参数优化等机器学习管道选项进行自定义。HeatWave AutoML 支持异常检测、预测、分类、回归和推荐系统任务,包括在文本列中。

个性化推荐系统

HeatWave AutoML 推荐系统可以基于隐式反馈(如购买历史和浏览行为)和显式反馈(如评分、点赞)来生成个性化推荐方案。分析人员可以预测用户可能会喜欢的商品、特定商品能够吸引的用户以及某个商品的评分。还可以根据某个用户,获取相似用户的列表;或根据特定的产品,获取相似产品的列表。

交互式 HeatWave AutoML 控制台

交互式控制台支持业务分析师在一个可视界面中轻松构建、训练、运行和解释 ML 模型,无需使用 SQL 命令或编写任何代码。此外,它还能简化 What-if 场景分析,帮助企业评估业务假设,例如“追加 30% 的付费社交媒体广告投资将对收入和利润产生哪些影响?”

可解释的机器学习模型

经 HeatWave AutoML 训练的所有模型都可解释。HeatWave AutoML 可提供预测并解释结果,在合规性、公平性、可重复性、因果关系和信任方面为企业提供强大支持。

运用现有的技能

使用 HeatWave AutoML,开发人员和数据分析师不必学习新的工具和语言,可以使用熟悉的 SQL 命令构建机器学习模型。此外,HeatWave AutoML 还与 Jupyter 和 Apache Zeppelin 等主流记事本相集成。


HeatWave Autopilot

HeatWave Autopilot 提供工作负载感知、基于机器学习的自动化。它无需您拥有数据库调优专业知识即可提高性能和可扩展性,不仅能提高开发人员和 DBA 的工作效率,还有助于消除人为错误。HeatWave Autopilot 可自动化执行众多富于挑战的重要操作,包括供应、数据加载、查询执行和故障处理,规模化提供高查询性能。HeatWave Autopilot 客户可免费使用 HeatWave MySQL Autopilot。

HeatWave Autopilot 面向 HeatWave 和 OLTP 提供了众多功能。

  • 自动供应:对待分析的表数据进行自适应抽样,预测运行工作负载所需的 HeatWave 节点数量。这意味着开发人员和 DBA 无需手动估算集群大小。
  • 自动线程池:支持数据库服务在指定硬件配置上处理更多事务,为 OLTP 工作负载提供更高的吞吐量,并防止在事务并发水平较高时吞吐量下降。
  • 自动配置预测:持续监视 OLTP 工作负载(包括吞吐量和缓冲池命中率),从而在任意指定时间推荐适当的计算配置,确保客户始终获得理想性价比。
  • 自动编码:判断加载到 HeatWave 的列的最佳表示,从而改善查询性能,尽可能降低集群大小和成本。
  • 自动改进查询计划:基于查询执行的统计信息开展学习,改进未来查询的执行计划。随着查询数量增长,系统性能将越来越高。
  • 自适应查询执行:支持在启动查询执行后,使用各种统计信息来调整数据结构和系统资源,同时根据运行时实际的数据分布,单独优化每个节点的查询执行。这有助于将临时查询的性能提高多达 25%。
  • 自动放置数据:预测应在哪些列上对表进行内存中分区,从而实现最佳的查询性能。它还能预测新列建议可带来的查询性能提升。鉴于操作人员在手动选择列时可能会做出次优选择,这可以尽可能减少跨节点数据移动。
  • 自动压缩可帮助客户判断适合该列的压缩算法,加速数据压缩和解压,进而提高加载和查询性能。通过减少内存使用量,客户可以将成本降低多达 25%。
  • 索引编制功能(有限可用性)自动确定客户应在其表中创建或删除的索引,以优化 OLTP 吞吐量,从而利用机器学习基于各应用工作负载进行预测。这有助于客户消除耗时的任务,也就是为 OLTP 工作负载创建最佳索引以及随着工作负载变化而持续维护这些索引所做的耗时的工作。

实时弹性

实时弹性功能让客户将 HeatWave 集群扩展和缩小到任意数量的节点,无需任何停机时间或只读时间。

在高峰时间始终提供稳定的高性能,同时零停机地降低成本

调整大小的操作只需几分钟即可完成。在此期间,HeatWave 全程保持在线状态,不影响其他操作。操作完成后,数据将从对象存储下载,在所有可用集群节点之间自动重新平衡,然后立即用于查询。因此,客户不仅可以始终享有高性能(即使在高峰时间),还可以在适当的时候缩小 HeatWave 集群来降低成本 — 无需停机或进入只读状态。

通过从对象存储高效地重新加载数据,客户还可以暂停和恢复 HeatWave 集群,降低成本。

避免超额供应实例

客户可以将 HeatWave 集群的大小调整为任意数量的节点。不受刚性集群大小调整模式的限制,可避免过度供应和成本浪费。现在,HeatWave 客户只需为自己所使用的资源付费。


可在公有云环境和您的本地数据中心运行

您可以在 OCI、AWS 或 Azure 上部署 HeatWave,将数据从本地部署 OLTP 应用复制到 HeatWave,在云端获得接近实时的分析和处理向量数据。您还可以借助 OCI Dedicated Region,在您的本地数据中心使用 HeatWave。

基于 AWS 的 HeatWave 为 AWS 客户提供原生体验。控制台、控制层和数据层皆位于 AWS 中。

注:为免疑义,本网页所用以下术语专指以下含义:

  1. Oracle专指Oracle境外公司而非甲骨文中国。
  2. 相关Cloud或云术语均指代Oracle境外公司提供的云技术或其解决方案。

HeatWave Features

HeatWave

HeatWave is an in-memory, massively parallel, hybrid columnar data-processing engine. It implements state-of-the-art algorithms for distributed query processing that provide very high performance.

Architected for massive scale and performance

HeatWave massively partitions data across a cluster of nodes, which can be operated in parallel. This provides excellent internodal scalability. Each node within a cluster and each core within a node can process partitioned data in parallel. HeatWave has an intelligent query scheduler that overlaps computation with network communication tasks to achieve very high scalability across thousands of cores.

Optimized for the cloud and data in object storage

Query processing in HeatWave has been optimized for commodity servers in the cloud. The sizes of the partitions have been optimized to fit the cache of the underlying shapes. The overlap of computation with communication is optimized for the network bandwidth available. Various analytics processing primitives use the hardware instructions of the underlying virtual machines (VMs). HeatWave is also designed to be a scale-out data processing engine, optimized to query data in object storage.


HeatWave GenAI

HeatWave GenAI provides integrated and automated generative AI with in-database large language models (LLMs); an automated, in-database vector store; and the ability to have contextual conversations in natural language—letting you take advantage of generative AI without AI expertise or data movement.

In-database LLMs

Use the built-in, optimized LLMs in all Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) regions, OCI Dedicated Region, and across clouds; and obtain consistent results with predictable performance across deployments. Help reduce infrastructure costs by eliminating the need to provision GPUs.

Integrated with OCI Generative AI

Access pretrained, foundational models from Cohere and Meta via the OCI Generative AI service.

In-database vector store

Perform retrieval-augmented generation (RAG) across LLMs and your proprietary documents in various formats housed in HeatWave Vector Store to get more accurate and contextually relevant answers—without moving data to a separate vector database.

Automated generation of embeddings

Leverage the automated pipeline to help discover and ingest proprietary documents in HeatWave Vector Store, making it easier for developers and analysts without AI expertise to use the vector store.

Scale-out vector processing

Vector processing is parallelized across up to 512 HeatWave cluster nodes and executed at memory bandwidth, helping to deliver fast results with a reduced likelihood of accuracy loss.

HeatWave Chat

Have contextual conversations informed by your unstructured documents in object storage using natural language. Use the integrated Lakehouse Navigator to help guide LLMs to search through specific data sets, helping you reduce costs while getting more accurate results faster.

Learn more about HeatWave GenAI


HeatWave MySQL

HeatWave MySQL is a fully managed database service, and the only cloud service built on MySQL Enterprise Edition, with advanced security features for encryption, data masking, authentication, and a database firewall. HeatWave improves MySQL query performance by orders of magnitude and enables you to get real-time analytics on your transactional data in MySQL—without the complexity, latency, risks, and cost of extract, transform, and load (ETL) duplication to a separate analytics database.

Real-time analytics without ETL

Analytics queries access the most current information as updates from transactions automatically replicate in real time to the HeatWave analytics cluster. There’s no need to index the data before running analytics queries. You can eliminate the complex, time-consuming, and costly ETL process and integration with a separate analytics database.

Faster than Amazon and Snowflake at a fraction of the cost

HeatWave MySQL is faster and delivers better price-performance, as demonstrated by multiple standard industry benchmarks, including TPC-H, TPC-DS, and CH-benCHmark.

Snowflake, Amazon Redshift, Google BigQuery, Azure Synapse, Amazon Aurora, and Amazon RDS are slower and more expensive

  • Amazon Redshift: 4X slower; 10X worse price-performance
  • Snowflake: 4X slower; 15X worse price-performance
  • Google BigQuery: 9X slower; 20X worse price-performance
  • Azure Synapse: 4X slower; 10X worse price-performance
  • Amazon Aurora: 1,400X slower; 2,200X worse price-performance
  • Amazon RDS: 3,500X slower; 4,600X worse price-performance

Learn more about HeatWave MySQL


HeatWave Lakehouse

HeatWave Lakehouse lets users query half a petabyte of data in object storage—in a variety of file formats, such as CSV, Parquet, Avro, JSON, and export files from other databases. The query processing is done entirely in the HeatWave engine, enabling customers to take advantage of HeatWave for non-MySQL workloads in addition to MySQL-compatible workloads.

Faster and less expensive than Snowflake, Amazon Redshift, Databricks, and Google BigQuery

As demonstrated by a 500 TB TPC-H benchmark, the query performance of HeatWave Lakehouse is

  • 15X faster than Amazon Redshift, delivering 11X better price-performance
  • 18X faster than Databricks, delivering 15X better price-performance
  • 18X faster than Snowflake, delivering 19X better price-performance
  • 35X faster than Google BigQuery, delivering 22X better price-performance

The data load performance of HeatWave Lakehouse is

  • 2X faster than Snowflake, delivering 3X better price-performance
  • 6X faster than Databricks, delivering 6X better price-performance
  • 8X faster than Google BigQuery, delivering 7X better price-performance
  • 9X faster than Amazon Redshift, delivering 8X better price-performance

Fast lakehouse analytics and machine learning on all data

Customers can query data in various formats in object storage, transactional data in MySQL databases, or a combination of both using standard SQL commands. Querying the data in object storage is as fast as querying the databases, as demonstrated by a 10 TB TPC-H benchmark.

With HeatWave AutoML, customers can use data in object storage, the database, or both to automatically build, train, deploy, and explain ML models—without moving the data to a separate ML cloud service.

Scale-out architecture for data management and query processing

HeatWave’s massively partitioned architecture enables a scale-out architecture for HeatWave Lakehouse. Query processing and data management operations, such as loading/reloading data, scale with the size of data. Customers can query up to half a petabyte of data in object storage with HeatWave Lakehouse without copying it to the MySQL database. The HeatWave cluster scales to 512 nodes.

Increase performance and save time with machine learning–powered automation

HeatWave Autopilot capabilities, such as auto provisioning, auto query plan improvement, and auto parallel loading, have been enhanced for HeatWave Lakehouse, further reducing database administration overhead and improving performance. New HeatWave Autopilot capabilities are also available for HeatWave Lakehouse.

  • Auto schema inference automatically infers the mapping of file data to the corresponding schema definition for all supported file types, including CSV. As a result, customers don’t need to manually define and update the schema mapping of files, saving time and effort.
  • Adaptive data sampling intelligently samples the files in object storage to derive information used by HeatWave Autopilot to make predictions for automation. Using adaptive data sampling, HeatWave Autopilot can scan and make predictions, such as schema mapping on a 400 TB file in less than one minute.
  • Adaptive data flow lets HeatWave Lakehouse dynamically adapt to the performance of the underlying object store in any region to improve overall performance, price-performance, and availability.

Learn more about HeatWave Lakehouse


HeatWave AutoML

HeatWave AutoML includes everything users need to build, train, and explain machine learning models within HeatWave, at no additional cost.

No need for a separate machine learning service

With in-database machine learning in HeatWave, customers don’t need to move data to a separate machine learning service. They can easily and securely apply machine learning training, inference, and explanation to data stored both inside MySQL and in the object store with HeatWave Lakehouse. As a result, they can accelerate ML initiatives, increase security, and reduce costs.

Save time and effort with machine learning lifecycle automation

HeatWave AutoML automates the machine learning lifecycle, including algorithm selection, intelligent data sampling for model training, feature selection, and hyperparameter optimization—saving data analysts and data scientists significant time and effort. Aspects of the machine learning pipeline can be customized, including algorithm selection, feature selection, and hyperparameter optimization. HeatWave AutoML supports anomaly detection, forecasting, classification, regression, and recommender system tasks, including on text columns.

Recommender system for personalized recommendations

By considering both implicit feedback (past purchases, browsing behavior, and so forth) and explicit feedback (ratings, likes, and so forth), the HeatWave AutoML recommender system can generate personalized recommendations. Analysts, for instance, can predict items that a user will like, users who will like a specific item, and ratings that items will receive. They can also, given a user, obtain a list of similar users, and given a specific item, obtain a list of similar items.

Interactive HeatWave AutoML console

The interactive console lets business analysts build, train, run, and explain ML models using a visual interface—without using SQL commands or any coding. The console also makes it easy to explore what-if scenarios to evaluate business assumptions—for example, “How would investing 30% more in paid social media advertising affect both revenue and profit?”

Faster, less expensive, and more accurate than Redshift ML

Benchmarks demonstrate that, on average, HeatWave AutoML produces more accurate results than Amazon Redshift ML, trains models up to 25X faster at 1% of the cost, and scales as more nodes are added.

See the benchmark details

Explainable ML models

All the models trained by HeatWave AutoML are explainable. HeatWave AutoML delivers predictions with an explanation of the results, helping organizations with regulatory compliance, fairness, repeatability, causality, and trust.

Use current skills

Developers and data analysts can build machine learning models using familiar SQL commands; they don’t have to learn new tools and languages. Additionally, HeatWave AutoML is integrated with popular notebooks such as Jupyter and Apache Zeppelin.

Read the HeatWave AutoML technical brief (PDF)


HeatWave Autopilot

HeatWave Autopilot provides workload-aware, machine learning–powered automation. It improves performance and scalability without requiring database tuning expertise, increases the productivity of developers and DBAs, and helps eliminate human errors. HeatWave Autopilot automates many of the most important and often challenging aspects of achieving high query performance at scale—including provisioning, data loading, query execution, and failure handling. HeatWave Autopilot is available at no additional charge for HeatWave MySQL customers.

HeatWave Autopilot provides numerous capabilities for both HeatWave and OLTP, including

  • Auto provisioning predicts the number of HeatWave nodes required for running a workload by adaptive sampling of table data on which analytics is required. This means developers and DBAs no longer need to manually estimate the optimal size of their cluster.
  • Auto thread pooling lets the database service process more transactions for a given hardware configuration, delivering higher throughput for OLTP workloads and preventing it from dropping at high levels of transactions and concurrency.
  • Auto shape prediction continuously monitors the OLTP workload, including throughput and buffer pool hit rate, to recommend the right compute shape at any given time—allowing customers to always get the best price-performance.
  • Auto encoding determines the optimal representation of columns being loaded into HeatWave, taking the queries into consideration. This optimal representation provides the best query performance and minimizes the size of the cluster to minimize costs.
  • Auto query plan improvement learns various statistics from the execution of queries and improves the execution plan of future queries. This improves the performance of the system as more queries are run.
  • Adaptive query optimization uses various statistics to adjust data structures and system resources after query execution has started—independently optimizing query execution for each node based on actual data distribution at runtime. This helps improve the performance of ad hoc queries by up to 25%.
  • Auto data placement predicts the column on which tables should be partitioned in memory to achieve the best performance for queries. It also predicts the expected gain in query performance with the new column recommendation. This minimizes data movement across nodes due to suboptimal choices that can be made by operators when manually selecting the column.
  • Auto compression determines the optimal compression algorithm for each column, which improves load and query performance with faster data compression and decompression. By reducing memory usage, customers can cut costs by up to 25%.
  • Indexing (limited availability) automatically determines the indexes that customers should create or drop from their tables to optimize OLTP throughput, using machine learning to make a prediction based on individual application workloads. That helps customers eliminate the time-consuming tasks of creating optimal indexes for their OLTP workloads and maintaining those over time as workloads evolve.

See all HeatWave Autopilot capabilities (PDF)


Real-time elasticity

Real-time elasticity enables customers to increase or decrease the size of their HeatWave cluster by any number of nodes without incurring any downtime or read-only time.

Consistent high performance, even at peak times, and reduced costs with no downtime

The resizing operation takes only a few minutes, during which time HeatWave remains online, available for all operations. Once resized, data is downloaded from object storage, automatically rebalanced among all available cluster nodes, and becomes immediately available for queries. As a result, customers benefit from consistently high performance, even at peak times, and lower costs by downsizing their HeatWave cluster when appropriate—without incurring any downtime or read-only time.

With efficient data reloading from object storage, customers can also pause and resume their HeatWave cluster to reduce costs.

No overprovisioned instances

Customers can expand or reduce their HeatWave cluster to any number of nodes. They aren’t constrained to overprovisioned and costly instances forced by rigid sizing models offered by other cloud database providers. With HeatWave customers pay only for the exact resources they use.

Read the HeatWave MySQL technical brief (PDF)


Available in public clouds and your data center

You can deploy HeatWave on OCI, AWS, or Azure. You can replicate data from on-premises OLTP applications to HeatWave to get near real-time analytics and process vector data in the cloud. You also can use HeatWave in your data center with OCI Dedicated Region.

HeatWave on AWS delivers a native experience for AWS customers. The console, control plane, and data plane reside in AWS.

Learn more about HeatWave on AWS (PDF)