非常抱歉,您的搜索操作未匹配到任何结果。

我们建议您尝试以下操作,以帮助您找到所需内容:

  • 检查关键词搜索的拼写。
  • 使用同义词代替键入的关键词,例如,尝试使用“应用”代替“软件”。
  • 重新搜索。

营销自动化软件的优势

Oracle Eloqua 营销自动化解决方案

详细了解 Oracle 营销自动化解决方案

营销自动化有助于细化、定位和优化营销活动和计划。营销人员使用营销自动化软件来定制内容、协调信息传递以及理顺数字营销流程和工作流。他们还可以使用该软件来加快报告速度和改进报告工作,并更好地与销售人员保持一致,进而提高绩效并促进整体业务增长。

了解营销自动化软件的工作原理

以下是市场营销自动化软件的相关数据:

20%
业务效率提升
250%
购买和参与率提升
61%
更多的销售线索生成
31%
在营销归因/ROI 方面遇到困难

信息来源:《营销自动化统计数据:最终清单》,《2022 年营销趋势

营销自动化和客户数据

数据是营销自动化的基础。如果数据是分散的,并且与其他业务流程不一致,您就无法成功构建和管理营销活动。因此,为营销自动化软件系统选择合适的数据管理工具至关重要。

那么您需要什么类型的客户数据?当然是能够帮助您了解客户的行为、偏好和需求的数据。如果能够访问清晰且准确的潜在客户和客户数据,您就可以在适当的时间提供相关信息,无论人们处于购买周期的哪个阶段。

然而,光是收集数据是远远不够的,维护和更新数据也同样重要。除了留意缺失或不准确的数据属性,您还应该关注数据衰变或数据质量恶化的情况。这是因为人们和实体的变化日新月异。公司会进行收购或合并;人们会换工作或更改姓名,其电子邮件地址也会更改。有的公司开了新办公室,有的关闭了办公室;州政府、地方政府和国家政府也会发生变化;有的街道名称改变了,有的区号边界被重新划定,或是国家/地区更改了邮政地址惯例。您的生活可能看起来没有什么变化,但广大群众的生活无时无刻都在发生变化。

营销自动化的优势

1

提高转化率。

借助营销自动化解决方案,您可以更轻松地生成干净可靠的客户数据,改善销售线索管理。您可以基于这些数据向目标受众(更可能对您的促销感兴趣的人员)传递有针对性的信息,而无需浪费时间和资源来处理不太可能转化为销售的销售线索。

2

增强营销活动效果可见性。

借助营销自动化解决方案,您可以清晰了解某个营销活动中的有效因素和无效因素,从而停止盲目的营销活动投入,有理有据地选择加大现有营销活动投入或创建新的营销活动。

3

打造更加井然有序的运营。

借助营销自动化解决方案,您可以提高营销效率,创建切合实际的计划,对各种事务进行排序,协调活动并凝聚所有人协力实现共同目标

4

提高员工效率和士气。

通过将适当流程实现自动化,您不仅可减少花费在繁琐的手动重复性任务上的时间,专注于更具战略性或更具创造性的工作,还可以减少人为错误、员工不满和倦怠。

5

提高客户保留率。

营销不能止步于客户购买。为了留住客户,营销人员必须管理客户关系。营销自动化解决方案可为客户忠诚度计划和激励方案提供支持,助力创造追加销售和交叉销售商机。

94%
的企业怀疑他们的数据不准确
62%
的公司所依赖的数据不准确率高达 40%
25%
的 B2B 数据不准确
66%
拥有清晰数据的组织报告表示其收入有所增加

信息来源:Business2Community.comZoomInfo.com (PDF)DestinationCRM.com

数据衰变的影响

虽然客户数据管理是非常需要被关注的领域,但公司往往不了解什么才是有效的客户数据管理。如果没有清晰的数据,就会浪费时间和金钱,因为您不知道您的目标受众是谁以及为什么将他们设为目标。

营销人员意识到,为了监视每个营销活动中的重要关键绩效指标,如打开率、点击率、表单填写、合格销售线索数 (SQL)、页面停留时间和每销售线索成本,营销自动化中的客户数据管理功能尤为重要。有了准确的数据,营销活动的参与率就会提高,而更高的参与率有助于将更多的商机转化为销售线索,从而提高营销活动带来的收入。

干净的客户数据在营销自动化软件中的作用

合适的营销自动化软件可以帮助您把所有焦点放在客户身上。您可以通过各种渠道开启并衡量在线和离线的客户互动。内部、外部、营销活动和概要信息数据可以整合在一个系统中,因此您可以确定购买触发因素,并通过适当的个性化消息快速做出响应。您不仅可以利用工具来分析趋势、做出预测并提供建议,还可以打造客户所需的全渠道体验类型,从而让客户满意,并促进收入增长。

营销自动化软件有助于更好地管理客户数据,进而帮助您:

  • 准确定位和细分营销活动受众
  • 确定整个组织的目标
  • 过滤掉 CRM 系统中不正确或重复的数据
  • 通过改善营销活动绩效来提高电子邮件营销的参与度

2021 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for B2B Marketing Automation Platforms(2021 年 Gartner® B2B 营销自动化平台魔力象限)

详细了解 Oracle 的持续创新将如何加快销售线索移交并促进收入增长。

营销自动化如何改善电子邮件营销

电子邮件营销仍然是非常有效的营销渠道,被公认为所有营销活动的基石,也非常适用于自动化执行。

营销人员可发起单独的电子邮件群发活动,也可将电子邮件作为大规模自动化营销活动的一部分,在整个购买旅程中传递有针对性的信息。虽然一次性电子邮件始终在您的电子邮件营销策略中占有一席之地,但设置自动化电子邮件营销活动是使用该渠道的一种更加明智且更为经济高效的方式。

实现电子邮件营销活动自动化可提供许多切实优势。借助营销自动化,您可以创建包含许多不同元素的电子邮件营销活动。试想,如果您被迫手动创建电子邮件并要向列表上的每个人发送一封电子邮件,工作效率会受到多大的影响。借助合适的软件,您可以设置一个自动化电子邮件工作流程。每当有人以某种方式进行操作时(例如注册邮件列表或时事通讯、下载电子书、点击落地页),就会发出一封新的个性化电子邮件。通过电子邮件营销自动化,您可以设置一个电子邮件工作流程。只要该人员满足您的预定义行为,就会触发系统发送相关的电子邮件给他们。

您还可以使用市场营销自动化软件,根据工作流中触发的事件和操作对受众进行细分。例如,您可以标记所有加入您的电子邮件列表但没有打开您的欢迎邮件的人。您只需设置工作流程并添加操作,根据用户的操作对其进行标记。

1

提高电子邮件送达率

在电子邮件营销中,信任很重要。如果您提供相关且有用的内容,您的收件人就会更愿意接收更多电子邮件和其他营销材料。您可以使用营销自动化软件来提高相关性和电子邮件送达率,并维护良好的邮件发件人信誉。您可以通过以下方式进行改进:

  • 有效地列表管理
  • 维护干净的客户数据
  • 获取新的电子邮件地址,添加至您的列表
  • 减少退回数
2

营销活动的有效性

电子邮件的打开次数和点击次数是衡量电子邮件营销效果的一种方式。另一种方式则是由您的营销自动化软件提供可视化点击报告,让您查看哪些特定的链接获得更好的响应。在了解哪些电子邮件的效果较好后,您可以对所有基于触发器的营销活动进行微调,以便在适当的时间提供合适的消息/推介。

3

促进重新参与的营销活动

在一些情况下,人们注册了一个推介内容并被添加到您的列表中,但却停止与您互动。为了让他们重新参与,您可以使用营销自动化软件来创建一个有助促进重新参与的营销活动,即通过发送一系列电子邮件,再次激起人们的兴趣。您可以使用市场营销自动化功能,在每个用户达到一定的不活跃程度时,准确地触发这些电子邮件。例如,您可以构建一个细分受众群,其中包含已经在您的列表中超过 180 天且未参与的人员(例如参与度得分为 -3)。

4

自动移除未参与的用户

有时,重新参与营销活动未必会成功。理想的情况是,在几次尝试失败后,您要么从此不向这些联系人发送电子邮件,要么将他们从您的列表中完全删除。

从电子邮件营销列表中删除联系人看似极端,特别是对于小型公司来说,每一个线索都很重要。然而,您要想一想太低的电子邮件送达率会给您带来多大的损失。吸引新营销联系人的成本往往是较低的,而且他们很乐意接受您的消息。

目前有两种方法可以删除联系人:手动和自动删除。若是采用手动方式,您需要搜索客户数据库中的每一个联系人。相比之下,自动方式只需要一个工作流程。它可以是一个独立的工作流程,也可以是重新参与工作的附加流程。

91% 的营销人员认为过低的电子邮件送达率对企业的财务方面带来了负面影响;有 8% 的营销人员表示此影响很严重。”

人工智能如何增强营销自动化

人工智能 (AI) 将电子邮件营销自动化提升到一个新的水平。借助电子邮件营销自动化系统中的 AI 增强功能,您可以:

营销自动化软件有助于更好地管理客户数据,进而帮助您:

  • 瞄准客户较有可能与您互动的时机,适时地向他们发送电子邮件
  • 根据客户的预期终身价值,利用 AI 增强的受众细分来优化定位
  • 微调电子邮件的发送频率,不要用电子邮件轰炸您客户的收件箱

详细了解具备 AI 增强功能的营销自动化解决方案

营销自动化如何改善销售线索管理

销售线索管理是需求和创收战略的核心,对营销和销售同样重要。营销自动化软件提供了卓越的销售线索管理框架。如果没有一个合适的系统来处理所有渠道(例如电子邮件、网站、电商和直接邮件)中的潜在客户,就无法从中获利。

销售和营销团队的密切协作是必不可少的,并且在销售线索的交接过程中尤其重要。这两个团队需要就不同的销售线索类型,在其标准、属性和特征方面保持一致。销售线索管理主要侧重于组织分布在各个销售周期阶段的客户数据,而营销自动化软件则简化了这项耗时的手动任务。

92% 的用户表示,他们使用营销自动化软件的主要目标是改善合格的销售线索管道。”

开展电子邮件营销活动的目的是为了生成合格的销售线索,而营销自动化软件可以帮助营销人员管理销售线索验证流程。

大多数人在活动开始时还没有准备好购买,因此需要在这个过程中培育他们。营销自动化平台审查每个潜在客户/客户的标准条件,并酌情将其置于购买周期的下一阶段,从而降低了销售线索管理的复杂性。营销人员可以快速确定哪些人还不适合发展到销售阶段以及哪些人需要更多的鼓励。

借助营销自动化软件,营销人员可以利用各种工具来评估每位买家的行为和适合度,并确定他们是否具有合格销售线索的属性。

80%
的用户通过使用营销自动化软件增加了销售线索
451%
的合格销售线索增长归功于营销自动化软件
76%
投资营销自动化的用户在一年内实现了投资回报
92%
表示提高合格销售线索是营销自动化的主要目标

信息来源:2021 年营销自动化统计数据

营销自动化如何改善销售线索路由

销售线索路由是销售线索管理流程的关键部分。在这个过程中,需要将销售线索路由到合适的资源,以便他们发展为客户。借助合适的软件解决方案,您可以根据选择的标准条件对销售线索进行分类和优先排序,并把他们路由到适当的地方,以确保营销和销售计划顺利进行。

营销自动化软件根据分数或等级路由营销合格线索 (MQL),从而让销售人员可以将时间和精力集中在准备购买的人身上,同时消除了手动处理销售线索路时出现的瓶颈问题。

在市场营销自动化平台的帮助下,您可以确保在适当的时机将每个销售线索有效且正确地交付给销售人员。由于销售线索路由与营销自动化保持一致,因此您可以确保不会在系统中错失任何销售线索。

在将销售线索导入营销自动化系统后,系统会根据地理位置、行业、产品兴趣或其他指定的业务规则自动捕获销售线索信息并将其发送给您的销售团队。无论您拥有的是直销团队、指定客户模型、合作伙伴渠道,还是需要复杂路由功能的销售组织,营销自动化解决方案都能确保将销售线索有效且正确地交付给销售人员。

营销自动化如何改善销售线索培育

销售线索培育是指营销人员通过高度相关且持续的沟通方式与不活跃的潜在客户/客户建立关系,以鼓励他们购买。

您掌握的客户数据越多,您的销售线索培育工作就会越成功。您可以建立准确的买家角色,并按照需求精准地定义目标。您还可以更好地了解目标买家的行为和消费模式,从而帮助您完善和优化正在进行的销售线索培育流程。

有效的销售线索培育计划应考虑买家角色/人员以及他们处于销售周期中的哪个阶段。如果您掌握这两个要素,就可以与潜在客户和客户进行相关的对话,因为您知道自己正在与谁交谈及他们重视的事项。

如果您只是发送电子邮件,而不管回应率如何(或没有回应),培育活动就不会成功。在一个人考虑购买之前的很长一段时间里,销售线索培育营销活动可以在建立品牌亲和力和忠诚度方面发挥很大作用。通过培育这种潜在需求,您可以更轻松地将不合格的潜在销售线索转化为商机。

在销售线索培育过程中,企业通过为潜在买家提供内容,保持沟通渠道畅通,以支持潜在买家进行研究和探索。营销自动化可以根据您制定的任何标准,在适当的时机发送内容。

销售线索培育不仅仅针对新客户,营销自动化也有助于推动当前客户购买更多。在清楚了解客户可能对其他产品/服务感兴趣之后,您就可以使用个性化消息与他们联系。

营销自动化如何改善销售线索评分

营销人员使用销售线索评分框架来确定潜在客户或客户何时准备购买。届时,您的销售团队可以采取进一步行动,跟进这些潜在客户。

销售线索评分确定销售就绪的销售线索,并将其作为触发器,确保销售团队进行跟进,以将这些销售线索转化为收入。

销售线索评分使用常见的销售线索质量定义,例如 BANT(预算、权限、需求和时间线)和资格数据,包括销售线索响应、活动和行为。通过实施评分系统,营销人员可以有效地评估和鉴定优质销售线索。而不合格或低意向的销售线索则会被路由回销售线索培育计划,直到他们再次变得活跃。

销售线索评分需要销售和营销部门的协作和投入。这两个部门共同定义并建立一个商定的系统和流程,以确定哪些潜在客户可能准备购买。在转交销售线索之后,这两个部门需要交换信息,讨论有关发送给销售的销售线索质量。

营销自动化软件会快速对销售线索进行评分,例如,当潜在客户打开电子邮件时,其销售线索得分就会增加。如果得分达到足以转交至销售的阈值,销售代表就会密切关注相关客户的行动,并快速联系他们。然而,影响销售线索评分的不仅仅是电子邮件打开次数。访问定价页面、观看演示、开始在线聊天等其他行为属性也会使得分增加。

得分较高的销售线索将会更快地被转交给销售团队,以提高成交几率。

了解 Oracle 营销自动化解决方案

No results found

Your search did not match any results.

We suggest you try the following to help find what you’re looking for:

  • Check the spelling of your keyword search.
  • Use synonyms for the keyword you typed, for example, try “application” instead of “software.”
  • Try one of the popular searches shown below.
  • Start a new search.
Trending Questions
 

Marketing automation benefits

Marketing automation helps to refine, target, and optimize marketing campaigns and programs. Marketers use marketing automation software to customize content, align messaging, and automate their digital marketing processes and workflows. They can also use the software to speed up and improve reporting and better align with sales, ultimately improving overall business growth through improved performance.

With marketing automation software:

20%
improvement in business productivity
250%
higher purchase and engagement rates
61%
generate more leads
76%
see a positive ROI within one year

Source: Marketing Automation Statistics: The Definitive List

Marketing automation and customer data

Data is the foundation of marketing automation. You cannot build and manage successful campaigns if your data is decentralized and not aligned with other business processes. So it’s crucial to implement the right data management tools with any marketing automation software system.

And what type of customer data do you want? Data that helps you understand customers’ behaviors, preferences, and needs. With access to clean, accurate prospect and customer data, you can provide relevant information at the right time, no matter where the person jumps to in the buying cycle.

But gathering data is not enough. Maintaining and updating data is just as crucial. You should not only be aware of missing or inaccurate data attributes but also data decay—or data quality deterioration. People and entities make changes. Companies buy other companies; they merge. People start new jobs or change names. Email addresses change. New offices open and others shut down. State, local, and national governments make changes as well. Street names change, the boundaries for area codes shift, countries change their postal address conventions. Your own life may seem very static, but in large populations, change happens every second.

94%
of businesses suspect their data is inaccurate
62%
of companies rely on data that’s up to 40% inaccurate
25%
of B2B data is inaccurate
66%
of organizations with clean data report a revenue boost

Source: Business2Community.com, ZoomInfo.com (PDF), DestinationCRM.com

The impact of data decay

Effective customer data management is often the least understood aspect within any company. Yet, it's the most important area to focus on. Without clean data, you waste time and money because you don't know who you are targeting and why.

Marketers have discovered the importance of customer data management capabilities within marketing automation to monitor important KPIs in each marketing campaign, such as open rates, click-through rates, form fills, number of sales qualified leads (SQL), time-on-page, cost per lead. With accurate data, campaign engagement rates increase, and better engagement rates help turn more opportunities into leads, boosting the amount of revenue attributable to any campaign.

The power of clean customer data in marketing automation software

With the right marketing automation software, the customer becomes the focal point of everything you do. You can turn on and measure online and offline customer interactions through various channels. Internal, external, campaign, and profile data can be combined within one system, so you can pinpoint buying triggers and instantly respond with appropriate, personalized messaging. You have the tools to analyze trends, make predictions, and provide recommendations. You can build the types of omnichannel experiences your customers want. The result is happy customers, which leads to revenue gains.

Marketing automation software helps you better manage customer data, which in turn, helps you:

  • Accurately target and segment campaign audiences
  • Determine objectives across the organization
  • Filter out incorrect or duplicate data in CRM systems
  • Improve email marketing engagement results by improving campaign performance

2021 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for B2B Marketing Automation Platforms

Learn more about Oracle’s ongoing innovations drive faster speed-to-lead handoff and increased revenue.

Email marketing automation—What it is and why it matters

Email marketing is still a very effective communication channel and is considered a cornerstone of any marketing campaign. It’s also a great candidate for automation.

Marketers use email to deliver targeted messaging all along the buyer’s journey. These email communications can include single email “blasts,” newsletters, surveys, requests, new product announcements, etc.

While these "one-offs" will always have a place in your email marketing strategy, setting up automated campaigns is a smart and cost-effective way to use the channel.

Why? Emails are triggered by a person's actions and are built based on what you know about them (using all that clean customer data). Emails are timely, personalized, and hyper-relevant to each recipient. As a result, they are opened and clicked on more frequently. And that frequency drives visits and revenue.

Email marketing automation success goes beyond the sending of a single email. With marketing automation, you can create an email marketing campaign composed of many different elements. Think about how productivity would plummet if you were forced to manually create and send a single (one-touch) email to everyone on your list. With the right software, you could set up an automated email workflow that sends a personalized email whenever a person acts in a certain way, such as signing up for a mailing list or newsletter, downloading an ebook or free trial, or clicking through a landing page). With email marketing automation, you can set up the email workflow once. As people meet whatever behavioral trigger(s) you define, relevant emails are sent to them.

You can also use marketing automation software to segment your audience based on events and actions triggered within your workflows. For example, you could tag everyone who joined your email list but didn’t open your welcome email. All you need to do is set up a workflow and add an action that’ll tag your subscribers based on their actions.

How marketing automation improves email marketing

1

Improve email deliverability

Trust matters in email marketing. If you provide relevant and helpful content, your recipients will be more open to receiving more of your emails and other marketing materials. You can use marketing automation software to improve relevancy, email deliverability, and maintain your reputation as a quality sender. You can make improvements through:

  • Effective list management
  • Maintaining clean customer data
  • Acquiring new email addresses for your list
  • Reducing the number of bounces
2

Campaign effectiveness

The number of email opens and clicks is one way to measure email marketing effectiveness. Another is visual click-through reporting, provided by your marketing automation software, that lets you see which specific links get the best response. By knowing which email offers perform best, you can fine-tune all trigger-based marketing campaigns to serve up suitable messages/offers at the right time.

3

Re-engagement campaigns

Sometimes people sign up for an offer, are added to your list, and then stop interacting with you. To bring them back into the fold, you can use marketing automation software to create a re-engagement campaign—a series of emails designed to get people interested in you again. You can use marketing automation to trigger these emails at the exact time when each subscriber reaches a certain level of inactivity. For example, you can build a segment that includes people who've been on your list for more than 180 days and are unengaged (with an engagement score of, say, -3).

4

Automatic removal of unengaged subscribers

There are times when re-engagement campaigns don't succeed. Ideally, after a couple of failed attempts, you'd either suppress these contacts from future mailings or remove them from your list altogether.

Removing a contact from your email marketing list may seem drastic, especially for smaller companies where every lead counts. However, consider just how much poor email deliverability would cost you. It's almost always less expensive to attract new marketing contacts who would be happy to hear from you.

There are two ways to remove a contact—the manual way and the automated way. The manual way requires that you search for every contact in your customer database. In contrast, the automated way requires a workflow. It could be a standalone workflow or an add-on to your re-engagement workflow.

91% of marketers believe poor email deliverability has a negative financial impact on their business; with 8% saying the effect was severe.”

How artificial intelligence enhances marketing automation

AI takes email marketing automation to a new level. With AI-enhanced capabilities within your email marketing automation system, you can:

Marketing automation software helps you better manage customer data, which in turn, helps you:

  • Engage customers at the right time by sending emails to people based on when they are most likely to engage with you
  • Leverage AI-enhanced audience segments to optimize targeting based on the customer’s expected lifetime value
  • Fine-tune email messaging frequency so that your automated emails are never sent to customers whose inbox is oversaturated with your emails

Learn more about AI-enhanced marketing automation

Marketing automation and lead management—What it is and why it matters

Lead management is the lynchpin of demand and revenue generation strategies and is equally important to marketing and sales. Marketing automation software provides the framework to best handle lead management. Without a proper system to handle all potential customers across all channels (email, web, ecommerce, direct, etc.), it's impossible to monetize their interest.

Close collaboration between sales and marketing is necessary, and it's especially critical during the handoff of leads. Both teams need to be in sync regarding the criteria, attributes, and characteristics of different lead types. Although lead management focuses primarily on the organization of the customer data distributed across the various sales cycle stages, marketing automation software simplifies this otherwise manual and time-consuming task.

92% of users say that their main goal with marketing automation software is to improve their qualified lead pipeline.

How marketing automation improves lead management

The goal of every marketing email campaign is to generate qualified leads, and marketing automation software helps marketers manage the lead qualification process.

Initially, most people are not ready to buy. They need to be nurtured through the process. A marketing automation platform makes lead management less complicated by reviewing the criteria for each prospect/ customer and place them, as appropriate, into the next stage of their buying cycle. Marketers can quickly identify who is not ready to progress towards a sale and who may just need more encouragement.

With marketing automation software, marketers have the tools to assess the behavior and fit of each buyer and ultimately determine if they have the attributes of a qualified lead.

80%
of users increased their leads by using marketing automation software
451%
increase in qualified leads thanks to marketing automation software
76%
who invested in marketing automation saw a return on investment in 1 year
92%
Say improvement of qualified leads is the main goal of marketing automation

Source: Marketing Automation Statistics for 2021

Marketing automation and lead routing—What it is and why it matters

Lead routing is a crucial part of the lead management process. Leads need to be routed to the right resources so they can become customers. With the right software solution, you can categorize and prioritize leads based on your selected criteria and get them where they need to go to keep marketing and sales initiatives going.

Marketing automation software helps route marketing-qualified leads (MQLs) based on a score or rank so sales can focus their time and energy on those who are ready to buy. And this, in turn, eliminates the bottlenecks that occur when lead routing is done manually.

How marketing automation improves lead routing

With a marketing automation platform in place, you can guarantee that each lead is efficiently and correctly delivered to sales at the appropriate time. No more lost leads and/or opportunities. Aligning lead routing with marketing automation ensures no leads will slip through the system.

By feeding leads into a marketing automation system, lead information is automatically captured and routed to your sales team based on geography, industry, product interest, or other assigned business rules. Whether you have a direct sales force, named account models, partner channels, or a sales organization that requires sophisticated routing capabilities, marketing automation ensures that leads are efficiently and correctly delivered to sales.

Marketing automation and lead nurturing—What it is and why it matters

Lead nurturing is the process marketers use to develop relationships—through ongoing, relevant communication—with their inactive prospects/customers over time to encourage them to buy.

The more customer data you have, the more success you'll achieve in your lead nurturing efforts. You can create spot-on buyer personas and accurately define need-based objectives. You'll also better understand your targeted buyers' behavioral and consumption patterns, which will help you refine and optimize your ongoing lead nurturing processes.

Effective lead nurture programs should consider both buyer role/persons and where they reside in your sales cycle. Using these two elements, you can have relevant conversations with your prospects and customers because you will know who you are talking to and what's important to them.

A nurture campaign will not be successful if you simply blast out emails no matter the response rate (or lack thereof). Done right, lead nurturing campaigns can go a long way to establish brand affinity and loyalty long before a person contemplates making a purchase. By cultivating this latent demand, you can make it easier to convert unqualified leads to opportunities.

How marketing automation improves lead nurturing

Lead nurturing helps keep channels of communication open with prospective buyers by providing content that supports their research and discovery processes. Marketing automation can send that content when it's needed based on whatever criteria you establish.

Lead nurturing is not just for new customers. Marketing automation helps move current customers towards additional purchases. You can reach out to them with a personalized message as soon as it becomes clear that they may be interested in other products/services.

Marketing automation and lead scoring—What it is and why it matters

Marketers use a lead scoring framework to determine when prospects or customers are ready to buy. At that point, your sales team can take over the relationship and follow up with those prospects.

Lead scoring determines a sales-ready lead, and it can act as the trigger to ensure that the sales team follows up to convert those leads to closed revenue.

Lead scoring uses common lead quality definitions, such as BANT (budget, authority, need, and timeline) and qualification data, including lead response, activity, and behavior. By implementing a scoring system, marketers can effectively assess and qualify quality leads. Unqualified or cold leads can be routed back into a lead nurturing program until they become active again.

Lead scoring requires collaboration and input from both sales and marketing. The two teams define and establish an agreed-upon system and processes to identify which prospects might be ready to buy. Then after the lead is passed on, the two teams need to exchange information on the quality of the leads sent to sales.

How marketing automation improves lead scoring

Marketing automation software score leads quickly, so that, for example, when prospects open their emails, their lead score will rise. If the score reaches the threshold where it will be transferred to sales, the sales rep can quickly reach out to the person while their action is top of mind. But it is not just email opens that impact lead scoring. Scores can rise higher based on other behavioral attributes, such as visiting a pricing page, watching a demo, starting an online chat, etc.

Leads with higher scores will be passed to the sales team much quicker to enhance the odds of closing the deal.