什么是基于客户的营销 (ABM)?

基于客户的营销 (ABM) 的定义

至少使用了一年的 ABM 策略的公司中,有 60% 的公司的收入因此有所增加。”

需求指标:“ABM 采用基准报告”,2015 年 9 月

传统的 B2B 营销面向一大群潜在客户来生成销售线索并增加收入,而基于客户的营销采取更具针对性的方法。

ABM 是一种专注于B2B 营销 的策略方法,将销售和营销结合在一起,其侧重于寻找正确的销售线索,而不是更多的销售线索。在 ABM 策略的帮助下,营销资源可以专门用于一组特定的目标客户和其中的联系人。这种高度针对性的策略需要营销和销售团队互相协调,以便为客户方的相关人员提供适当的信息和内容。

基于客户的营销的工作原理

从本质上来看,ABM 将您的关注范围缩小到机会最高的客户身上,将每个客户视为一个市场,并针对每个目标客户的特定人员。典型的入站 B2B 营销活动包括相关且有趣的内容,这些内容会与尽可能多的潜在客户群体产生共鸣。另一方面,ABM 活动针对的是一些高价值客户(及其主要决策者)来提供个性化内容和消息

例如为每个客户提高相关和高度个性化的电子邮件和内容,让他们了解他们最感兴趣的活动和优惠。营销人员可以借助 ABM,直接向关键决策者进行营销来缩小和强化营销方法,并藉此开始与他们建立牢固且持续的业务关系。

在选择哪些客户和潜在客户是您的主要客户时,您需要格外谨慎,这是因为并非每个人都符合成为战略客户的标准,而您需要将 ABM 工作集中在那些符合条件的人身上。

什么能够造就一个好的 ABM 客户?

许多销售和营销专业人员都在努力为 ABM 活动定位正确的客户。

虽然标准可能会因市场或行业而异,但理想的战略客户应是具有最大收入潜力的客户。ABM 活动的执行成本较高,因此必须具备收入潜力才能让付出有所回报。

其他需要考虑的因素包括:

  • 过去的采购历史记录以及与您或您的竞争对手从前的任何关系
  • 销售漏斗中的定位
  • 符合您的理想客户概况

最后,您应确保该客户能够帮助您实现目标。您是否需要获得识别度更高的品牌 / 徽标?重新与失去的客户交互?在地理位置上或行业内扩展您的业务范围?

基于客户的营销和销售线索生成的差异

简单来说,生成销售线索是基于客户的营销的组成部分和目标。

销售线索生成是对公司产品、服务或品牌产生兴趣的过程,其最终目标是通过各种营销策略将潜在客户转化为客户。可以跨多种渠道生成销售线索,包括电子邮件、社交媒体、内容联合和活动。生成销售线索后,应为其分配销售线索得分,以优先处理所有传入的销售线索,并为销售团队提供侧重点。

虽然销售线索生成可以广泛应用于多个行业的受众,但 ABM 会将重点放在生成存在于几个特定客户中的销售线索上。此目标是扩大您在这些目标客户中的业务范围,以有效地与不同的利益相关方互动。

销售线索评分和基于客户的营销

销售线索评分在基于客户的营销中发挥着重要作用。当 ABM 活动产生潜在销售线索后,了解要与哪个潜在客户交互至关重要。销售线索得分通常根据人员的行为和参与数据创建的。掌握此得分,您就可以对客户的销售线索进行优先排序,并更好地了解谁较感兴趣、谁的参与度较高、谁较愿意/有能力购买。

基于客户的营销有哪些优势?

实施 ABM 策略有很多优势,包括:

1

营销与销售协同

ABM 需要营销和销售团队的关注,这对许多企业来说可能是一项挑战。这意味着在 ABM 活动开始时,销售和营销必须协同合作,以确保在整个销售周期中做出正确的数据驱动决策。

2

更高的投资回报率

与传统的入站和出站 B2B 营销活动相比,ABM 更加精确、更有针对性、更加个性化。因此,它能够在 B2B 营销策略中产生最高投资回报率,同时提高效率。典型的 ABM 活动选择退出率较低,且响应率较高。

3

更短的销售周期

ABM 加快了销售流程,因为不合格的潜在客户在流程的初期就被淘汰了。营销和销售团队可以专注于最有可能转化的客户,并为这些客户提供个性化的体验,让他们快速转化为客户。

如何开展成功的 ABM 活动

大多数 ABM 活动都遵循以下基本准则:

  1. 了解您的目标并制定营销和销售方面的行动计划。在此步骤结束时,您至少应该有一个时间表、预算和关键绩效指标 (KPI) 来衡量成效。
  2. 选择要推销的目标客户,并确定如何推进这些互动。确保您拥有正确的数据和适当的营销渠道,并了解如何与这些客户进行沟。
  3. 通过识别关键利益相关方来扩大您在客户中的业务范围。根据您的目标创建利益相关方的特定内容和消息。
  4. 针对个别客户的适当影响人物及时提供个性化消息。
  5. 评估工作成效。利用洞察力培养交叉销售和追加销售机会的倡导者。
  6. 查看 ABM 活动指标、进行调整和优化。

ABM 的 KPI

  • 针对营销的合格销售线索 / 合格客户
  • 各销售线索的成本
  • 页面停留时间(用于数字资产的参与)
  • 电子邮件打开率/回复率
  • 每个客户的其他联系人数量
  • 按客户划分的参与度(率)
  • 渠道容量
  • 营销影响率
  • 渠道内转化率
  • 每个客户的销售会议/预约数
  • 发送的建议数
  • 完成率/流失率
  • 平均销售价格/平均销售点

BMC 如何通过有针对性的 B2B 营销来吸引重要客户

BMC Software 分享了他们如何借助强大的基于客户的营销 (ABM) 策略,通过有针对性的 B2B 营销和 Oracle 解决方案来提高重要客户的参与度。

客户数据对 ABM 有什么作用?

70% 的 ABM 用户表示他们的销售和营销团队大部分或完全协同,而非 ABM 用户的这一比例只有 51%。”

需求指标:“ABM 采用基准报告”,2015 年 9 月

除非将正确的客户作为目标,否则基于客户的营销不会奏效。客户数据管理在 ABM 中起着至关重要的作用。

成功的 ABM 活动首先要评估客户数据,以创建理想的客户概要信息 (ICP)。您可以借助该信息,确定客户的优先级,并确定要在 ABM 活动中定位的目标客户。拥有理想的客户有助以下两个方面:

1. 您可以按公司筛选客户列表,针对已知联系人运行更有针对性的营销活动,从而提高参与度和投资回报率。您可以使用按收入或地理位置划分的其他客户/账户来支持这些活动。

2. 您还可以与访问过您的数字属性和资产的客户中的匿名用户进行交互。您可以通过数据管理平台 (DMP)、相似建模、相似营销或受众资料分析来激活数据 ,制定外联方案来与他们互动。例如,当这些匿名用户点击数字广告时,他们将转到定制的登录页面。由于这些体验是专门定制的,匿名用户更有可能参与所需的活动,这有助将他们转化成 CRM 中可见的已知潜在客户。您还有更多机会建立他们的概要信息,以了解他们是否为适合的销售线索。

内容营销如何与 ABM 协同工作?

内容营销是一种战略营销方法,着重于创建和分发有价值、相关且一致的内容,以吸引和培养潜在客户。

内容在 ABM 中扮演着重要的角色,由于 ABM 中的所有内容都高度个性化,因此内容管理变得更加重要。例如,您可能需要创建行业特定的内容(没有任何用于更通用的入站活动),并在营销和销售工作中管理该内容,以便客户体验 (CX) 在销售周期内保持一致。

客户营销的内容目标

如果想要创建能够带来影响的内容,就必须要有精确的目标。虽然软性指标,如分享、更多关注者或增加流量都是大多数营销内容的有效衡量标准,但 ABM 的目标性质需要更具体的指标,如提高管道速率、生成销售线索和收入。

销售和营销活动协同和 ABM

如果营销和销售不协同,ABM 活动就无法奏效。营销和销售通常各自为政,但这可能会导致冲突。两个团队都忘记了他们正在朝着同一个目标而努力,即生成销售,并且可能只关注特定的 KPI。营销部门负责说服目标客户采取所需行动的所有活动,而销售部门则致力于建立人际关系并达成交易。

在 ABM 活动中,必须明确定义每个团队的角色。例如,如果不能先从销售中获得关键洞察,营销部门就无法为关键潜在客户开发内容。没有人更了解目标客户,此洞察可确保生成的销售线索是强大的。

为了进一步细分,营销团队可以专注于:

  • 开发及管理高质量的内容,以便销售人员可以轻松访问所需内容
  • 花时间教育销售团队了解营销活动的运作方式
  • 使用可靠的销售线索评分系统,及时向销售人员提供高质量的销售线索

销售团队则可以专注于:

  • 及时处理营销团队发送的线索
  • 与营销团队沟通客户异议或消息传递差距
  • 对赢得和失去销售交易的原因和方式保持透明

如何优化 ABM 策略

如何优化 ABM 策略

采用 ABM 战略对企业来说并不是单方面的改变。它是一种转型,需要在技术、策略和文化方面做出承诺。

从技术上讲,您必须设置公司的销售和营销系统,以便营销人员可以针对特定客户、营销活动和资产进行定制,从而高效地将销售线索发送给销售团队。从策略上来看,必须根据理想的客户概要信息对客户进行评分。在文化方面,您的销售和营销团队则需要作为一个统一的团队来完成这项工作。

营销云解决方案如何帮助完成基于客户的营销?

营销云解决方案以营销自动化平台为核心,帮助您实施 ABM 战略。理想情况下,该解决方案可以让您构建营销活动、评分和管理销售线索、创建和管理内容,以及衡量活动的成效。

销售云解决方案如何帮助完成基于客户的营销?

销售云解决方案以 CRM 为中心,助力销售团队更好地了解潜在客户,因为团队会在整个销售周期中与客户互动。销售代表可以针对某个客户,深入了解谁是参与度最高的利益相关者,并查看谁与哪些内容、电子邮件或登录页面进行了交互。

注:为免疑义,本网页所用以下术语专指以下含义:

  1. Oracle专指Oracle境外公司而非甲骨文中国。
  2. 相关Cloud或云术语均指代Oracle境外公司提供的云技术或其解决方案。

No results found

Your search did not match any results.

We suggest you try the following to help find what you’re looking for:

  • Check the spelling of your keyword search.
  • Use synonyms for the keyword you typed, for example, try “application” instead of “software.”
  • Try one of the popular searches shown below.
  • Start a new search.
Trending Questions
 

Account-based marketing (ABM) defined

Traditional B2B marketing casts a wide net over a large group of prospective customers to generate leads and drive revenue. Account-based marketing takes a much more targeted approach.

ABM is a focused strategic approach to B2B marketing that brings sales and marketing together. It’s about focusing on the right leads, instead of more leads. With ABM, marketing resources are dedicated to a specific set of target accounts and the contacts within them. This highly targeted strategy requires marketing and sales teams to align to align to deliver the right message and content to the right person in an account.

 

“60% of those companies who have employed an ABM strategy for at least one year attribute a revenue increase to its use.”

Demand Metric: “ABM Adoption Benchmark Report,” September 2015

How does account-based marketing work?

Essentially, ABM narrows your focus to the highest opportunity accounts, viewing each as a market of one and then targeting specific people at each targeted account. While a typical inbound B2B marketing campaign includes relevant and intriguing content that would resonate with the largest possible group of potential customers, an ABM campaign targets a few high-value accounts (and their key decision-makers) with personalized content and messaging.

Some examples include relevant and highly personalized emails and content for each account, making them aware of events and offers that interest them the most. ABM allows marketers to narrow and sharpen their approach by marketing straight to key decision-makers. From there, marketers can begin to build a strong, ongoing business relationship with them.

You need to be careful in choosing which clients and prospects are your key accounts. Not everyone will meet the criteria to be a strategic account, and you need to concentrate your ABM efforts on only those that do.

What makes for a good ABM account?

Many sales and marketing professionals struggle to target the right accounts for their ABM campaign.

While the criteria could change depending on the marketplace or industry, the ideal strategic account should be one that has the most revenue potential. ABM campaigns cost more to execute; so the revenue potential needs to be there in order to make the effort profitable.

Other factors to consider include the account’s:

  • past purchase history as well as any previous relationship with you or your competitors
  • position within your sales funnel
  • alignment to your ideal customer profile

Finally, you should make sure that the account can help you meet your goals. Do you need to acquire more highly recognizable brands/logos? Re-engage with accounts that have been lost? Expand your footprint, either geographically or within an industry?

The difference between account-based marketing and lead generation

In simple terms, lead generation is a component—and goal—of account-based marketing.

Lead generation is the process of generating interest in your company’s products, services, or brand with the ultimate goal of converting prospects into customers through a variety of marketing strategies. Leads can be generated across various channels including email, social media, content syndication, and events. As leads are generated, they should be assigned a lead score to prioritize all incoming leads and provide the sales team with a place to focus.

While lead generation can be broadly applied to audiences across multiple industries, ABM shifts the focus towards generating leads that exist within a few specific accounts. The goal is to expand your footprint within these targeted accounts to engage with different stakeholders effectively.

Lead scoring and account-based marketing

Lead scoring plays a significant role in account-based marketing. As your ABM campaigns generate leads, it’s essential to understand which prospect is the best one to engage. A lead score is often created using a person’s behavioral and engagement data. With a score, you can prioritize leads within the account and gain a better understanding of who is most interested, engaged, and willing/able to purchase.

What are the benefits of account-based marketing?

There are many benefits to implementing an ABM strategy. These include:

1

Marketing and sales alignment

ABM requires a focus from both marketing and sales teams, which can be a challenge for many. Which means that sales and marketing must be aligned at the beginning of the ABM campaign to ensure the right data-driven decisions are made throughout the sales cycle.

2

Higher ROI

ABM is more precise, targeted, personalized, and accurate than traditional inbound and outbound B2B marketing campaigns. Which is why it generates the highest ROI among B2B marketing tactics while also driving more efficiency. A typical ABM campaign has fewer opt-outs and higher response rates.

3

Shorter sales cycles

ABM speeds up the sales process since unqualified prospects are eliminated very early in the process. Marketing and sales teams can focus on the accounts that are most likely to convert and provide those accounts with the most personalized experience to help them to convert quickly.

How to develop a successful ABM campaign

Most ABM campaigns follow these basic guidelines:

  • 1. Define your goals and devise a plan of action across marketing and sales. At the end of this step, you should have—at a minimum—a timeline, budget, and the key performance indicators (KPIs) you will use to gauge your success.
  • 2. Select the targeted accounts you want to market to and decide how to move forward with those engagements. Ensure you have the right data, the right marketing channels, and have developed the right insights into how to communicate with these accounts.
  • 3. Expand your footprint within an account by identifying key stakeholders. Create stakeholder specific content and messaging tailored to your targets.
  • 4. Provide timely and personalized messaging to the right influencers within an account.
  • 5. Measure your efforts. Leverage insights to grow advocates for cross- and up-sell opportunities.
  • 6. Review ABM campaign metrics, make adjustments, and optimize.

ABM KPI’s

  • 1. Marketing qualified leads/marketing qualified accounts
  • 2. Cost per lead
  • 3. Time on page (for engagement of digital assets)
  • 4. Email open rate/reply rate
  • 5. Number of additional contacts per account
  • 6. Engagement (rate) by account
  • 7. Pipeline velocity
  • 8. Marketing influence rate
  • 9. In-funnel conversion rate
  • 10. Number of sales meetings/appointments per account
  • 11. Number of proposals sent
  • 12. Close rate /churn rate
  • 13. Average selling price/average selling point

How BMC engages top accounts with targeted B2B marketing

BMC Software shares how they used a robust account-based marketing (ABM) strategy to expand top-tier account engagements with targeted B2B marketing and Oracle solutions.

What role does customer data have with ABM?

Account-based marketing is not effective unless you target the right accounts. Customer data management plays a crucial role in ABM.

Successful ABM campaigns start by assessing customer data to create an ideal customer profile (ICP). With that profile, you can prioritize your accounts and decide which ones to target in your ABM campaign. Having an ideal customer can help in two ways:

  • 1. You can filter account lists by company and run more targeted campaigns to known contacts to drive engagement and ROI. You might power these campaigns using additional customer/account segmented by revenue or geography.
  • 2. You can also engage with anonymous users within your accounts who have visited your digital properties and assets. Activating their data through a data management platform (DMP) through look-alike modeling, act-alike marketing, or audience profile analysis, you can develop an outreach program to begin engaging with them. For example, when these anonymous users click on a digital ad, they will arrive at a customized landing page. Since the experience has been personalized specifically for them, they will be more likely to engage in the desired activity, which will turn those anonymous visitors into known prospects viewable in your CRM. You then have more opportunities to build out their profile to see if they are a sales lead fit.
 

“70% of ABM users report that their sales and marketing teams are mostly or completely aligned, compared to 51% for non-ABM users.”

Demand Metric: “ABM Adoption Benchmark Report,” September 2015

How does content marketing work with ABM?

Content marketing is a strategic marketing approach that focuses on creating and distributing valuable, relevant, and consistent content to attract and nurture prospects on their journeys.

Content plays a huge role in ABM, and the management of that content becomes more important as everything in ABM is highly personalized. For example, you may need to create industry-specific content (not having any for your more generic inbound campaigns) and then manage that content across marketing and sales efforts so that the customer experience (CX) is consistent within the sales cycle.

Content goals for account-based marketing

To create content that makes an impact, define precise goals. While soft metrics, such as shares, more followers, or increased traffic are all legitimate measures for most marketing content, the targeted nature of ABM requires more concrete metrics, such as increased pipeline velocity, lead generation, and revenue.

Sales and marketing alignment and ABM

If marketing and sales aren’t fully aligned, an ABM campaign won’t work. Typically, marketing and sales operate in silos, which can cause conflict. Both teams forget they are working toward the same goal—sales—and may be only focused on their specific KPIs. Marketing is responsible for all activities that persuade targeted customers to take the desired action, while sales works to build personal connections and close deals.

In an ABM campaign, each team’s role must be clearly defined. For example, marketing can’t develop content for key prospects without first getting key insights from sales. No one knows the targeted customer(s) better, and this input will ensure that the generated leads are strong leads.

To break it down further, the marketing team can focus on:

  • Developing high-quality content and then manage that content so that sales can easily access needed pieces
  • Spend time educating the sales team on how the campaign will work
  • Use a reliable lead scoring system and send high-quality leads to sales in a timely fashion

The sales team can focus on:

  • Working on the leads sent over from the marketing team in a timely fashion
  • Communicate any customer objections or messaging gaps with the marketing team
  • Be transparent about why and how sales deals are won and lost

How to optimize an ABM strategy

Adopting an ABM strategy is not a unilateral change for an business. It is a transformation that requires a commitment to the way you operate technically, tactically, and culturally.

Technically, you have to set up your company’s sales and marketing systems so that marketers can target specific accounts and tailor both the campaign and the assets to route sales leads efficiently to the sales teams. Tactically, accounts must be scored against an ideal customer profile. Culturally, your sales and marketing teams need to be committed to this working as one, unified team.

How to optimize an ABM strategy

How does a marketing cloud solution help with account-based marketing?

With a marketing automation platform at the core, a marketing cloud solution will help you implement your ABM strategy. Ideally, the solution would let you build marketing campaigns, score and manage leads, create and manage content, and measure the campaigns' success.

How does a sales cloud solution help with account-based marketing?

A sales cloud centered around a CRM will help your sales team get a better view of prospects as they engage with them through the sales cycle. A sales rep can gain insight into who are the most engaged stakeholders at an account and see who has interacted with what content, emails, or landing pages.